Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Danube Avenue Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Granada Hills

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $359,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,770.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 14, 2012

This is a great school.The principal Mrs.Free is very efficient, dedicated and such a nice person. The staff is great especially Ms.Rhea is very polite and cooperative. Teachers are great, especially Mrs.Wiltfong, a fourth grade teacher very efficient and adorable hardworking teacher. No doubt,, this is a great school in Granada Hills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2011

This is a great school. Staff is very helpful!!! I've had a great experinece in the 2 years that my son has been attending this school. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2011

So glad I did my research before sending my son here over 2 years ago now. I'm very pleased with my decision, they have a YMCA on site, great after school programs, Mad Science that my son absolutely loves and an overall sense that they really do strive for excellence and a family feel. Mrs Mahalatti noticed a little trouble with my son's reading and recommended him into a reading program which was tons of help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2011

TERRIFIC TEACHERS AND STAFF. A REAL COMMUNIITY SCHOOL. NEW PRINCIPAL IS CARING. LOVE THE MORNING DROP-OFF PROGRAM. NOTHING BEATS THIS GREAT SCHOOL
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2010

Just using this as an oportunity to share witheveryone: Im a parent of 4 Boys that 3 graduated from Danube and my last one is Graduating this year!!!!! Thank you to the best school principal Ms. Geier such blessing to have you and thank you for the quality work of your teachers! This year as a big reward having Ms Carrillo as my child's teacher is truly an honor, I see her dedication her passion for teaching and her support and kindness as a person. Can't thank you enogh for the big steps of advance that my son has taken, not only that but he feels secure, confiident and good about him self! you guys are a great teem!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2009

starting out last year as parents of a 5 year old and as nervous as we were visiting the various schools, Danube Elementary proved to be an excellent choice. The Principal, K Teachers and facalty could not be more informed and prepaired to inspire the children. My child is acheiving her goals in reading and writing among others and we are blessed to have come into contact with such an academically enriched program. Thank you all
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2009

As a parent of a 3rd Grader and a Kinder student, I can not stop talking about the school. I am very blessed to be a part of such institution. From Mrs. Geier to the last employee employee at Danube, that takes care of my kids, Thank You, you are truly our second family. My husband and I are very proud to be a part of it. To the PTA members and parents involved, thank you, I really see the change from few years ago, great team now!! And we can not forget the awards, that just speak for themselves! CONGRATULATIONS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2008

This is the first year my daughter has been at Danube, she is Special Needs, she is advancing on a daily basis, this school has been a blessing to my daughter and our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2008

as a parent of a kinder student ,a 3rd grader and of a graduate of the school i would like to say i am very pleased to be a part of such a wonderful school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2008

My fifth grade child just graduated & attended Danube since Kinder, he absolutely LOVED Danube. The principal, teachers, students & staff are truly the best. I had heard a few bad things before about the PTA, but it seems that after a few changes, it has really gotten better. I have attended a few PTA meetings, and they really try to make everyone feel welcome and at home. Not only do the teachers make an effort to connect with the children, but even the principal takes time to listen to any parent or child that has a concern or suggestion. I have 2 other children still in Danube, and I am thrilled to know they are in a great school environment. I am surprised to see some of these parents complaining about the school. I do nothing but brag about Danube to everyone. The awards Danube just received are well deserved!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2008

This year has been the best year for my child. She just finished the fifth grade and she would not stop raving about her wonderful techer. Im not afraid to say her name. It wa Ms. Lopez. She gave my daughter confidence I never thought she had. She inspired her to work hard and just enjoy school. The teachers at Danube have always put the kids first and that's evident every year. I am proud to recommend this school to all of my girlfriends and parents i see around. Danube will be greatly missed and my daughter and I will always hold Danube in our hearts. Thank you Mrs. Geier and Ms. Lopez!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2008

WOW! Congratulations Danube Avenue Elementary School!! Danube has won the Title 1 Academic Achievement Award this year as well as the honor of being one of California's Distinguished Schools! I know it is because of the awesome administration and their ability to recognize problems and take care of them in a timely manner. It is also due to the wonderful staffs great ability of working and collaborating together as a team. Danube is also very lucky to have such a supportive community and PTA that helps out and keeps the school as one of the BEST in California. Only 48 elementary schools in ALL of California have won both of these titles and Danube is one of them! I have been a staff member at Danube for many years and if I did have children I would be proud to send them to Danube!


Posted March 14, 2008

I've had one child pass through Danube, and have another in first grade. I agree with the person who said that you don't hear about problems until they're larger than they should be: my daughter ended up having to be tutored in Math and Reading in the fifth grade. Her fifth grade teacher told me half-way through the year she was having problems. There are some good teachers, but I think the teachers tend to be overwhelmed. One or two teachers have admitted they have to teach to the tests California requires rather than *teaching* the kids to learn. Often I wonder how much my children learned at school. The current administration is okay, but I got the feeling there were tensions among the staff after the new principal took over. There's a new afterschool program that seems to be keeping children more organized.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2008

I find that the teachers are very relaxed in their class. I believe that this is true because they have been teaching the same grade for far too long. I would like for teachers to be involved with programs that would get them out of their current routing. I believe that they are over worked. With all the teaching and learning that is taking place in today s class rooms, I believe that teachers need more support in the class rooms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2007

I agree with the poor reviews I've just read. My experience has not been very good over the past 5 years. The teachers present problems with school work as the parents fault, *always*. You also never hear about a problem before it becomes a huge issue. Teachers are disconnected from the students and the parents and I have found the administration to be needlessly defensive. Disciplining bullies and discouraging bad behavior also seems to be a growing problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2007

I find that few teachers have the caring/nurturing qualities I am looking for in an elementary school and I find the administration to be very relaxed about disciplining bullies on campus. Supervision during recess, lunch, and after school is poor. Most teachers have low expectations of students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2007

Safety and discipline of the children is not a top priority.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2007

I'm concerend about the lack of student supervison.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2006

Although some excellent teachers have retired in the last few years, the new teachers at Danube are very good. The principal is caring and nurturing; an excellent administrator.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2006

The principal needs to make sure that the school doesn't lose good, quality teachers. During the past couple of years, some of the best teachers at the school have left, and their replacements, along with some of the existing teachers, lack classroom management, and quality teaching skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

848

Change from
2012 to 2013

-12

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

8 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

848

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-12

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
46%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
40%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students56%
Females58%
Males54%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged48%
Non-economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability59%
English learner47%
Fluent-English proficient and English only60%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate33%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)68%
Parent education - college graduate74%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students52%
Females42%
Males59%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino44%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged48%
Non-economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability52%
English learner53%
Fluent-English proficient and English only52%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate22%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduate74%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students48%
Females50%
Males46%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino43%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Non-economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability52%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only52%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented79%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate45%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)44%
Parent education - college graduate61%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students80%
Females63%
Males93%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino76%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability81%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate68%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)82%
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students67%
Females74%
Males63%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino66%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged67%
Non-economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability69%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate57%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)74%
Parent education - college graduate55%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students75%
Females85%
Males68%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino75%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged69%
Non-economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability75%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented95%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate69%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)74%
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students65%
Females71%
Males57%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged66%
Non-economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability65%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate72%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students78%
Females82%
Males74%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged75%
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability78%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate78%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)78%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students68%
Females68%
Males68%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino68%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged64%
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability69%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented95%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate61%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 75%
White 13%
Black 4%
Asian 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 72%N/AN/A
English language learners 20%N/AN/A

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012
The Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD) School Experience Survey asks parents, students and employees about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, engaging, safe, and collaborative. Learn more

We organized questions from the LAUSD School Experience Survey into five categories. The respondent group-level results (parents, students, and school employees) show the percent of each respondent group that agree or strongly agree that the school has positive results for that category.

Overall school results for each category are calculated by averaging across group-level results, ensuring that each respondent group is equally represented. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all LAUSD schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the LAUSD survey »Close
Based on 496 responses

This school provides ... 1

High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and students that agree to strongly agree that this school sets high academic expectations for its students and expects them to be college-bound. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Future Expectations (Parents), School Quality (Parents), Future Plans (Parents), Opportunities For Learning (Students), Future Plans (Students).

Close
 
This school
76%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
71%
 

Students

This school

 
82%
 
Healthy, respectful relationshipsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a positive learning environment and cultivates an atmosphere of respect. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Support (Students), Commitment and Collaboration (Employees), Satisfaction (Students), School Support (Students).

Close
 
This school
88%
agree
 

Students

This school

 
81%
 

Employees

This school

 
94%
 
A safe, clean and orderly environmentWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents, students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a well-kept facility and a safe environment conducive to learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Cleanliness (Employees), School Safety (Employees), Safety (Parents), School Cleanliness (Students), School Safety (Students).

Close
 
This school
82%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
91%
 

Students

This school

 
70%
 

Employees

This school

 
87%
 
Strong family engagementWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school engages parents and communicates with families to promote student learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Parent Involvement (Employees), Feeling of Welcome (Parents), School Involvement (Parents), Teacher to Parent Communication (Parents).

Close
 
This school
81%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
70%
 

Employees

This school

 
93%
 
Teacher support and opportunities for collaborationWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of employees that agree to strongly agree that this school ensures that teachers work well together, learn from one another, have opportunities for professional development and feel supported by the administration. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Evaluation (Employees), Opportunities for Involvement (Employees), Professional Development (Employees), Resource Allocation (Employees), Teacher Collaboration and Data Use (Employees).

Close
 
This school
80%
agree
 

Employees

This school

 
80%
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents22959%
Students22993%
Employees3873%

12012-13 Los Angeles Unified School District School Experience Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Danika Free
Fax number
  • (818) 363-4047

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11220 Danube Avenue
Granada Hills, CA 91344
Website: Click here
Phone: (818) 366-6463

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Haskell Elementary School
Granada Hills, CA




De La Salle
Los Angeles, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT