Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

First Lutheran School

Private | PK-8 | 113 students

Our school is best known for our nurturing environment.
 
 

 
 

Living in Glendale

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $290,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,420.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 1, 2012

The school has loving teachers and both my daughters can read any magazine stuck in front of them ...one is 8 the other is 6. I highly recommend this school for small class size and no bullying policy that is very well enforced.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2011

My child has had a wonderful year with the 7th grade teacher Miss Blume. She is a very caring and loving teacher who is loved by all. She not only cares about the academics but cares about the whole child. They are very lucky to have her. The 8th grade teacher Mrs. Rundquist is another story. He assignments are unclear and she shows favoritism to certain students. The school would be better served without her. How she got the job at this school I just do not know.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2009

My son has been going to this school since preschool. Not only do they have a very loving and nurturing environment, but they challenge each student academically. The teachers are exceptional. We have been very pleased with everyone! I highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2008

Teacher Aydee and Teacher Roslyn are both wonderful and amazing teachers. My son has been attending for well over a year and for the price you cannot beat the education and loving environment that surrounds these children on a daily basis. I am not sur eabout the parent that claimed that they called and asked her to pick up her child but, that strikes me as odd considering that children at the ages of 4 - 6 have altercations as part of growing up. I strongly would suggest letting your child attend this school if you can financially afford it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2008

Both my daughters attended this school since pre-K and loved the program (teacher Aidee is great). My 5-year old is still there; my third grader was moved to a public school because of monetary reasons. If we could afford it, we would have both of them at FLS. Yes, tuition keeps going up, so does inflation. We love the small classrooms where children get more attention. We like the extra curricular activies (choir, karate, webby dance, science adventures, chess, basketball, etc.). We like the field trips and school events. Principal Julie Sanchez, Pastor Ken, and all the teachers are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2007

The below comments need updating... I loved the pre-K program at this school. Teacher Aydee is wonderful. But as soon as my son started attending Kindergarten the problems started. The school would call me for the smallest issues (like when my son pushed another child - both boys were OK) and asked me to leave work to pick him up; but when he was sick and even missed a day of school there was never an inquiry as to his health... and their rates keep going up since they are building a new school.Think twice and place your child elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2005

My son has been attending this school since the 2nd grade, he is now in the 5th grade. It has been a wonderful experience for him, he is in a family environment where the teachers and administration take genuine interest in the children's overall well being. It is a kind and loving environment that emphasizes strong spiritual and academic values. Each teacher is committed 100% to each child's individual growth and advancement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2004

My son has been attending this school since he was in the preschool program at 3 1/2 years old. He is now in Kindergarten (6 yrs.) and I still love this school! The teachers are excellent, and the small classroom size give the children and parents a very 'small town' community feel. He is doing well academically and we are also involved in the extra curricular activities offered after school. I highly recommend First Lutheran School.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Pacific Islander 65% 11%
Two or more races 16% 3%
Hispanic 9% 52%
Black 7% 6%
White 3% 26%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Tagalog
Armenian
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • LSS Service Recognition - Helping Break the Cycle of Poverty (2013)
  • 2nd Place - Junior Ambassodor Recycling Challenge (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Armenian
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Armenian
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Michelle Goetsch
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Evangelical Lutheran Church in America
Associations
  • ELEA
Fax number
  • (818) 244-2776

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Individually guided instruction
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Foreign languages
  • Music
  • Religious
  • Service learning
  • Visual arts
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Armenian
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Armenian
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • SELPA
  • ELEA
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Girl scouts
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize cultural events
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Los Angeles County High School for the Arts
Providence High School
Clark Magnet High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1300 E Colorado Street
Glendale, CA 91205
Website: Click here
Phone: (818) 244-7319

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Tobinworld
Glendale, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT