Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-6|Private
270 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 34 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Montessori Center School 5

Posted February 25, 2016
- a parent
I cannot say enough good things about this school. It is a second home to my two boys. They both started at the school since they were 18 months old and have thrived under Montessori philosophy. All the teachers are exceptionally professional, caring and sensitive to the needs of the kids. Additionally, the community of parents is amazing. I love this school and would encourage everyone to take a tour of this beautiful place.

Montessori Center School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted February 03, 2016
- a parent
Thank you to all of the teachers at MCS. They are all different in their styles but they're dedication and love of the students are the things that always come through!


Montessori Center School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted February 03, 2016
- a parent
Montessori isn't about homework but everyone knows that you can't avoid it these days. The homework that our children are given aren't just repetition assignments. They're given options of doing new work, experiments and ways to observe the real world that is then shared in class.

Montessori Center School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted February 03, 2016
- a parent
They do a great job of helping the students to develop a sense of fairness with each other. I really love their philosophies and implementation.

Montessori Center School 5

Posted February 03, 2016
- a parent
I wasn't educated in a Montessori environment but after seeing how my children thrive at Montessori Center School I wish that I had been. They are allowed the freedom to explore a wide range of topics and materials all with the goal of providing a solid education to the child. They truly inspire a love of learning in the child.


Montessori Center School 5

Posted July 20, 2015
- a parent
We are so happy at MCS! The teachers are top notch and really love what they do! The children learn to respect others and interact with children of all ages. Geography, world cultures and the sciences are begun at such an early age that it helps ignite a love of learning. Also, math is taught in such a way that the children can understand the concepts behind it. This will be our sixth year at MCS for our boys and we are very grateful we found such a wonderful school which has both a nurturing and challenging environment.

Montessori Center School 5

Posted October 17, 2014
- a parent
Hands down the BEST school in SB! My daughter is in Navy Door and the teachers in her class and extra curricular classes are fantastic! This school is a real example of education excellence. I highly recommend MCS!

Montessori Center School 5

Posted June 10, 2014
- a parent
I am so glad we found this school for our daughter who has now done about 6 months in pre-primary and 1 academic year in primary. The teachers are the heart of the school and they put a ton of effort into knowing every kid and their needs. The kids are known not just by their own teachers, but by all the teachers. Instruction is individualized and true to the Montessori method of following the child's interests (with some teacher prompting in the right direction of course). Kids, parents and administration staff are wonderful. The campus is beautiful, stimulating and safe with great classroom set up and inviting outdoor spaces. We feel we are getting our money's worth and more with this wonderful learning and life experience for our young daughter. All the classrooms are known by the color of the door. We are in Blue Door and thrilled. Quality seems very consistent across all the classrooms. Thank you, MCS!


Montessori Center School 5

Posted October 04, 2013
- a parent
My son has been at MCS going on 4 years. He is in the Lower Elementary program at the school (1st-3rd grade) and my husband and I honestly couldn't be happier. He is so academically prepared and loves going to school every single day! The teaching staff is so experienced and well trained. The individualized learning and Montessori approach really does work. Outside of the academics I love that there is such a strong emphasis placed on emotional development. The teachers work with children on social skills and modeling peaceful ways of communicating. I so appreciate that he is an environment where he feels safe, heard and respected. The Montessori hands on materials the children get to work with are amazing! They truly seem to make learning fun and exciting. I also like the multi-age aspect. There is so much inner mentoring going on in the classrooms. We really do love Montessori Center and would urge anyone to check out this school for their child.

Montessori Center School 2

Posted October 23, 2012
- a parent
Both of my kids are in this school this year and up until now I'm comparing it to our previous school experience. First, my oldest kid teacher is a non-native speaker. She's nice and kind, but I would hire as a music teacher not primary one. I don't see how my child will improve his/her English like that. This is still ok with me, but the fact that my kid is a 3rd grader combined with first and second graders is way bad. Some of the younger ones can't even read on their own so the whole teacher focus is mostly on them, what am I paying for then??!! My other child which is in primary didn't have this problem as she's in the youngest level. However, the situation is reversed here. The teacher expects her to do everything on her own and keeps complaining to me that I should teach her that at home. Again, my question is why am I then paying ?!!! I've heard good things about the school from parents who are not working, so here is how I see it. The school is great for parents who are not busy, meaning willing to volunteer and be in school at least 5 hours/week . So it's more fun for parents to go to than for those who want to see their kids learning new stuff.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Montessori Center School
401 North Fairview Avenue, Goleta, CA  93117
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. (805) 683-9383
Last modified Montessori Center School is a Private school that serves grades PK-6
Top