Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Chamlian Armenian School

Private | 1-8 | 500 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Glendale

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $503,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 11, 2013

Excellent school! My three children are very happy with staff and students. As for not well mannered kids, clicks or other negative comments others have made. I just need to say that there are clicks and bad mannered, bullying everywhere. We as parents need to educate and assist our children with these issues. As far as diversity is concerned, chamlian has given my kids a sense if belonging and confidence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2012

My child spent several years at Chamlian and now attends a public school. Why the change? As someone else here remarked, there is far too much drama at the school --- kids bullying kids, parents bullying parents, cliques, and a generally unhealthy atmosphere that does not reflect the real world. The student body is ALL Armenian and so is the faculty with the possible exception of maybe one teacher. And while some people may prefer this, it is simply not what the real world is about, especially now that things are becoming more ethnically diverse. The best thing that Chamlan offers--as does any private school-- is a controlled environment. The academics at Chamlian are substandard compared to what my child now receives in a public school. To be fair, some of the Chamlian faculty and administration are nice people with good intentons, but the bottom line is that my child is doing much better personally and academically in a public school where there is far less drama and social snobbery. I am aware of several children being taken out of Chamlian and enrolled in public schools, yet Chamlian failed to address the underlying causes of these student withdrawals.


Posted December 20, 2011

I had my daughter go here for 6 years, although the staff was welcoming, there was many problems with the school overall.There is too much drama,caused by the lack of nationality diversity,and the students are not well-mannered. The school has many cliques, and the school does nothing about it.


Posted February 17, 2011

I'm so happy that I decided to send my daughter to Chamlian. Excellent teachers, staff and healthy food :) . Most important my daughter loves her school and her teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2008

My children have attended this school for the past three years. I have never seen such unprofessional and impolite staff anywhere. I wonder how they stay in business.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2007

ive went to this school. & i dont recommend it at all. highly organized and teachers could care less. barely any activities no parental involvement.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 4, 2007

Chamlian is a great school. It has many extracurricular activities. The teachers there are very experienced,knowledgeable,and caring. They have many strict policies, like many other private schools like hair, socks, and uniform. I goe to this school and I love it because of the sports, environment, and my teachers that I have now and in the past.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 8, 2006

This school has been great for my child. He has learned English and Armenian at the same time and has gotten involved with extracarricular activities. Here they value children's learning and put them foremost everything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2005

Pretty good school but a bit expensive. It is located in a very upscale neighborhood. The teachers are very friendly and both disciple and academics are top priority.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 100% 26%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hispanic 0% 52%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Vazken Madenlian
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Other

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4444 Lowell Avenue
Glendale, CA 91214
Phone: (818) 957-3398

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

First Steps
Glendale, CA


Verdugo Academy
La Crescenta, CA


La Crescenta Montessori School
La Crescenta-Montrose, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT