Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
218 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
31 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 54 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Holy Family High School College Preparatory
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted August 02, 2016
- a student
This school focuses on activities not on academics. This school has fun clubs and activities to join. You can get involved in sports, theater or service. There is least 1 activity right for you. Sometimes theres so much activity happening at once you will not have time to study or do your homework. Theres too much pressure on you if you are in ASB to do everything at the last minute. Your grades will suffer so you either don't do your school work or take dishonest shortcuts with your school work. I hate to admit how much this is true.

Holy Family High School College Preparatory
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted July 26, 2016
- a community member
Depends on which teacher you have. Some of my teachers give me just the right amount of homework, but some of my teachers overflowed me with too much homework.


Holy Family High School College Preparatory
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted July 26, 2016
- a community member
Depends on the students. I know some people who are really nice and caring, but some are selfish and rude.

Holy Family High School College Preparatory 5

Posted July 26, 2016
- a community member
It's pretty cool going to high school that doesn't have too many students and has a small campus compared to other high schools. A lot of the students her are very nice and the teachers are very supportive.

Holy Family High School College Preparatory 5

Posted December 14, 2015
- a community member
This is honestly a great school that does not get enough credit. It might not have such an excellent name compared to other schools out there but that is because it is different from those. It does not focus on "being known for sports, theatre, arts, etc." rather it focuses on the individual students. The small school gives a family type of sisterhood where we strive to only support and better one another. Holy Family may not be as rich, popular or large as other schools but it is a school where women make history.


Holy Family High School College Preparatory 1

Posted December 02, 2015
- a community member
Thank goodness I graduated from this school. It was definitely a humbling experience. The transition from high school to college is taking an absolute toll on me. I'm not prepared for college. Everyone around talks about how rigorous their high school and how the workload definitely prepared them, but honestly you can cruise through Holy Family with a 3.5 EASY... but don't be fooled because once you take that AP Test, don't expect to pass LOL. Once you take the SAT, expect an average of 1600, maybe even lower as a class culminative average SAT score. College Prep? Absolutely not.

Holy Family High School College Preparatory
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted November 11, 2015
- a student
again it depends on the teacher. some are good and some are lazy. one teacher makes us feel like we are bothering her when we try to ask questions. some teachers over explain a lesson and some don't know how to explain anything. One day we played soccer during class and when were bored we watch shows on netflix.

Holy Family High School College Preparatory
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted November 11, 2015
- a student
It depends on the teacher. You can pass a class and not do homework because of extra credit. I like to read so i get bored in class when we do discussions because most students don't bother reading so my teachers has to explain what happened. then we and easy open book quiz. some teachers give way too much homework for 1 night like they don't care we have other classes. some teachers give homework as a punishment.


Holy Family High School College Preparatory
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted November 11, 2015
- a student
We talk about compassion but i feel it only happens with your friends. You are not around compassionate when there is gossiping, name calling, mean faces and excluding happening.

Holy Family High School College Preparatory
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted November 11, 2015
- a student
a majority girls are not honest they lie all the time and the there are rules for the "favorite students" and rules for the "non favorites". I was late to school i paid $5 and got detention. other students walk in late to class and say they were "helping" at church. I got my phone taken away because siri stared talking. yesterday girls were using the iPad in class to buy justin briber tickets and they teacher didn't say anything to them.

Nearby schools

Holy Family High School College Preparatory
400 East Lomita Avenue, Glendale, CA  91205
(818) 241-3178
Last modified Holy Family High School College Preparatory is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Top