Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Terrace Hills Middle School

Public | 7-8

 
 

Living in Grand Terrace

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $182,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,120.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2014

Terrace Hills Middle School. I like the location of the school and the food that my children receive. I would like for this school to consider giving out home work for summer, winter, and spring break to help the children keep up with their studies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2013

i didn't even speak english when i attended this school, but with the help of my helpful teachers and classmates, i learned quickly. today i am almost a lawyer. the teachers, assistants, admin staff and security guys had all helped me one way or another. it saddens me i am no longer in touch with any of my fellow classmates from back then and it doesn't appear my old teachers are still there. anyone know Ms. Mark who taught ESL english? Mr. Johnson who taught math? Mr. Walker, the funny science teacher? Mr. Lambert who taught 8th grade science? Mr. Lane who taught history? there was also a young, tall, white, male teacher with glasses who taught English, i cannot even remember his name anymore, but he really showed patience in helping me. thank you very much, my first school in America


Posted July 30, 2011

i liked this school (: good two years of my life, you'll make friends pretty easily. The teachers are pretty laid back (:


Posted April 30, 2009

I did not like this school the teachers did not get involved


Posted February 25, 2009

I do not like this school my son went there and he did not like it
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2009

This school has many dedicated teachers, who offer their own free time to tutor, before and after school, as well as during nutrition and lunch. The administration is absolutely awesome. They work until late in the evenings and weekends. The counseling department meets with every student to discuss and plan high school, college and career. Parents are invited to these meetings too. I have seen students excel at this school, then return years later thanking the staff for all they have done to prepare them for society. Keep up the good job staff and families!


Posted February 17, 2009

Very poor communication with teachers and administration. I have tried repeated to resolve unposted grade issues, unavailable tests missed due to absences, and finals based on a paragraph....etc. I gave up and moved my child straight out of the district!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2008

its the greatest school in the world!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2007

THMS has fantastic opportunities and classes for both student who need extra help and students who are advanced. I found great classes, strict safety practices, and strong curriculum there. Parent involvement completely drops off from the elementary school with only 5 people regularly attending the PTSA meetings and doing all the support work. The principal was one of the 5.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2007

Teachers here are abandoning the students in favor of wrangling better pay out of the district. My child has had more substitutes this year at this school than she has ever had in her entire academic career.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2007

I think that this school is OK. Other than the fact that some of the teachers don't really care what the kids do in class or just can't control them and that the dress code is much to strict it is an OK place. But the class discipline needs to be better.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 11, 2006

The teachers that my children have had, really care about the students, and do a fantastic job. I realize that money is an issue, but I would like to see more extracurricular activities. It seems as though the district or the state keep taking fun things out of the school, and focuses only on testing. Overall, my experience, as well as my kids' experience have been wonderful.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 30, 2005

The school is over populated. Has teachers who don't teach, and looks more like a day jail for children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2005

I went to this school and all my kids are or will go there to . It is a great school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

The principal this last year needs to be replaced. The previous prinipal care about the kids. This one doesnt care. She pushes everything off on other people. The core system has to go. You have one bad teacher and the child is stuck with the teacher. I have been at the school for 3 years with 3 more to go. If I can find a better school my kids are gone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2005

I am not happy with this school. There is not enought extra curricular activities such at Track and field etc. Kids at this age need these things. Accademics are not very intense here either. We are not keeping kids interested in school and they will soon be sent to Colton High from here and that is really going to be a mess. An unhappy parent in Grand Terrace of a now 8th Grader We are exploring new avenues for this next school yr.Grand Terrace is failing us. and it will only get worse with these new housing tracks coming in. Loading up our schools and we don't even have a High School...go figure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2004

I am not happy with the curriculum that is offered. They do not do an adequte job on testing the children to find the right spot for them. Staffing if non effective and teachers are satified with just ok. Not one teacher has looked to excel either of my children to their utmost potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2004

I wasn't thrilled with school in 2000-2001 son's 1st yr), but 8th grade was great and daughter's experience (2002-2004)has been very good also. Many teachers are excellent/current principal's leadership excellent. Difficult to get parent involvement though--commend faculty for continued effort. Some excellent teachers here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2003

Terrace Hills Middle School is a great school. Their advanced classes are exelent. They also have several extraculicular activities to motivate their student. It has been a great experience to attend Terrace Hills.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 28, 2003

Our schools need more parent involvement. I am pleased to see the parents that have responded on this Web site. I believe that our teachers and parents need to work together to help our children get the quality education they deserve. Keep up the good work. Mark Hoover.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

780

Change from
2012 to 2013

-7

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

5 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

780

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-7

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

5 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
50%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

397 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
54%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

381 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

210 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
22%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

409 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
48%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

227 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
7%

2011

 
 
7%

2010

 
 
2%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

15 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
61%
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

453 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
37%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

410 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students85%
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability86%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented92%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students50%
Females52%
Males49%
African American36%
Asian78%
Filipino64%
Hispanic or Latino49%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)57%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Non-economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disability46%
Students with no reported disability51%
English learner14%
Fluent-English proficient and English only53%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented86%
Parent education - not a high school graduate37%
Parent education - high school graduate46%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)52%
Parent education - college graduate56%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate64%
Parent education - declined to state42%

Math

All Students44%
Females46%
Males43%
African American28%
Asian53%
Filipino91%
Hispanic or Latino42%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)55%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Non-economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disability33%
Students with no reported disability45%
English learner14%
Fluent-English proficient and English only47%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented87%
Parent education - not a high school graduate33%
Parent education - high school graduate45%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)41%
Parent education - college graduate55%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate65%
Parent education - declined to state33%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students54%
Females57%
Males51%
African American71%
Asian92%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)51%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Non-economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability53%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only54%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented72%
Parent education - not a high school graduate55%
Parent education - high school graduate48%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)52%
Parent education - college graduate61%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate69%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students47%
Females52%
Males42%
African American54%
Asian94%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino40%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)55%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Non-economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disability29%
Students with no reported disability48%
English learner3%
Fluent-English proficient and English only51%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented84%
Parent education - not a high school graduate39%
Parent education - high school graduate32%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)53%
Parent education - college graduate58%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate73%
Parent education - declined to state18%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students23%
Females21%
Males25%
African American10%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino22%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)35%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Non-economically disadvantaged18%
Students with disability6%
Students with no reported disability28%
English learner21%
Fluent-English proficient and English only23%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate17%
Parent education - high school graduate22%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)29%
Parent education - college graduate14%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state23%

Geometry

All Students73%
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability73%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented75%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students49%
Females44%
Males54%
African American57%
Asian83%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino43%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)54%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Non-economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disability22%
Students with no reported disability53%
English learner10%
Fluent-English proficient and English only53%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented85%
Parent education - not a high school graduate28%
Parent education - high school graduate34%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)55%
Parent education - college graduate68%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate69%
Parent education - declined to state33%

Science

All Students66%
Females65%
Males66%
African American57%
Asian94%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino62%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Non-economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disability47%
Students with no reported disability66%
English learner29%
Fluent-English proficient and English only68%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented95%
Parent education - not a high school graduate57%
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate80%
Parent education - declined to state35%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 61% 52%
White 20% 26%
Black 9% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 11%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 11%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 8%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

22579 Deberry Street
Grand Terrace, CA 92313
Phone: (909) 580-5022

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Uhs Blue Mountain Academy
Grand Terrace, CA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT