Advertisement
Advertisement

Foothill Christian School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Glendora

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $308,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,600.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

61 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 15, 2008

I have three children who attend Foothill Christian School. I am very pleased with the quality of education they receive at this school. I have one child in Jr. High who has been consistently challenged and motivated to succeed. The teachers really impact the students both academically and spiritually. I really value the emphasis the school places on missions. All three of my children are involved in making a difference in the lives of others in need all around the world. This is a habit that I feel will stay with them well into their adult life. The foundations that are being laid here at Foothill will remain an important part of who each of them become.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2008

I have two children that have attended Foothill Christian since kindergarten. Foothill has helped my children not only grow academically, but spiritually. Staff and teachers at all grade levels take the time to walk through difficult issues with students that help develop their character. The transition from elementary school to jr. high was wonderful. The teachers are great. They are supportive and encouraging. They push the kids to do their best academically and to be kind and loving to each other. I would not want my children at any other school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2008

I have two children that have attended Foothill Christian since kindergarten. The staff and teachers at all levels are kind and loving and walk through difficult issues with students that help shape their character for the future. Teachers not only push students to do their best accademically, but to grow spiritually. The transition from elementary school to jr. high was wonderful. The teachers are great role models, both academically and spiritually, and they want the children to be successful. I would not want my children to attend any other school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2008

Both my children have attended Foothill Christian School from Kindergarten through 8th grade. This school has been excellent not only because of the amazing teachers there but the administration is very involved and it's a real community there where people care. You don't just feel like a number. They not only care about your child but also your family. I would highly recommend this school for it's academics as well as for it's Christian values that are taught as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2008

I have also have two children at Foothill Christian and I am very please with their educational experience. This is our family's 9th year and my children have learned so much socially, spiritually and intellectually. I would highly recommend this school. It is well worth the cost to watch your child grow with loving guidance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2008

I have two children at Foothill Christian and they are both excelling in reading, math, & science. They are in the 4th and 7th grades. The work is very challenging but both have really learned to study which is all important for college bound students. They have indepth knowledge of the Bible and are praised by their Sunday School teachers. We love Foothill and its dedicated teachers and principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2008

I agree with choose your teacher carefully! This our first year there & in California. Our teacher is suppsed to be 'one of the best' , but she is picking our son apart. No one will listen, because she appears to be kind - we have gone to her class & seen other kids do the same thing - get out of their seat, talk without raising their hands - that she complains our son does. He is a straight A student, gifted, a bit precocious at times, but in no way does he deserve to be treated the way he is. We ae christians, but I do not think we fit their mold, they are too legalistic. I do not recommend it - and we are looking for another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2008

Choose your teacher wisely! One year you may have the best teacher or you may have a horrible year. I am worried that my child has not learned anything this year. I am now trying to decide whether or not to return next year. The tutition is too expensive and knowing that my child is not learning the bare essentials or even state standards. I am looking for tutoring for the summer so that we will not be too far behind next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2007

good school but expensive
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2007

FCS has been a tremendous blessing for our family. Not only do they exemplify Christian morals and values, they teach the students ethics and responsibility. I am more than happy with the academics (being a former teacher in both private and public schools). My daughter is well prepared for first grade. I am especially impressed with the Superintendent who has been there for many years and is a tremendous leader. He is honest, empowering and caring to teachers, students and parents. I consider it an honor that my child attends this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2006

Foothill Christian is a great school. Choose your teacher carefully.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2006

Excellent school. There are many extracurricular activities available and the school offers ways for the parents to be involved as much as possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2005

My oldest son attended FCS for Kindergarten and First Grade. Unfortunately, due to financial constraints, we were unable to continue there once our second child started school, but we loved it there and so did he! His kindergarten teacher, Mrs. Parenti, was awesome. She has high energy and loads of patience and truly loves her kids. She involves the parents in everything and gives the kids a great introduction to school. His first grade teacher, Mrs. Chance, was also great and though she doesn't involve the parents as much, she teaches the kids so much by providing interactive activities for them to learn through. The principal is a caring man who is highly visible and approachable. The PTF works hard to provide great things for the school and parents can be heavily involved in their child's education there. We will truly miss it and hope to possibly return should finances change.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2005

The level of education offered at Foothill Christian is what is needed to prepare for the rigors of high school. The staff works with the students understanding each student as not only a student but also a person who has ideas and plans for their life. The school does a great job of allowing the students to begin to think outside the realms of typical education letting them grow and learn more than a typical school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 17, 2005

The extracurricular activities are very good. They are behind in their math program, but now have Saxton Math and are catching up. This is very disturbing. I feel that the education could be better. My daughter is in 3rd grade and I feel she could of done better in a public glendora elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2005

Good activities, they had weekly field trips that our child liked very much. Her academics, reading & writing, improved markedly upon enrollment. She was barely 5 when we enrolled her. The staff was kind and nurturing. A very good experience overall. We appreciated the secure environment and attention they paid to keeping the site secure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2005

Principal is outstanding. He knows the students, the teachers and cares deeply about the quality.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2004

This is the best school around! Teachers and staff are the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2004

Foothill Christian is a fantastic school! My kids have attended since preschool and compared to our neighbors (who attend public schools), are at least 1 grade level above. I give assemblies to schools in the Los Angeles area and know Foothill has the most well behaved and helpful students of all. The Superintendent, teachers and staff are all highly skilled and professional. Each one of them have a love of teaching and strive hard to do their best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2004

This is a wonderful school! The students are academically challenged at Foothill Christian beyond the expectation of many public schools. The behavior standards are excellent! In my opinion, this is one of the best things about Foothill Christian. The Children have a consistent standard of discipline and good conduct from the beginning of school until graduation! There is a level of teacher love and care for the students that is beyond compare. The teachers at Foothill will truly make an investment in your child. The administrative staff is very supportive and friendly. Prospective parents should have no qualms about sending their children in to a safe, loving and academically excellent environment at Foothill Christian School!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 40%
Hispanic 20%
Asian 15%
American Indian/Alaska Native 10%
Black 8%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 6%
Two or more races 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Assembly of god
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

242 West Baseline Road
Glendora, CA 91740
Phone: (626) 914-1849

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT