Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
113 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 9 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


First Lutheran School 5

Posted October 01, 2012
- a parent
The school has loving teachers and both my daughters can read any magazine stuck in front of them ...one is 8 the other is 6. I highly recommend this school for small class size and no bullying policy that is very well enforced.

First Lutheran School 4

Posted July 02, 2011
- a parent
My child has had a wonderful year with the 7th grade teacher Miss Blume. She is a very caring and loving teacher who is loved by all. She not only cares about the academics but cares about the whole child. They are very lucky to have her. The 8th grade teacher Mrs. Rundquist is another story. He assignments are unclear and she shows favoritism to certain students. The school would be better served without her. How she got the job at this school I just do not know.


First Lutheran School
no rating

Posted September 09, 2009
- a parent
My son has been going to this school since preschool. Not only do they have a very loving and nurturing environment, but they challenge each student academically. The teachers are exceptional. We have been very pleased with everyone! I highly recommend this school!

First Lutheran School 5

Posted June 23, 2008
- a parent
Teacher Aydee and Teacher Roslyn are both wonderful and amazing teachers. My son has been attending for well over a year and for the price you cannot beat the education and loving environment that surrounds these children on a daily basis. I am not sur eabout the parent that claimed that they called and asked her to pick up her child but, that strikes me as odd considering that children at the ages of 4 - 6 have altercations as part of growing up. I strongly would suggest letting your child attend this school if you can financially afford it.

First Lutheran School
no rating

Posted February 13, 2008
- a parent
Both my daughters attended this school since pre-K and loved the program (teacher Aidee is great). My 5-year old is still there; my third grader was moved to a public school because of monetary reasons. If we could afford it, we would have both of them at FLS. Yes, tuition keeps going up, so does inflation. We love the small classrooms where children get more attention. We like the extra curricular activies (choir, karate, webby dance, science adventures, chess, basketball, etc.). We like the field trips and school events. Principal Julie Sanchez, Pastor Ken, and all the teachers are great.


First Lutheran School 3

Posted April 30, 2007
- a parent
The below comments need updating... I loved the pre-K program at this school. Teacher Aydee is wonderful. But as soon as my son started attending Kindergarten the problems started. The school would call me for the smallest issues (like when my son pushed another child - both boys were OK) and asked me to leave work to pick him up; but when he was sick and even missed a day of school there was never an inquiry as to his health... and their rates keep going up since they are building a new school.Think twice and place your child elsewhere.

First Lutheran School 5

Posted April 21, 2005
- a parent
My son has been attending this school since the 2nd grade, he is now in the 5th grade. It has been a wonderful experience for him, he is in a family environment where the teachers and administration take genuine interest in the children's overall well being. It is a kind and loving environment that emphasizes strong spiritual and academic values. Each teacher is committed 100% to each child's individual growth and advancement.

First Lutheran School 5

Posted February 24, 2004
- a parent
My son has been attending this school since he was in the preschool program at 3 1/2 years old. He is now in Kindergarten (6 yrs.) and I still love this school! The teachers are excellent, and the small classroom size give the children and parents a very 'small town' community feel. He is doing well academically and we are also involved in the extra curricular activities offered after school. I highly recommend First Lutheran School.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

First Lutheran School
1300 E Colorado Street, Glendale, CA  91205
(818) 244-7319
Last modified First Lutheran School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
First Lutheran School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top