Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

The CSBA Golden Bell Awards promotes excellence in education and school board governance by recognizing outstanding programs. Willow Elementary’s RtI program has been selected for a Golden Bell Award as it reflects the depth and breadth of education programs and governance decisions supporting these programs that are necessary to address students’ changing needs. In 2010, Willow had an API growth of 5 points, but failed to meet the proficiency target in their socio-economically disadvantaged sub group. Willow Elementary School had a significant number of students who were not meeting grade-level standards and on AYP that put us then at risk of being a Program Improvement School. In fall 2011, Willow fully implemented a Response to Intervention and Instruction program (RtI2). The goals of RtI2 are to provide comprehensive critical skills in reading development, to ensure that all students leave 3rd grade as confident and competent readers, to provide early intervention for struggling students in grades K-2, and to provide high-quality preventive and proactive instruction. Willow staff meets regularly in Planned Learning Communities (PLCs) to evaluate student academic growth data, plan or alter individual goals, and formulate an intervention plan that will best meet the needs of the students. This is aligned to the Board’s Vision that states that we will have outstanding employees that offer exemplary programs and services. The Board supported bringing in an RtI2 consultant in 2010 to teach staff the effective use of the RtI2 model. The model has been in existence for three years with a stable staff and principal. In spite of lean budgets, the staff recognized the worth of the model for student success. The RtI2 is being monitored by the district and other school site administration for replication. Due to the effective implementation of the Rtl2 program and the PLC model, Willow was selected as a California Distinguished School in 2010 and in 2014, and was selected as a Title I High Achieving School in 2011, recommended as a California Model School in 2014 and now winner for a Golden Bell in 2014! Visit www.cousd.net for more info on Willow Elementary School!
February 23, 2016

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Develops honesty:
SCHOOL LEADER
"The mission of Willow Elementary School is to provide a caring and cooperative learning environment which offers each child the opportunity to develop individual intellectual skills, creative talents and social abilities that prepare them for success beyond elementary school."
Posted April 11, 2016

Develops grit:
SCHOOL LEADER
On December 7th, 8th, and 9th, the elementary music program in Charter Oak gave outstanding performances at the Royal Oak Gym. Monday night Glen Oak and Badillo had over 300 students performing and over 500 parents attending. The same numbers were evident on Tuesday night with Cedargrove, and then again on Wednesday night with Willow and Washington. The students sang many fun and beautiful holiday songs, displaying some amazing harmonies along with their singing. The night was truly a great success and showed how much the children in Charter Oak love to sing and perform.
Posted March 01, 2016


Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
The CSBA Golden Bell Awards promotes excellence in education and school board governance by recognizing outstanding programs. Willow Elementary’s RtI program has been selected for a Golden Bell Award as it reflects the depth and breadth of education programs and governance decisions supporting these programs that are necessary to address students’ changing needs. In 2010, Willow had an API growth of 5 points, but failed to meet the proficiency target in their socio-economically disadvantaged sub group. Willow Elementary School had a significant number of students who were not meeting grade-level standards and on AYP that put us then at risk of being a Program Improvement School. In fall 2011, Willow fully implemented a Response to Intervention and Instruction program (RtI2). The goals of RtI2 are to provide comprehensive critical skills in reading development, to ensure that all students leave 3rd grade as confident and competent readers, to provide early intervention for struggling students in grades K-2, and to provide high-quality preventive and proactive instruction. Willow staff meets regularly in Planned Learning Communities (PLCs) to evaluate student academic growth data, plan or alter individual goals, and formulate an intervention plan that will best meet the needs of the students. This is aligned to the Board’s Vision that states that we will have outstanding employees that offer exemplary programs and services. The Board supported bringing in an RtI2 consultant in 2010 to teach staff the effective use of the RtI2 model. The model has been in existence for three years with a stable staff and principal. In spite of lean budgets, the staff recognized the worth of the model for student success. The RtI2 is being monitored by the district and other school site administration for replication. Due to the effective implementation of the Rtl2 program and the PLC model, Willow was selected as a California Distinguished School in 2010 and in 2014, and was selected as a Title I High Achieving School in 2011, recommended as a California Model School in 2014 and now winner for a Golden Bell in 2014! Visit www.cousd.net for more info on Willow Elementary School!
Posted February 23, 2016

Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
On behalf of the Campaign for Business & Education Excellence (CBEE), I want to congratulate Willow Elementary School. After an extensive analysis of student data for every public school and district in California, your school stood above the rest in getting your students to grade level proficiency and beyond. Your school has been named as CBEE Honor Roll School for 2014! Your school will be featured on our website and a banner has been designed just for the school to display. Each year, CBEE presents this award to individual schools and to districts that have excelled in raising student achievement and closing achievement gaps. This is a testament to you, your staff and your students’ relentless focus on academic success. The list of Honor Roll schools continues to grow thanks to the hard work and effective practices of thousands of excellent superintendents, administrators, principals, teachers and support personnel in our public schools.  Since its inception in 2005, the CBEE Honor Roll has increased from 261 high performing schools to an inspiring 1851 high performing schools in 2014.  This is thanks to the relentless focus on results for students that you, your staff and your peers have shown over the years.  It is also a strong statement about how success is spreading in public schools across the state. I want to once again congratulate you on the outstanding success your schools have made in raising student academic achievement and closing achievement gaps. 
Posted October 16, 2015

Willow Elementary School 5

Posted September 05, 2012
- a teacher
CONGRATULATIONS WILDCATS!!! Soo soo proud of your dedication, dilligence and pasion for the students at Willow!!! Ms. Lee it is because of your dedication and pasion and thinking outside the BOX that makes the WILDCATS reach for the STARS!!! Thank you!!!


Willow Elementary School 5

Posted August 25, 2010
- a parent
Willow is the best school. it's a little hidden gem. Small which is great. Your child won't get lost in the shuffle. Mr. Shaw is not only an outstanding principal but outstanding man. It's been amazing and a ton of parent involvement. Love, love, love Willow.

Willow Elementary School 4

Posted October 20, 2009
- a parent
I love Willow. I have been a member of the WIllow family for 11 years now. It is a small school with a family atmosphere. The principal is terrific and the teachers are super. There is a lot of parent involvement. I'm very happy to have my children at Willow; they enjoy attending this school.

Willow Elementary School
no rating

Posted November 03, 2008
- a parent
I love Willow and everything about it. I have been a parent for along time at Willow and on my way out, which will be sad. I will miss everyone. Teachers are great, and I believe that the Principal is the best thing ever happened to this great school. It has gotten better and things are starting to smooth out with the transition. Parent involvent is getting better and positive attitudes are all around us. I will recommend this great school to anyone. Plus you can not please everyone, but there are more positive comments than negative. We need to focus on the positive.


Willow Elementary School
no rating

Posted June 16, 2008
- a parent
I do agree that there is a problem with the principal. She does not treat every student failry when it comes to disciplining children. Certain children are picked on by staff and teachers. They label children. Parent participation has really gone down and I think it's because of the frustration of hearing what goes on at the school from their children. If my child was ever 'out of hand' last year 07-8 you bet I got a note home. But if my child was the victim of any abuse I was never notified.

Willow Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 28, 2008
- a parent
I use to think this school was a great school my child has been there since K-4th until they rececived a new principal and things went down hill real quick no communication no compation for the kids and there familys things are just put a side to go away for them self bullying seems to be a problem that is not taken serious. The feel of family has diminished by parents & teachers.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Willow Elementary School
1427 South Willow, Glendora, CA  91740-5826
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. (626) 914-5839
Last modified Willow Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top