Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

In October, three Washington Students shined at the annual Battle of the Books! One student won 1st place, along with two Washington Alumni for The Book Adventurers Team. Another Washington student placed 2nd on The Page Turners Team and a 3rd place winner was from The Reading Rainbows team. What an incredible showing by Washington at Battle of the Books! 
May 09, 2016

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
In October, three Washington Students shined at the annual Battle of the Books! One student won 1st place, along with two Washington Alumni for The Book Adventurers Team. Another Washington student placed 2nd on The Page Turners Team and a 3rd place winner was from The Reading Rainbows team. What an incredible showing by Washington at Battle of the Books! 
Posted May 09, 2016

Develops empathy:
SCHOOL LEADER
The March 15th State of the District featured all of COUSD school sites, Enrichment program, Charter Oak Ed Foundation and Charter Oak Youth Football and Cheer. Everyone had creative and fun displays set up and some with interactive activities, 3D printing and a robotwalking around! There was a student raffle for 3 Chromebooks with the lucky winners from Washington, Oak Knoll Virtual Academy and Cedargrove! Congratulations to the winners!
Posted April 05, 2016


Develops grit:
SCHOOL LEADER
On December 7th, 8th, and 9th, the elementary music program in Charter Oak gave outstanding performances at the Royal Oak Gym. Monday night Glen Oak and Badillo had over 300 students performing and over 500 parents attending. The same numbers were evident on Tuesday night with Cedargrove, and then again on Wednesday night with Willow and Washington. The students sang many fun and beautiful holiday songs, displaying some amazing harmonies along with their singing. The night was truly a great success and showed how much the children in Charter Oak love to sing and perform.
Posted March 01, 2016

Develops honesty:
SCHOOL LEADER
Washington Elementary hosted it's first APEX Fun Run- Fundraiser!  The Bulldogs have been preparing for a week, learning about good sportsmanship, how to "Dream", how to "Inspire", and how to have a healthy life.  The Fun Run was the culmination of this fundraiser with students running up to 36 laps to raise money for the PTA.  The money raised will be going towards, field trips, assemblies, AR t-shirts, prizes, and much more!  The students had a blast running their laps, and the teachers, and parent volunteers had an even better time, squirting them with water as they ran by! 
Posted November 12, 2015

Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
On behalf of the Campaign for Business & Education Excellence (CBEE), I want to congratulate Washington Elementary School. After an extensive analysis of student data for every public school and district in California, your school stood above the rest in getting your students to grade level proficiency and beyond. Your school has been named as CBEE Honor Roll School for 2014! Your school will be featured on our website and a banner has been designed just for the school to display. Each year, CBEE presents this award to individual schools and to districts that have excelled in raising student achievement and closing achievement gaps. This is a testament to you, your staff and your students’ relentless focus on academic success. The list of Honor Roll schools continues to grow thanks to the hard work and effective practices of thousands of excellent superintendents, administrators, principals, teachers and support personnel in our public schools.  Since its inception in 2005, the CBEE Honor Roll has increased from 261 high performing schools to an inspiring 1851 high performing schools in 2014.  This is thanks to the relentless focus on results for students that you, your staff and your peers have shown over the years.  It is also a strong statement about how success is spreading in public schools across the state. I want to once again congratulate you on the outstanding success your schools have made in raising student academic achievement and closing achievement gaps. 
Posted October 16, 2015


Washington Elementary School 5

Posted July 09, 2015
- a parent
Principal and teachers are very involved. The cafeteria lady is nice and helped my 5 yr old daughter punch in her number when she couldn't remember. The teacher was very helpful and sweet.

Washington Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 09, 2015
- a parent
My daughter was in Transitional Kindergarten (TK) w/ Mrs. Hadan. She is a wonderful teacher who really cares about her students. She and her aide made costumes for the kids to put on a performance for the parents. The children did a lot of in-class projects that incorporated science and art. They learned about presidents, entire alphabet, numbers 1-100, shapes, animals, and more. My daughter impressed me by how much she as learned.

Washington Elementary School 5

Posted August 13, 2014
- a parent
My sons first year here was last year for kinder. He was treated very well here and his techer mrs schrock was super sweet and very caring though she may be a little forgetful sheeans well. Her mother also is her TA she's a older lady just a little bit cranky but her age she's allowed! They really work hard at AR and I love that! By the end of kinder he can read and write good sentences now. The only thing I would say is that I wish they maybe had more PTA to find more field trips and things because honestly we raise a lot of money but not sure where it goes. I am excited to see what the first grade brings. I will post againy review of the first grade.


Washington Elementary School 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
The teachers are really good in taking care of each and every child. I observed the teacher's are much focused on those students who are behind in learning the things.

Washington Elementary School 5

Posted May 23, 2013
- a parent
I have been very happy with Washington Elementary. I have a daughter in 1st grade and she had great experiences with her kindergarten and 1st grade teachers. Mrs. Villaverde, the principal, has done an excellent job raising test scores since she started several years ago. She visits every classroom at least once a day, knows each child, and is very hands on. It is also positive that her own child attends this school. I couldn't be happier with her. The parents are very involved. For field trips, there are tons of parents present to help out, and the PTA is very active. I had considered homeschooling my daughter but am very happy we decided to send her to Washington.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Washington Elementary School
325 West Gladstone, Glendora, CA  91740-5503
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. (626) 914-2704
Last modified Washington Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top