Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Glendora, CA
Students enrolled: 626

5 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sellers Elementary School 4

Posted March 21, 2013
- a parent
My son has gone to this school for almost two years. He is currently in the 2nd grade. Sellers consistently produces high scores on the standardized tests (relative to similar schools statewide). Their AR program offers differentiated reading levels somewhat. At the beginning of the 2nd grade my son was tested and shown to be reading at the 5th grade level. His assigned AR books were all around level 2.8 or so. Lately they have been around the 3.4 level which is what he was doing last year. So far I have not seen any differentiated math programs. For two years I have watched my son do math homework that is far below his ability. Maybe that will change in the 3rd grade when he is in the GATE program. Maybe it won't change. The "No child left behind" policy seems to yield results that no child will be allowed to excel.

Sellers Elementary School 5

Posted October 30, 2009
- a parent
Sellers has wonderful parent involvement and volunteers, helping make this school really strong.


Sellers Elementary School 5

Posted September 09, 2009
- a parent
I'm very happy having my child at Sellers. Coming out of a private school and enrolling my child in public was scary at first but after seeing how involved the parents are in supporting programs and activities put me at ease. Everyone cares for the children and strives to see them improve. The principal is wonderful and very helpful around the school. I'm happy and grateful to have this privilege of sending my child to Sellers Elementary.

Sellers Elementary School 5

Posted June 23, 2009
- a parent
Great school...teachers do their best in tough economic times. Hopefully, the class sizes won't become too large in the coming school year.

Sellers Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 04, 2008
- a parent
The teachers at sellers do an outstanding job. They work very hard on being creative and trying to meet the needs of the students. They are often not thanked enough--and we all know they don't earn what they are truly worth! there is a lot of homework; however it is needed to achieve the results they get. Being a teacher and administrator myself, I am very impressed with the job that is being done with my children. As far as fund raising--this is necessary to provide the trips and all the extra small things that sellers does. Our tax base has very little to do with the actual money that reaches this school. Finally, it is important for parents to realize that homework is an extension of the class work. Don't complain--be glad that you have teachers and a district that sets high expectations! I would also like to commend the parents for all their wonderful efforts remember, the education of our children has to be a team effort.


Sellers Elementary School 4

Posted June 15, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Sellers Elementary School 4

Posted March 31, 2005
- a parent
This is a very good school due primarily to the demographics. The district needs to do more to improve the plant and help the teachers update there teaching methodologies.
1 person found this helpful

Sellers Elementary School 5

Posted June 23, 2004
- a parent
Sellers is a great school with a huge parent involvement.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sellers Elementary School
500 North Loraine Avenue, Glendora, CA  91741
(626) 852-4574
Last modified Sellers Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sellers Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top