Advertisement
Advertisement

Salem Lutheran School

Private | PK-6 | 167 students

A National Blue Ribbon School

 

Living in Glendale

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $425,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 25, 2014

As directors and performers of The Grail Theatre of Britain, my wife and I visit hundreds of schools every year. We are a little like chambermaids - we see everything! Salem Lutheran is an outstanding school. In an uncertain economy, enrollment here is up and that tells its own story. The principal sets very high standards from the top and is fully committed to enrichment and arts programs for her students. The behavior of the students during our performances is exemplary. A vibe of excellence runs through this school - we don't have children ourselves, but if we did, we would have no hesitation in enrolling them here!


Posted October 23, 2013

I can't say enough about Salem Lutheran School - it is the best school!!!!!! You know you are in the right school when your kids never want to miss a day of school and get excited for Mondays as they go back for the school week! Just to share an example -I had to take my son out of class early one day and he literally would not leave, the school Secretary finally asked me to go and get him from class as he does not want to go home. My son is in JK and my daughter also has been attending Salem for a few years now. to make a long story short he left but was crying the whole way home because I took him out of his class. From the Principal to all the teachers and TA's they are all amazing! It's like one big family:) I had toured quite a few schools but as soon as I went to Salem Lutheran I knew this was the school and I can't tell you how gratifying it is to see how happy my kids are to be there:))) Also academically it's amazing as well (my son in JK already reads so many of his sight words). My daughter is excelling in all subjects. What more can a parent ask for. It's great teamwork between parents and the school. I highly recommend Salem Lutheran School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2013

I am pleased to inform how great this school is. My son joined it since JK with 5 years old and now with 8 years old he is in 2nd grade. His development is being outstanding so far in all areas. What is so special about this school is that we feel we are all part of the same family and you do have an 1to1 treatment with the school's staff. I do follow up my son's progress via gradelink what is a benefit provided by the school. I am very happy so far and I am sure if you give this school a chance, you won't regret.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2013

Great school, with fantastic teachers. Mrs Anita and many other teachers are hard to find. I would not let my child to go anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2013

I don't think families leaving is new or particular to Salem. There are also families coming in to Salem and coming back after leaving. Academically, things have improved a bit. I think math was too easy but I have to say with the new books, things have picked up. I'm happy my child is learning Algebra/Geometry concepts and essay writing in the 4th grade. (But Salem is not a 5-star school either nor does it have an unparalleled academics - that's going too far). No school is perfect. The small school feel of Salem is one thing that makes it a private school. I also live in an area with excellent public schools and took a look at them. The 35 students in 5th grade compared to 18 in my kid's class at Salem is just not comparable. So while Salem can stand to improve in many aspects, i.e. a more approachable principal who needs to loosen her grip, better use of technology, communication, parental organization/involvement, it has many pluses. One of them is the fantastic staff who watch our kids before/after school (and helping them to do homework) as well as during breaks and lunches. They are the shining stars in addition to most of the teachers who educate our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2013

I am honored to be a parent at Salem Lutheran School. I am grateful for the phenomenal education my daughter is receiving at Salem. It is unlike any other school I have seen. Truly top notch! I appreciate all the hard work and care of the teachers and principal. They truly care about the students. Salem Lutheran School is a wonderful school, has unparalleled academics, well rounded in the arts and technology, great athletic programs, and God centered atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2013

Don't be fooled by the comments below. 10 families left last year and many do every year. Eventually people figure out it is NOT WORTH the money! It does not have a private school feel. Not with the administration or the parents. The academics are extremely disappointing. No math or science. No real essay writing until 5th or 6th grade. Papers are hardely corrected. You children's friends end up leaving and the original class from K is usually only down to about 4 or 5 kids by the upper grades. I didn't want to pull my kids out of their familiar surroundings, but this will be their last year. I have a decent public school in my area and their test scores are about the same. It used to be great at this school. The beloved pastors all left and you can supplement bible studies at home. Very minimal christian influence. Teachers are banned from parent organization meetings and parents don't even show up to functions. The principal just smiles but never takes your suggestions into consideration. It's her show. Safety is okay but plenty of homeless hand around trying to get on campus looking for a handout. The church sometimes feeds the homeless on the weekends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2013

We simply love Salem! The education is great. Salem is high in technology. Smartboards in all classrooms. The morning and afternoon daycare is so convenient for our busy schedule. The daycare staff engage the children with fun activities and they supervise homework. Also, Salem has a variety of after school programs. They added dance this year. The ballet teacher is just amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2012

After moving to the area, we could not be happier with the teaching and the experience at Salem. The teachers care tremendously about the kids, and the administration runs a great program, that is wholly focused on providing the best education for the kids. Salem is a great school that is truly focused on Christ.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2011

Fantastic teachers and leadership. I could not see my 5 year old attending any other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

Great, protected environment, great academics, bright loving teachers and administrators
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

We just started our 4th year at Salem and love it. The education provided is excellent and in addition to the 'normal subjects', the curriculum includes Spanish, Art, Computers and Music. There are also many after-school programs to choose from such as: Reader Club, Typing Club, Choir, Bell Choir, Music Instruments and Basketball. This year they also added Dance and Chess Club. One of the wonderful things they also do is to pair an older child with a JK & K child for Reading & Computer buddies. The entire staff loves the kids and we are lucky to be at such an amazing and nurturing school. Thank you Salem!! J.Weller
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2008

Salem Lutheran school is a wonderful school. The learning approach and curriculum, challenges each child to reach his/her fullest potential. Moreover, the balance and ability to impact the lives of the students by providing a learning facility and educational programs that promotes character development and life-enhancing values is admireable. This school is safe, sound, unpretentious, where parents and children alike share a commitment to be involved in the life of the school, while maintaining a sense of community. Salem's program is premised on the richness and principles of Christianity. Most importantly and simply put, Salem's atmosphere feels like home. My child has been a Salem student for 8 years and I will truly miss this school and its faculty and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2007

My child has been a student at Salem for five years and has had a good experience, in general. However, the seemingly constant staff changes and the number of students per class having increased quite a bit, especially in the lower grades, has directly affected the overall quality of instruction the teachers are able to provide. In five years the social climate has changed dramatically due to the overcrowding, which has undermined the safety and discipline as well. Most of the teachers are wonderful, some are exceptional, and the principal is very approachable and hard working. I believe your child will have a good experience at Salem if you can be very involved in the PTO and all extra activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2007

This is my first year at Salem Lutheran School and Mrs. Anita, the JK teacher, is unbelievable! She has enriched her class every day with her one of a kind teaching method. She gives her children everything she has everyday and they leave her class with a thirst for more! I only wish she could be duplicated in every grade! I would urge anyone who has a child that age to give them the best availabe - and that would be Mrs. Anita.........Thank you from the bottom of my heart!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2007

I love everything about this school. The teachers are wonderfull. The Jr. Kindergarten teacher (also known as Mary Poppins) not only teachers the alphabet and the numbers but also she teaches the solar system, science, math, geography, biology. When a Jr. Kindergarten student comes to 1st. grade he/she already knows the basic elements of different subjects. All the teachers are friendly and stricked when necessary. The principal is on the top of everything, she knows everything that goes around in the school. She visits the classrooms without provious notice to see how the teachers and students are doing. She greads students every morning at the pickup lane. She awards them with good deeds and explains the wrong doings. The best school ever. The principal was awarded in 2004 for the best principal and the school got its Blue Ribbon Title in 2005.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2006

Very good school with a well rounded curriculim. Enrichments classes and solid teachers make this a great school for those interested in preparing their children. Many classes work above grade level. Very loving and warm atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Two or more races 32%
White 25%
Asian 21%
Hispanic 13%
Black 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Armenian
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
Clubs
  • Dance club

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Armenian
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Armenian
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Armenian
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Ghada Huleis
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Evangelical lutheran church in america
Associations
  • ELEA
Fax number
  • (818) 243-4491

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Armenian
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Armenian
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Armenian
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Kickball
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Book/reading club
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Cub scouts
  • Dance club
  • Foreign language club: Spanish
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Student council/government
  • Typing Class
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


9 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
167
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
176

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$6000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
No.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Pasadena Christian School
Flintridge Preparatory School
Glendale Adventist School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1211 North Brand Boulevard
Glendale, CA 91202
Website: Click here
Phone: (818) 243-8264

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT