Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Private
Glendora, CA
Students enrolled: 222
 

4 stars
Based on 26 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


27 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. Dorothy Elementary School 1

Posted April 27, 2015
- a parent
If there is any hope of saving this school there needs to be someone from outside brought in to overhaul the entire program. This school is the victim of total mismanagement for over a decade now. At this point they are pretty much just rearranging the deck chairs on the Titanic... We all know how that story ended! Let's all say a prayer that things will change for the better! SOON!
6 people found this helpful

St. Dorothy Elementary School 1

Posted April 24, 2015
- a parent
Upon returning from Easter break, rumors that have since been confirmed were flying around campus that our beloved Kindergarten teacher, Mrs. Kent, will not be returning next year. Mrs. Burke, the school s principal, did not renew Mrs. Kent s contract. Mrs. Kent hands down is St. Dorothy s best teacher. All I have to say is this confirms Mrs. Burke is incompetent and isn t making the best decisions for the school. Mrs. Burke is the one that shouldn t be returning next year not Mrs. Kent. Mrs. Burke, please retire so the new principal can beg Mrs. Kent to come back.
11 people found this helpful


St. Dorothy Elementary School 1

Posted April 24, 2015
- a parent
Save yourself and your kids. Don t enroll at St. Dorothy until the school s principal (Mrs. Burke) retires. Parents complain about teachers and she doesn t listen or do anything about it. She s been the principal for 20 years and hasn t kept up with the times. The school wastes reams of paper on communication instead of using technology. Volunteering, parent hours tracking, scrip tracking, etc. need to be automated. The morale of the campus is very low. Families are leaving in droves. With reduced enrollment/tuition revenue, cuts had to be made (i.e. teachers aides were fired) at the expense of the curriculum. At the current rate, St. Dorothy will soon be on the list of closed schools. This school is substandard. If you care about your children s education, you should choose another school.
11 people found this helpful

St. Dorothy Elementary School 1

Posted April 23, 2015
- a parent
My opinion...this is a sinking ship. I was brought up in the Catholic education system and I thought all Catholic schools would be solid. I learned the hard way this is not the case. This very well may be the school for your family, but I ENCOURAGE you to meet as much of the staff as possible. Sit in all classrooms and spend time with the principal. And of course, tour other schools. I just heard that Kindergarten teacher Ms. Kent isn't coming back!! Say whaaat? Even Catholics are amazed at this one and we believe in a man that turned water into wine. I gave one star because their on campus rabbits are freakin' awesome.
9 people found this helpful

St. Dorothy Elementary School 4

Posted September 08, 2014
- a parent
I tip my hat to Mrs. Fulham, 1s Grade Teacher, she has gone over and above what is called for in helping my son with reading. She have made herself available to help him after hours and during the summer time. She is an asset to the school!
5 people found this helpful


St. Dorothy Elementary School 5

Posted August 21, 2014
- a parent
My children have attended St. Dorothy's for 6 years. I absolutely LOVE this school. The teachers are wonderful and very qualified. The classrooms are not over crowded and the school provides more than enough aides and special subject teachers for the students. The curriculum is challenging and surpasses the local school districts. The families that attend are dedicated to the school, offering volunteer hours, services and help whenever possible. It honestly feels like a family environment-everyone know everyone. Because the classrooms are smaller, the children get all the attention they need. Their music program is wonderful, as is the art program. It is located in the City of Glendora, near the foothills. The location is beautiful.
1 person found this helpful

St. Dorothy Elementary School 5

Posted March 07, 2013
- a parent
We have had a wonderful experience so far at St. Dorothy's. Mrs. Kent, the Kindergarten teacher, went over and beyond what was necessary to ensure that my daughter was challenged the entire year. My daughter was able to read very well upon entering Kindergarten. Ms. Kent spent her summer break recreating her curriculum so that it fit every child in the class. She has done a remarkable job with all her students knowing that they are all at different levels. I feel so comfortable knowing that my daughter is cared for so well by not only her teacher but all the staff. I would highly recommend St. Dorothy's for their child's education.
4 people found this helpful

St. Dorothy Elementary School 5

Posted January 19, 2013
- a parent
As a parent determining the best course of education for my children was a no brainer. St. Dorothy School was and is the best educatinal choice for my family. I only wish the Transitional Kindergarten was available when my children were 4 and 5 years old. The principal and educators are top notch holding the students best interest foremost in their minds. Nothing beats the Christian environment - and the service projects that the students provide to the less fortunate. St. Dorothy's provides a well rounded education beginning in the TK through 8th grade, preparing all students for higher education - no surprises. Isn't that what all parents want for their children? All this and more is found at St. Dorothy School. Thank you St. Dorothy principal, teachers, and support staff!
1 person found this helpful


St. Dorothy Elementary School 5

Posted January 17, 2013
- a parent
St. Dorothy school provides a solid foundation for the total development of the student. It is a diverse faith filled environment with a first rate academic program. Caring teachers and staff are the icing on the cake!
1 person found this helpful

St. Dorothy Elementary School 5

Posted January 17, 2013
- a parent
The 2nd grade teacher cares a great deal for her students academically and personally. She is very conscientious and responsible in preparing the children well in their school work and in the sacraments they receive in the same year. My son is doing very well at St. Dorothy School.
1 person found this helpful

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
Please note: questions asked via Facebook are public, and not anonymous. Want to leave a review, instead of ask a question? Click here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Dorothy Elementary School
215 South Valley Center Avenue, Glendora, CA  91741
(626) 335-0772
Last modified St. Dorothy Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
St. Dorothy Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top