Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Kellogg Elementary School 5

Posted September 24, 2015
- a parent
We moved to Santa Barbara/Goleta last year and I was worried about my children adapting to a new school, especially my son who had been to three schools before Kellogg. My children just started their second year at Kellogg (one is in second grade and the other in fourth) and both of them are very happy here. The community is great - there is a lot of parent involvement. The teachers here have also been phenomenal - my son was struggling when we first moved and his third grade teacher was very supportive. The principal, Mrs. Bruzzese, is very active and she is always at every event with a smile. This has been a terrific school for my children and I am really glad we got a chance to be part of the bulldog family!

Kellogg Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 24, 2015
- a parent
Last year Mrs. Oglanian was my son's teacher and she was really great with him. He had some trouble, but she always believed in him and was very caring and compassionate. She truly is an exemplary teacher!


Kellogg Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted September 24, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are very caring, but they do push the children to succeed. They have a fairly smaller school, so they communicate well with each other and the parents.

Kellogg Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted September 24, 2015
- a parent
Kellogg awards kids who do something kind, fair or with integrity a ticket to enter a weekly drawing. My daughter is constantly trying to help and be kind because they really encourage and value it!

Kellogg Elementary School 5

Posted October 11, 2014
- a parent
I was a parent at this school for 10 years. We chose the neighborhood where we lived based on the reputation of this school and we were not disappointed. The parent community is fantastic and the teachers are excellent. We were there for two principals, including the most current who started in Aug. 2012. While the first principal wasn't always the most popular, she ran a stellar school. The new principal is terrific and has kept the same standard of excellence for the school.


Kellogg Elementary School 3

Posted January 27, 2012
- a parent
The Teachers are amazing and Parent Involvement is decent but the Principal is simply unacceptable. She is quite the definition of bully tolerant, and with all of the unfortunate layoffs occurring, one wonders, why hasn't this Principal gotten the boot. Any comments praising her are written by people who do not know her at all!

Kellogg Elementary School 5

Posted January 24, 2011
- a parent
Kellogg is a wonderful school. My son has never been happier and more confident. We see a direct correlation between his time at Kellogg and his new found self-assurredness. The teachers truly make this school. Ms. Knight, the principal is of course a major contributor to the school's success. While some have written less than positive things about her, she runs a tight ship, hires wonderful teachers, and manages the the economics extremely well! The community and family involvement is wonderful!

Kellogg Elementary School 5

Posted June 11, 2010
- a parent
Let me start by saying that those of you who wrote unkind things about Kellogg School's principal - you must not know her very well. She does NOT tolerate bullies in her school and she runs a very tight ship with strong leadership skills. She knows and cares about all of the students at Kellogg and the kids like and respect her. She is highly qualified and well respected by those who know her. I agree that Kellogg has a lot of parental involvment and great teachers, but it would not be the great school that it is without Nancy Knight as its principal. Our family is so fortunate to be part of such a great community.


Kellogg Elementary School 5

Posted June 09, 2010
- a parent
Kellogg is an excellent school. I have had children there for 13 years. The principal is amazing. One of the reasons the school runs so great is because of her. My children love her and my husband and I appreciate all that she does every single day. All of the teachers that my children have had have been excellent. Parent involvement is phenomenal. I love this school and am so privileged to be a part of this community.

Kellogg Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 13, 2010
- a parent
Kellogg is a high achieving school with a broad range of family demographics. The staff is enthusiastic, and the kids feel valued.

Nearby schools

Kellogg Elementary School
475 Cambridge Avenue, Goleta, CA  93117-2141
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (805) 681-1277
Last modified Kellogg Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top