Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


La Patera Elementary School 5

Posted August 06, 2014
- a parent
We have two children at LP and are extremely happy. Our new principal, Dr. Araiza, has brought a fresh change to the school which seems to have spread to the students, staff and families. Families watch out for each other. The students are positive (except for a few, which happens everywhere...) and friendly. The staff seems to enjoy their jobs and are approachable. Teachers are helpful in making suggestions of things parents can do at home to help their children thrive. There is a lot of family involvement and appreciated. It has the comfy feel of a small town school where everyone knows each other. Love it!

La Patera Elementary School 5

Posted November 24, 2013
- a parent
Both of my kids completed all their years of primary school at La Patera. Excellent teachers and an ideal neighborhood school. Much of the reason behind the lower test scores can be attributed to the fact that kids are bussed in from old town Goleta, and most of them are learning English as a second language. The creates a fair representation of our community, and the teachers excel in keeping all kids challenged!


La Patera Elementary School 4

Posted October 03, 2011
- a parent
Very positive school. Excellent teachers that care about their students. Principal is weak, but she's kind. She has a tendency to say whatever pleases the audience (parent, PTA, teacher, school board) and then does something entirely different. She also isn't very involved in the after school programs/shows, etc. Often I have wondered where she was for fundraisers, etc. But, she does care about her school and her students. Programs are challenging and they try to meet the diverse needs of the school.

La Patera Elementary School 4

Posted May 27, 2011
- a parent
I have had 3 kids at La Patera and have found it to be an outstanding school. I cannot speak to other comments below, but as parents we are very involved and present and have seen a staff and principal that are amazingly dedicated and responsive. Great school!

La Patera Elementary School 5

Posted January 11, 2010
- a parent
I had to post after reading the previous comment from someone. The teachers and the principal at La Patera do care and do a tremendous amount in making La Patera a great school. If this parent has a kindergartener then he/she should realize that 5 year olds are not in total control of their bodies and no they are not allowed to beat up on each other. My advice to this person is to get involved, volunteer in the class and see how things work. I am quite impressed with discipline management and the way the staff and teachers are with the kids. My kids are so happy here.


La Patera Elementary School 1

Posted January 03, 2010
- a parent
The principal and some teachers allow students to beat up on each other. The new principal is totally hands-off in dealing with the issue. She says the students will outgrow it! It was a very unsafe environment, and my child's kindergarten teacher had no interest in managing children's behavior. She could care less. Lot's of children from the gang part of Goleta, which unfortunately means bad parenting.

La Patera Elementary School 5

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
The families care about all the children at the school, not just their own. They take steps to bring every child up.

La Patera Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 15, 2009
- a parent
I love La Patera because the staff is great and really cares about our kids. In addition to the state required academics, we are fortunate to have computer, art, science, P.E. and music classes at our school. La Patera is one of the few schools in the district that offers amazing field trips that enhance our children's educational experience including Tall Ships, Rancho El Chorro and CIMI among others. The La Patera students are fortunate to get a well-rounded education. Vote for LP!


La Patera Elementary School 5

Posted September 15, 2009
- a parent
La Patera School is a hidden gem. The teachers, staff and administration really care about our kids and mine have gotten a fantastic education.

La Patera Elementary School 5

Posted September 15, 2009
- a parent
Our teachers are the best!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

La Patera Elementary School
555 North La Patera Lane, Goleta, CA  93117
(805) 681-1280
Last modified La Patera Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
La Patera Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews.