Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Willma Cavitt Junior High School

Public | 7-8 | 380 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 20, 2013

The children bully each other and the parents and staff are in a state of complete denial. Excessive homework and oppressive environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2012

Teachers, Resources and Principal are fantastic. Parents are in denial about bully problem and not involved. It is the same 10- or so parents who are frequently involved at the school. Rumors are abound with lack of supervision of parents at home. It is a shame because the faculty is superb.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2010

I am a 7th grade parent and I need to commend them for the balance they keep between being highly supportive of students and maintaining high standards for students. I also love the Principal as she is visible, seems to enjoy the students and really cares for each student and family. I cannot recommend this school more - it is a wonderful junior high!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2010

The teachers are amazing, but if I could change two things, it would be the campus and the school colors.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 14, 2009

My husband and I agree Cavitt is a great school. The classes are challenging, yet fun. My kids all have fond memories of their time at Cavitt. I still have one going there, and like the older ones, he too will be well prepared for GBHS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2009

After reading the most recent review; I just had to say something. Last night was the graduation ceremony for the 8th graders. All I can say is that we have been delighted with Cavitt! The ceremony was wonderful, just like the 2 years we've been there. The teachers are all friendly and a cohesive group. All you had to do was see them all sitting there with the principal and asst. principal to know that. We have never found the teachers to be rude. I heard a parent complain that a teacher may be strict or that they have such high expectations or that they enforce the dress code.....isn't that what we want for our kids. Clearly, that shows they care! Keep up the great work Cavitt; we'll miss you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2009

The teachers are rude. My student went on independent studies when we were out of town and the teacher forgot to give her something so he failed her on it! She NEVER even received the assignment! When I go into the office no one even acknowledges me. There are fights way to often. I feel like they are not very organized and need to be more on top of things.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2009

I am so impressed with how the school handled a situation yesterday as they notified all families that we needed to have discussions with our children regarding respect and cooperation. The office staff and adminstration is easily accessible and has worked with us on a couple of different sitautions. Though there are areas to be improved, we are highly pleased with the level of care the teachers, administrators and other staff demonstrate for our child and the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2009

I have had wonderful expierences this year with the adminstration and teachers. I have been impressed with the level of communication from the office and the high expectations the staff have for students. There are things that have to be worked on; but, I know that they are focusing on improvement under the new leadership. Thank goodness I didn't listen to the gossip - it's been wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2009

I gave this school 2 stars because it has great science teachers and a few great core teachers. Other than that, this school needs so many changes I can't even begin to list them all. The culture is oppressive, the math department is sub-par, and the administration needs a shake up. Fortunately the district knows and might be working on something.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2009

We have had a very positive experience at Cavitt this year. Our daughter is about to finish 7th grade, and her GPA has gone UP this year and she feel much more confident academically. Her test-taking skills have also risen. The new principal is wonderful, and most of the teachers are fantastic. The few times we've contacted the school about any concerns, they have been addressed immediately. My daughter enjoys Cavitt a lot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2006

So far, we've been very happy with this school. My daughter has an IEP, so we are very involved in her daily educational needs. She had a slightly bumpy start....placement with the wrong type of core teacher, but the school listened and has done everything possible to make this a good transition for our daughter from elementary school. They revised her entire schedule to better accommodate her needs. We are very happy so far!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2006

Fantastic school. The teachers my daughter had were wonderful, they were very enthusiastic, involved and supportive. The teacher moral is outstanding! The principal is also very supportive and involved. Great experience!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2006

I loved Cavitt. The teachers were approacheable and concerned. The school is in a beautiful and safe location. We used to go swimming at Folsom Lake for P.E. lessons!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 1, 2006

Great school, truly pleased with the Teachers and Administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2006

Cavitt is the greatest school ever becuase it has the best teachers, the nicest campus, and the most perfect students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 7, 2005

This school is fantastic. I attend there and I am in 7th grade!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 31, 2005

I have two girls attending 7th grade, and I have attended most of the school functions for parents, both with and without my children present. I have also met most of their teachers. In general, I have been impressed by the intelligence and dedication of the teachers. I have also been pleased with the level and quality of homework I see coming home every night. At one of the intro meetings for parents at the beginning of the school year we were told that we would be directly contacted 'at least once or twice by every teacher at some point during the year'. I believe we have been contacted once, by one teacher. I am not too concerned with this, however, since my girls seem to be doing very well anyway. My wife has had more contact than I with the school, so please consider my comments in that context.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

931

Change from
2012 to 2013

+5

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

8 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

931

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+5

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

188 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
51%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

170 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
86%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
46%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
84%
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

177 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

169 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students97%
Femalesn/a
Males96%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability97%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only97%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate95%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students86%
Females86%
Males86%
African Americann/a
Asian83%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students80%
Females76%
Males82%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability82%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate85%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students79%
Females80%
Males77%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability78%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)77%
Parent education - college graduate74%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate84%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students89%
Females90%
Males88%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability90%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)81%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students55%
Females55%
Males56%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)59%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disability29%
Students with no reported disability67%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only58%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate58%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate67%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Students97%
Females100%
Males95%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability97%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only97%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students80%
Females74%
Males83%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino58%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disability27%
Students with no reported disability84%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students93%
Females92%
Males92%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability93%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only92%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)88%
Parent education - college graduate93%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 80%
Hispanic 7%
Asian 6%
Two or more races 4%
Black 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 5%N/AN/A
English language learners 2%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Jennifer Platt
Fax number
  • (916) 791-7414

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7200 Fuller Drive
Granite Bay, CA 95746
Website: Click here
Phone: (916) 791-4152

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Placer Learning Center
Granite Bay, CA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT