Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Glendale Adventist Academy

Private | K-12 | 557 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Glendale

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $378,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,560.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 26, 2013

This school is excellent in molding the child's moral foundation which I believe would better prepare a child in the future. The school's lack of extracurricular activities is well intended, that is, the parents should seek out available sports activities in their own communities for them and their children to join and enjoy together.


Posted November 6, 2012

Excellent school! My 3 boys graduated with high academics and are now attending different private colleges and they are doing good . I recommend this school they give a good foundation to the students and prepare them for the future. Great job teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2012

Terrible school. Makes people close minded, with many close minded teachers there. Doesn't expose students to anything but their close minded ness and education there is terrible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2009

My child is very happy in GAE. He is learning a lot and is getting a lot of good attention from his teachers. GAE has very friendly and caring staff and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2008

It is a socially excepting school and good for my child! His grade point average is a 3.1 which is much better than what he was doing in his other school. I am also impressed with most of the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2007

I attended Glendale Academy from second grade until I graduated. Finally after I graduated from GAA I realized how much more academically prepared I was in comparison to other peers graduating the same year from other High schools. The Academic programs are top notch because although I wasn't a straight A student I still find myself more prepared in college than most. The extracurricular have been going down hill because of the lack of incoming students. The problem with a small school is the lack of students with interest to join the after school programs. As for parent involvement, I noticed that if a parent wants to be involved they can be. It's mostly the parents who choose not to be involved. I must say though, the cafeteria food is really horrible. I always brought food from home. Not very appetizing or healthy.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 11, 2006

This little school is the ideal learning community. Students learn how to be happy and functional members of society and acadamia. I wish that I could have attended this school as a kid.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 25, 2005

I personally think this school is ok. They don't let kids play tag, baseball, or soccer. There is absolutely no extracurricular activities. But the education is very good. The cafeteria food is horrible. Almost every week they serve the same thing over and over again. They don't really carer about sports though. They only have a basketball and volleyball team.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2005

Have lots of sports, music program is the best Ive ever heard. Only thing is they dont have a track team.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 12, 2004

Very good and qualified school. Almost not worth the money, but hey, it worked well with my kids... a nice SDA education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2004

This school is very bad. They don't let kids play baseball,tag,or soccer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2004

Our daughter is just about to complete grade three and we've been very impressed with all the teachers she's had from kindergarten until now. They've all been very caring and dedicated teachers with high academic standards and great ability to motivate and teach children. Each class has had approx. 20 students so the teachers can work with each student as needed. There are after school classes like the math club, food club, drama club, arts and crafts and chess club. Supervised after school care is provided at a minimal cost. The music program at all levels (K-12) is second to none. Although the school is too small to have an orchestra they have choral groups, a band and jazz band that consistently receive the highest adjudication reviews and many awards. They tour and are often invited to perform. Recently, they performed at Grace Cathedral in San Francisco.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 29% 26%
Hispanic 25% 52%
Black 8% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. Mario Negrete
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Seventh-day adventist
Associations
  • GCSDAC

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

700 Kimlin Drive
Glendale, CA 91206
Website: Click here
Phone: (818) 244-8671

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


College View School
Glendale, CA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT