Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Glendora, CA
Students enrolled: 853

4 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


25 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sandburg Middle School 5

Posted March 19, 2014
- a parent
We moved to Glendora from a not-so-great local city during the summer so this is the 1st year my kids attend Glendora schools. I have two kids attending La Fetra and one in Sandburg. My kids were stars in their previous schools... getting awards and what not. This year my kids are struggling academically! They are having a tough time with academics here. It is no fault of the Glendora schools though. Sandburg and La Fetra are really trying to correct the many years of inadequate education they recieved in the previous schools. Goes to show how much a good school with a higher level of standards makes a diference. A big thanks goes out to the Sandburg and La Fetra staff. I truly feel my kids have a chance in life now that they are getting a REAL education.

Sandburg Middle School 5

Posted May 01, 2013
- a parent
For personal reasons, my 8th grade son and I relocated to glendora. I wanted him to attend Sandburg. The intradistrict transfer needed for that to happen, was denied due to" poor academically", I enrolled him at Center Middle School in Azusa. Id like it to be known, how impressed and relieved I was when my son was welcomed by the students , teachers, and staff. VERY VERY GREATSCHOOL. Wonderful Staff, counselors, students and I just want to applaude them all!!!!!! 5 star plus. Center Middle School in Azusa!!!


Sandburg Middle School 5

Posted November 04, 2012
- a parent
Sandburg has been a wonderful experience for my son. He is in 8th grade this year and has had so many wonderful teachers. I won't name names, but I thank them all for your efforts with all the children. Mr. Bell is indeed the best Pricnipal that I have known. Stern, caring, dedicated, friendly, approachable, and just a nice man. You cannot find a better middle school to send your child. Great communication, clean campus, hard working PTA, all for the kids.

Sandburg Middle School 5

Posted August 28, 2012
- a parent
My daughter is just starting 7th grade and she loves it already. She came to the Glendora school for the first time last year as a 6th grader. She had a great 6th grade experience and loved her teachers and the show choir she's a part of. It's a great day when your child wants to go to school. This school has hig standards for academics, behavior and encourages extra curricula activites. We're really happy here.

Sandburg Middle School 5

Posted February 17, 2012
- a parent
My son currently attends Sandburg as a 6th grader . He's been in Glendora schools since kindergarten and has had nothing but positive experiences. There's a friendly competition between Sandburg and Goddard schools and they are both great. What people fail to realize is that no matter where you go to school, work and/or even within your own neighborhood, there will ALWAYS be someone or something that will test your livelihood and patience. So as far as one school being better or safer than the other is nonsense...they both rate great. Of course Sandburg will always be my son's favorite just because it's his home school. Thanks Principal Bell and Assistant Principal Mr. Purpura for doing such an awesome job of making it a GREAT place to be!!


Sandburg Middle School 5

Posted May 25, 2011
- a parent
My child is just finishing his 6th grade at Sandburg. He has enjoyed every day of it, which as a parent tells me a lot. He has showed so much improvement with his grades because of how interested he has become this year in subjects that have never interested him. The teachers are very creative in their teaching lesons which obviously to me keep the kids interested. Thank you Sandburg staff!!

Sandburg Middle School 1

Posted December 20, 2010
- a parent
my child went here for a year and had a horrible experience! she had problems with the students from out of the area from other districts.,she would refuse to go to school every morning, it was that bad. now she goes to goddard middle school and is MUCH happier with the students and teachers!! my son is currently in 5th grade and he ISN'T going to sandburg. My opinion is that your child should go to goddard which isn't too far from sandburg.

Sandburg Middle School 0
no rating

Posted March 23, 2009
- a parent
This is a wonderful school! I love they way all the grades are seperated so that little 6th graders are not with 8th graders. My child has done nothing but excel at Sandburg.


Sandburg Middle School 5

Posted November 20, 2008
- a parent
We are new to Glendora schools and are very pleased with Sandburg. The teachers and staff are exceptional. My only complaint is the lack of an organized 'carline' to drop off kids. A simple crossing guard at the west driveway of the parking lot to direct the kids to cross in bunches instead of staggared 6 feet apart would really help the exiting traffic flow and it would be a lot safer for the kids than darting between cars trying to exit

Sandburg Middle School 5

Posted April 03, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sandburg Middle School
819 West Bennett Avenue, Glendora, CA  91741
(626) 852-4530
Last modified Sandburg Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sandburg Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top