Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

2,476 students|Glendora Unified
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
38 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 47 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Glendora High School 3

Posted March 26, 2016
- a parent
While having many positive experiences over the years though generations of GHS graduates, one negative persists. Many Glendora administrators and some teachers are not in the profession for the right reasons. They will say anything, any lie, to make parents go away, not all parents, not the ones that are their friends, not the ones that work for the district, not the ones that have enough money or community prestige. The parents that just want the best for everyone's children are mocked and laughed at. While the district will take any student and the money that follows them, don't expect to have fair and equal treatment from the district and especially the current principal Mr. Paul Lopez. You can't just blame him because he has the full backing of Dr. Voors and the board for this elitist attitude and behavior. Hopefully as this current wave of citizens are taking back their country, good parents will take back their school and we will be able to say GHSi is great again.

Glendora High School 3

Posted September 24, 2013
- a community member
I attend ghs they have great courses but they make it difficult for students who know that they aren't going to a 4 year right out of college by not helping them set up a schedule that will fit their academic ability. And I have had a lot of teachers who are lazy and don't teach. They just hand us packets and expect to learn. I would say 4 out of 5 teachers that I've had have treated other students better than they treated me. You have to be someone big in order to be treated normal. And one of the worst things about GUSD is star testing. They stress student out and cause them to cram just so they try to do well on a test that only benefits the school. This cause teachers to rush through important lessons. Sorry for ranting but I just wish the school had a better system to benefit kids with different learning abilities


Glendora High School 5

Posted September 19, 2013
- a parent
My son is able to attend this school because Glendora is a district of choice. We drive 20 min one way just so he can attend GHS. I thoroughly researched this school before making this commitment. He is in his 2nd year now and I can tell you it has been great. They give you all the tools to succeed with block scheduling and a tutorial period. His teachers have been great and the honors and AP programs are good. They provide an atmosphere where college is encouraged and plenty of help and information is available. You can monitor your students grades with Aeries. Although I preferred Edline. My son participates in sports and it is extremely competitive and a sacrifice. They make a 0 period and 7 period available. He takes a 0 period so he doesn't have to have a 5th period and therefore never misses a class for games. The tools are available at this school for success and so far his teachers have been great. There is absolutely no reason any child couldn't be successful at this school.

Glendora High School 5

Posted September 17, 2013
- a student
Great school. GHS offers very tough courses and great opportunity for achievement with great teachers. Great Associated Student Body and activities. High API and most of the graduates get into great colleges. Uses block schedule which works great, and allows students with extra-heavy loads (0 and 7 periods) to not have too long of days.

Glendora High School
no rating

Posted February 05, 2009
- a parent
All 4 of my children have attended GHS and the education is rigorous and prepares students well for college. I, myself, am an educator and I recognize the quality of the programs at GHS. Kudos to GUSD for realizing that every child counts!


Glendora High School
no rating

Posted October 27, 2008
- a parent
With the new addition of the Event center, theater, updating the pool and fresh coat of paint GHS has improved on its physical appearence. Lacking is still a cafeteria and necessary track/field/football /baseball upgrades! Finally having a steady principal has been a plus. Great councelors, sports programs, music and pretty good staff.Special needs/Disable kids treated very well.

Glendora High School 5

Posted March 01, 2008
- a parent
The music program is one of the best in the area. Caring and excellent staff.

Glendora High School 1

Posted December 05, 2007
- a parent
My son also was one who was promoted up grades with F's. Despite my attempts at discussing his needs with the counselors and teachers, it became apparent that there was no 'team' learning environment anymore at GHS. While there are always exceptions (and GHS does have a few good teachers and administrators), my child was definitely one of those left behind. What a decline in education excellence from my day!


Glendora High School 5

Posted November 01, 2007
- a student
This School Is a great school, the staff are very nice, and some say all student are spoiled rich kid, it is not true, because i'm a student and i'm not rich or spoiled

Glendora High School 3

Posted June 18, 2007
- a teacher
Declining enrollment is a major issue impacting funding. New teachers are hired as temporary to the detriment of the students and teacher morale. This school's strength is its band and art programs. Sports are abundant. The campus is open and beautifully landscaped. The majority of the students are wonderful as well as most of the teachers. Special needs students are well served by Mrs. Valentine and Mrs. Pollard. All students are encouraged to enroll in college and to do their best. Glendora High School has some excellent opportunities for all students who choose to follow the rules and apply themselves. Robin Huntington

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Glendora High School
1600 East Foothill Boulevard, Glendora, CA  91741-3024
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 47 reviews. (626) 963-5731
Last modified Glendora High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top