Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 26 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


28 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sutherland Elementary School 4

Posted January 26, 2014
- a parent
To the January 2014 reviewer. Please please please if you haven't already talk to the principal about this teacher. I'm sure I know the one you are talking about as we had this teacher last year. It was horrible. This woman should not be teaching, period. I went this year to tell the new principal of my concerns because I wanted to give her a heads up so that when new parents came to her, she would not be surprised. The principal will keep your concerns confidential. We are in Ms. Paconne's class this year for first grade and my child LOVES to go to school. Mrs. Paconne is top notch in the classroom (I volunteered both last year and this).

Sutherland Elementary School 3

Posted January 23, 2014
- a parent
Sutherland. My daughter attends Sutherland right now 2014. She's in kindergarten, her teacher has no heart. Puts her down in front of the class room and myself. Her teacher seems to be more worried about what she's going to wear for the day than helping my daughter tie her shoe, which in fact the teacher told me she dose not help tie shoes! Incredible! The list goes on with this teacher. Not warm an fuzzy at all. I can't wait till my daughter is out of this school.


Sutherland Elementary School 3

Posted August 02, 2013
- a parent
2012 my child started in Kindergarten. Was not a great start. Teacher was not what I expected for my five year old. Not warm at all and rather detatched. As a Mother it was difficult sending my child everyday to an environment she really wasn't used to. She cried for days. Principal was horrible and non responsive. Bad first year. Hope new Principal is much better than the last and that my concerns are addressed or a transfer will be considered.

Sutherland Elementary School 3

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
K-3 teachers are outstanding for the most part. 4th and 5th, not so much~ For these grades, Cullen Elementary a much better choice~

Sutherland Elementary School 3

Posted April 25, 2013
- a parent
This has been our first year at Sutherland, but my son's third public elementary school experience. We had been told for years that his is a "great school" and that "all of the schools in Glendora are great". However, in our opinion, it is not a great school in what we deem important. My son has learned virtually nothing this year and his quantity of reading is 50% of what it has been in previous years due to lack of motivation. There are virtually no activities or contests to motivate high achievers at this school. They do not have a student council either which I think is a shame. I have come to conclude that the reputation is as such because the school's test scores are high. From my experience here, the reason the test scores are high is because you have a lot of involved parents who are working with their children, not necessarily from what they are learning in the classroom.


Sutherland Elementary School 5

Posted August 04, 2012
- a parent
Our two kids started here last year. We LOVE it. Mrs. Morehart was the best kinder teacher ever.

Sutherland Elementary School 5

Posted December 14, 2011
- a parent
What a great school this is. What a great school this is.What a great school this is.What a great school this is.What a great school this is.What a great school this is.What a great school this is.

Sutherland Elementary School 5

Posted April 14, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Sutherland Elementary School 4

Posted January 28, 2010
- a parent
I give the school 4 out of 5 stars because we have been attending for only .5 yrs. Thus far, my family LOVES the school in general. A few things they could work on...getting parents involved!, (there are maybe 12 members at the pta mtg every month) communicating better to the parents about not only activities but rules as well, the 'parking' lot a.k.a. pick up/drop off is horrible!, after-school activities are very limited, and their overall funding/fundraising could be stepped up a notch. Again, overall we are pleased with the school academically, but just like everything else - there is room for improvement.

Sutherland Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 08, 2009
- a parent
This is a great School. Most of the teachers here really love what they do and it reflects in the way they teach our children and how the children respond. I can't say much for the new principal except she wants to have the last say in everything and her is is not only the best way, but the only way. The school used to be a lot more fun for the teachers and the parents. This could be why there is less parent participation recently then in the past years.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sutherland Elementary School
1330 North Amelia Avenue, Glendora, CA  91740
(626) 852-4614
Last modified Sutherland Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sutherland Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews.