Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-7|Private
149 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Salem Lutheran School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted January 15, 2016
- a community member
Students are given the proper amount of homework at the appropriate grade level to further prep them for the year/grade level ahead.

Salem Lutheran School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted January 15, 2016
- a community member
These students have reverence for their teachers. The staff really have a way in commanding honor and respect, yet motivating students to reach their personal best.


Salem Lutheran School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted January 15, 2016
- a community member
Salem is extremely compassionate to it's students. Their is much fairness yet discipline when it is needed. The staff and administration works together with parents in creating a compassionate and caring environment to it's students and families.

Salem Lutheran School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted January 15, 2016
- a community member
The school promotes Christian values, as well as being a good citizen of the world in general. These kids are so well behaved and learn how to problem solve very quickly.

Salem Lutheran School 5

Posted January 15, 2016
- a community member
Salem has been an outstanding, nurturing experience for all of our 3 children. After going to JK, we never wanted to leave and can't imagine a better school academically, for our kids. We love all the teachers and know each of them personally. The parents of the school are like a small community and we feel like it's an extension of our family. If you're looking for a highly academic, yet nurturing environment, this is the place. Everyone who we have recommended this school to has had all their expectations met, and then some. We are thrilled that they have added the middle school and the school will extend to 8th grade. We feel like our children are so prepared for the upper grades and have the confidence and knowledge to leave this sweet school and move forward in their education.


Salem Lutheran School 5

Posted January 03, 2016
- a parent
Just take some time to visit the school/classes and you will feel it. This is the right place for my child. Why? The teachers! I am amazed. They love their jobs and the students, and the students love them! The size of the school and classroom allows each teacher to recognize the strengths and weaknesses of each student, which helps each student gain the confidence to improve on their weaknesses and expand on their strengths. The teachers do it for themselves as well. It is obvious that the school is always finding ways to better themselves, and hence the students. From experience, I have watched my children grow and explore interests I would have never dreamed they would... academics, music, art, science, math, student government, community involvement, dance and athletics... The credit goes to the teachers. They work hard to find ways to make each student want to learn and better themselves. This is a great school for a child to build a solid foundation in order to grow and become an intellectual, well-rounded adult with good morals, confidence, the ability to think, and the desire to be a positive person in society.

Salem Lutheran School 5

Posted September 16, 2015
- a community member
This is an awesome school. You feel like home. It's one big family. Teachers parents are all respectful of each other. The most important thing for me is they are centered on Jesus Christ our Lord.

Salem Lutheran School 5

Posted March 25, 2014
- a community member
As directors and performers of The Grail Theatre of Britain, my wife and I visit hundreds of schools every year. We are a little like chambermaids - we see everything! Salem Lutheran is an outstanding school. In an uncertain economy, enrollment here is up and that tells its own story. The principal sets very high standards from the top and is fully committed to enrichment and arts programs for her students. The behavior of the students during our performances is exemplary. A vibe of excellence runs through this school - we don't have children ourselves, but if we did, we would have no hesitation in enrolling them here!


Salem Lutheran School 5

Posted October 23, 2013
- a parent
I can't say enough about Salem Lutheran School - it is the best school!!!!!! You know you are in the right school when your kids never want to miss a day of school and get excited for Mondays as they go back for the school week! Just to share an example -I had to take my son out of class early one day and he literally would not leave, the school Secretary finally asked me to go and get him from class as he does not want to go home. My son is in JK and my daughter also has been attending Salem for a few years now. to make a long story short he left but was crying the whole way home because I took him out of his class. From the Principal to all the teachers and TA's they are all amazing! It's like one big family:) I had toured quite a few schools but as soon as I went to Salem Lutheran I knew this was the school and I can't tell you how gratifying it is to see how happy my kids are to be there:))) Also academically it's amazing as well (my son in JK already reads so many of his sight words). My daughter is excelling in all subjects. What more can a parent ask for. It's great teamwork between parents and the school. I highly recommend Salem Lutheran School.

Salem Lutheran School 5

Posted September 09, 2013
- a parent
I am pleased to inform how great this school is. My son joined it since JK with 5 years old and now with 8 years old he is in 2nd grade. His development is being outstanding so far in all areas. What is so special about this school is that we feel we are all part of the same family and you do have an 1to1 treatment with the school's staff. I do follow up my son's progress via gradelink what is a benefit provided by the school. I am very happy so far and I am sure if you give this school a chance, you won't regret.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Salem Lutheran School
1211 North Brand Boulevard, Glendale, CA  91202
(818) 243-8264
Last modified Salem Lutheran School is a Private school that serves grades K-7
Salem Lutheran School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top