Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sellers Elementary School
Grateful to: Student

Posted September 30, 2015
- a parent
Yes. I want to thank my child for putting up with these people and I'd like to thank my kid's EX-teachers who fled who were once amazing teachers for my kids.

Sellers Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted September 30, 2015
- a parent
My kids best teachers ALL left leaving nothing but the dregs. Most of the teachers left are burned out.


Sellers Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted September 30, 2015
- a parent
Homework is okay but the communication between teachers and parents about the homework is terrible.

Sellers Elementary School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted September 30, 2015
- a parent
Yes to the extent they bludgeon students they don't like into submission. I guess that means yes?

Sellers Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted September 30, 2015
- a parent
The teachers do not respect the parents or kids so how will the kids develop respect for the teachers?


Sellers Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted September 30, 2015
- a parent
See previous answer. I would strongly disagree with this. If the school plays favorites, what example does that set for the kids?

Sellers Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted September 30, 2015
- a parent
My kid was treated incredibly unfairly with teachers being set against him even when he did nothing wrong. Lots of teachers here will throw the kids under the bud before themselves.

Sellers Elementary School 1

Posted September 30, 2015
- a parent
HIGHLY overrated. Many of the best teachers have left. The ASRD Program has declined precipitously (one of my kids is special needs). The Principle seems burned out. Look elsewhere.


Sellers Elementary School 4

Posted March 21, 2013
- a parent
My son has gone to this school for almost two years. He is currently in the 2nd grade. Sellers consistently produces high scores on the standardized tests (relative to similar schools statewide). Their AR program offers differentiated reading levels somewhat. At the beginning of the 2nd grade my son was tested and shown to be reading at the 5th grade level. His assigned AR books were all around level 2.8 or so. Lately they have been around the 3.4 level which is what he was doing last year. So far I have not seen any differentiated math programs. For two years I have watched my son do math homework that is far below his ability. Maybe that will change in the 3rd grade when he is in the GATE program. Maybe it won't change. The "No child left behind" policy seems to yield results that no child will be allowed to excel.

Sellers Elementary School 5

Posted October 30, 2009
- a parent
Sellers has wonderful parent involvement and volunteers, helping make this school really strong.

Nearby schools

Sellers Elementary School
500 North Loraine Avenue, Glendora, CA  91741-2964
(626) 852-4574
Last modified Sellers Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top