Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
285 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
80 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (6 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (4 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (8 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (5 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (5 responses)
characters left.
There are 156 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Holy Family Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted July 26, 2016
- a community member
There were some teachers that I had that inspired me a lot, but some weren't that as much as a role model to the student.

Holy Family Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted July 26, 2016
- a community member
They develop respect in a very wrong way. A person that I knew was expelled, but I know that she didn't deserve that expulsion. Like what others have said, if you don't side with Miss Suelto, then be really careful. It's basically politics out there.


Holy Family Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted July 26, 2016
- a community member
Even though it has its flaws, HFGS has strong teachings in caring for each other and basically becoming a family with each other. (Not that way.)

Holy Family Elementary School 2

Posted July 26, 2016
- a community member
During my time at HFGS, everything went simple and well until Miss Suelto became our principal, and basically, everything just went downhill for the students and (some) parents. There were numerous fees, which especially made it hard for the parents. She enforced stricter rules, and because of these flaws, my experience of middle school wasn't that great as I imagined it to be. Adding onto that, even though I know really nice and sweet people from there, that doesn't mean that there can be students who are rude and disrespectful to others. I worry about the future of this school because of what had happened in the past and what it is doing right now. (I better not see another group of students forced to write a five-star review, on the same day [which, in my opinion, is pretty dumb because it clearly shows how desperate Miss Suelto wants a five-star rating].)

Holy Family Elementary School 5

Posted May 19, 2016
- a parent
This will be our 3rd year in this school and all we can say is we love this school! My daughter just loves going to school, the teachers are well qualified and nurturing, and the students and her peers are all well-rounded. The staff is very helpful. The Principal is very hands-on and is very accommodating to the parents’ and students’ needs. This is a Catholic School so it means there are mandatory fundraising events. The school has a high tuition but we believe we are getting our money’s worth. We are investing in our daughter’s education and this school is helping her become into a wonderful citizen.


Holy Family Elementary School 5

Posted March 25, 2016
- a parent
My child and i love this school and the faculty. All around great experience here. My child has been at his school since TK. No school is perfect, but anytime we have had any issues, they have taken care of it right away.

Holy Family Elementary School 5

Posted December 18, 2015
- a community member
I used to be a former staff at the grade school. Many of us staff left the school due to complaints from parents or just driven out by the administration. I think parents should learn how to deal with the reality. If your child does not want to learn, then be accountable. It’s really not a good paying job. Teachers do this because they love to teach.

Holy Family Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted December 14, 2015
- a parent
They punish us with loads of homework and display means of favoritism. There are no boundaries between student and teacher.


Holy Family Elementary School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted December 14, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are worked out and retired or don't even know what they are talking about. Its frustrating going home to do work you don't even understand because the teachers are constantly quitting or are insufficient.

Holy Family Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted December 14, 2015
- a parent
You are lucky if you aren't expelled or suspended from this school because they claim to want to put you at your "gold standard" but honestly they don't care. They won't sacrifice the good of their name for a bunch of rumors. You may be the most exemplary but if you aren't bowing down to the principal, then you're automatically irrelevant.

Nearby schools

Holy Family Elementary School
400 South Louise Street, Glendale, CA  91205
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 156 reviews. (818) 243-9239
Last modified Holy Family Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top