Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Private
Glendale, CA
Students enrolled: 259
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 59 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


62 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Incarnation Elementary School 5

Posted July 13, 2014
- a parent
There is a point when parents need to stop looking at the past and start looking towards the future. The school hired a fabulous new Principal who previously was VP at highly esteemed Notre Dame High School. Also, a new very organized and diligent 8th grade teacher has just been announced as a new hire...(with academic decathlon coach, WASC/WCEA chairperson experience) a teacher with a wealth of experience!! A huge plus considering the importance for families with children preparing for their high school search. With these two incredible new hires....The school is already at a positive and exciting turning point.

Incarnation Elementary School 2

Posted July 11, 2014
- a parent
Each time a person says that this school is heading to the right direction, IT FALLS APART. The school lacks cohesion. The church administrator and the school staff members are always in disagreement with each other and the church ultimately wins over disputed issues. If you want this chaos as part of your child's learning process, then go ahead and enroll; otherwise run as fast as you can away from this school.
1 person found this helpful


Incarnation Elementary School 1

Posted June 11, 2014
- a parent
Run! Once you think things a finally going to change you realize there is once again a hidden. There is truly only one person running Incarnation and unfortunately it's the VP who's only goal is to be in charge. Congratulations, you did it. The VP elbowed out the current principal and the new principal is pregnant, which will leave VP in charge next year. To make matters worse, she is not credentialed nor has leadership skills. We are pulling out our child until something is done about the great and powerful OZ.

Incarnation Elementary School 5

Posted June 11, 2014
- a parent
The school recently celebrated its 75th anniversary and has a long history being a faithful part of the community since the 1940s not a lot of institutions can say that!

Incarnation Elementary School 3

Posted May 08, 2014
- a parent
The priest hired the principal knowing she did not have the credentials to be a principal. Priest has his own agenda. He needs to remove himself from school dealings. He's ruining the school. He didn't allow a great teacher to interview for the principal position because she forwarded her resume to the archdiocese. It hurt his pride. He's letting a great math teacher go because his credentials lapsed. However, he was able to renew them. This done just a month before school end. Definitely has hurt the kids. School lacks consistency. If you love inconsistency and instability, come to Incarnation. You'll be glad you did.
1 person found this helpful


Incarnation Elementary School 5

Posted April 19, 2014
- a parent
Why blame the priest who fired the principal? She isn't doing her job well! In my opinion, if the principal doesn't know much about running a school, she should choose a a vice-principal who knows how. The principal was based on performance and the teachers' aides were based on budget.

Incarnation Elementary School 2

Posted March 27, 2014
- a parent
A 2 year principal who was once a long time teacher of this school has been let go (fired?) by the priest. 1 year ago, all teachers aides and a long time clerk were terminated by the same priest. What is going on in this school we don't know about?

Incarnation Elementary School 5

Posted November 20, 2013
- a teacher
Incarnation is doing so well! We are one third of the way done and we have had so much fun learning! We have a wonderful group of new parents that make every event exciting for the children. I am so proud that we are there and the children are very happy..we have seen really positive things happen to our school! I feel that the parents, students, faculty, staff and administration have done a fantastic job, in making the children feel so happy in this learning environment!


Incarnation Elementary School 5

Posted September 05, 2013
- a parent
I have two children at this school and continue to be pleased with all that it offers. While losing some of the aides was sad, it has not hindered the academic programs at all, and honestly an aide is not necessary in my child's fifth grade class of only 26 children. My children are happy to go to school daily, and thriving academically according to all measures. The parents are involved and invested in the school. Some strong personalities make mountains out of molehills and seem determined to hurt Incarnation's image. But if you look for yourself you will find much to love about Incarnation.

Incarnation Elementary School 4

Posted August 15, 2013
- a parent
As the parent of a younger-grade child, I've been very happy with Incarnation school. There seems to be an old-guard group of parents who are unhappy with the recent success of the school. The reason they are unhappy is that enrollment has gone up - which means that classes are at capacity. They understandably preferred a past when classes were smaller...but I think that's an underestimation of the teachers' skills. Another recent controversy causing dissent is the release of teachers' aides for grades 4+. The Administration avers that this reduction in staff is in line with Diocese guidelines...but the parents are reacting to any reduction in staff as a dire event. Again, I see it as an underestimation of the present teaching staff. Aides for older grade classes might be a luxury, but they are not a necessity. The school has well-behaved students with very involved parents. The teachers are capable of maintaining order & educating the students. At the end of the day, the tuition is a great deal for such a caring and intimate school. I think the critics should vote with their feet, but I fear they believe that public harping can change the inevitable progress.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Incarnation Elementary School
123 West Glenoaks Boulevard, Glendale, CA  91202
(818) 241-2269
Last modified Incarnation Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Incarnation Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 62 reviews. Top