Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Santa Barbara Charter School 5

Posted August 29, 2013
- a parent
We are so happy to have our kids at SB Charter. The emphasis on arts, education, and relationships are really what puts this school ahead of all others. The amazing teachers at this school really work hard at making sure that that the kids are learning socially and emotionally as well as academically. There is no place I would rather have my children. I can't recommend it enough.

Santa Barbara Charter School 5

Posted August 19, 2013
- a parent
We love this school. Great teachers and staff. Very happy with our choice to go and stay at this school!


Santa Barbara Charter School 5

Posted August 19, 2013
- a parent
This is the best school in our area. My daughter has flourished since she started attending it. There is a big emphasis in the development of children as people, not just as students. Arts, music, conflict resolution are some of the things I appreciate about the school. The teachers and staff are all very caring as well; I could not have found a better school for my child!

Santa Barbara Charter School 5

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
Santa Barbara Charter School was a pioneering charter school and now mentors other start-up Charters. A smaller school of about 200 children in K-8, it offers a congenial community and plenty of supervision and involvement. Major school decisions are made by a board of parents, teachers, and administrators, but parents and teacher team to create many different learning experiences. The system of aides used by the school insures a very high adult/child ratio, and makes it possible to offer a higher level of individualized education. As a parent, I enjoy the parents, and love the teachers (especially the K-2 teachers; I have less experience with the rest.)

Santa Barbara Charter School 5

Posted April 11, 2008
- a parent
Amazingly committed, loving teachers. I have been moved to tears during classes, observing the respect and attention to each child. This school helps children retain their love of learning and develop into confident individuals.


Santa Barbara Charter School 5

Posted October 22, 2007
- a parent
I didn't realize until we left SBCS how special it is. The teachers are experienced, kind, and effective. Compassionate classroom management, conflict resolution strategies, and a high level of parent participation impress me so much in comparison to my son's new school. The entire staff knows you and your child and cares about them. Volunteering in the classroom gives you the opportunity to become more integrated into the school community, assist in your child's development, and be aware of what his/her experience is at school. On-site after school care is great for working parents. Field trips are fun and educational. And opportunities for learning and growth in many ability levels are available in the classroom. We miss it very much.

Santa Barbara Charter School 1

Posted December 03, 2006
- a parent
Warning! This school and its leadership are everything but democratic and positive roles for your children.

Santa Barbara Charter School 4

Posted April 25, 2006
- a parent
This has been a good school for my daughter although I feel the academics could be stronger. She is looking for a new school for middle school.


Santa Barbara Charter School 5

Posted June 21, 2004
- a parent
The teachers are exceptional under the leadership of the head of education Bev Abrams, the most committed person I've ever met in education. The school focuses on the whole child's growth emotional as well as intellectual. The school is a true community. My children have since moved on to other schools but the knowledge and examples they set for others due to their Santa Barbara school experience is a tribute to SBCS. Both my children continue to thrive in their present academic environments as well!

Nearby schools

Santa Barbara Charter School
6100 Stow Canyon Road, Goleta, CA  93117
(805) 967-6522
Last modified Santa Barbara Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top