Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Greenhills Elementary School

Public | PK-3 | 407 students

Strong Community Spirit
 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Granite Bay

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $505,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,120.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

50 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 24, 2013

My son just started kindergarten here and I have so many amazing things to say about this school:-) not only his the teacher, Mrs.Young, she is an amazing teacher so far and really cares about the kids overall and individually as well. The academics are great:-) even have a spanish class for the kids this early:-) the school district is voted one of the best in the state in all kinds of ways:-) not to mention the cuts that most schools have its not happening here. The lunch program is delicious and amazing- Revolution foods is the vendor preparing our kids meals fresh from local chefs, not frozen food or processed food either! :-) also not to mention Sami Kader, whom I went to school with, will be teaching the physical fitness here!:-) he also does all ages work outs at a local church, search him on facebook:-) I am volunteering at his school for many things and look forward to seeing more amazing stuff from the staff, school and the future that will benefit my son from going here :-) Gp Cubs!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2012

I am surprised by this review. We have a complete team of dedicated professionals that work hard to support all students. We are fortunate to still be able to have Resource Specialist Teacher, Reading Lab Teacher, Psychologist, Counselor and Full Inclusion Teachers. We regularly hold team meetings to intervene as a first line of support. We hold SST (Student Success Teams) and have additional professionals involved for students who have IEP Individual Education Plans. I constantly check in with teachers regarding student progress; both academic and social/emotional. All teachers hold conferences with all parents in Oct, and if a child is struggling, in the Spring too. We keep parents informed through phone conferences, emails, (sometimes daily) and in person. This is a dedicated group of teachers. OK - I see merit in the Lunch Program comment. The quality provided to us by the vendor has dropped. We are currently re-negotiating the contract. We need to do better. Our M.A. program is explained to each incoming family. They are provided a brochure and offered a tour of the program. It is a highly successful and sought after program. Feel free to contact me. P Towne
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 13, 2012

This schools attitude to anything, or anyone, requiring a little extra attention is horrible. After finally getting a conference in the first half of the year that we had to fight for we sat down and discussed concerns with the teacher. The principle cancelled at the door. At the end of the year the teacher told us that she had wished someone had spoken to her and expressed concern in the beginning of the year... Way to go there teacher. The hot lunch program left nutrition behind at the sugar factory. Someone else mentioned a multi-age program. Which is what our son came from in another district. The program in the other district was wonderful and helpful. The staff at Greenhills gave us almost blank stares and told us that sounded like a pretty good idea. Never once were we told the program existed at Greenhills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2012

We love this school. My child had a fabulous first year. I just wished there were healthier food choices at the cafeteria and more sports/clubs offered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2011

My only problem with this school is that it ends at third grade! We wish it could keep kids till 6th grade. The Principal is simply wonderful. Always welcoming and full of help. Hope the in coming parents will continue the great volunteer efforts to help keep this school a wonderful place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2011

I wouldn't dream of sending my kids anywhere else. I have had the BEST experience with all the teachers and staff at Greenhills. When issues have been brought to the teacher or principals attention, action was taken right away. I feel confident and secure that my kids get the care, education and love that every parent wants for their child. Awesome, awesome, awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2011

My daughter loved this school and had a good experience. However, I feel that the parental involvement is what makes this school so great. They have some wonderful teachers but there also a few that are not- so-great and need to retire. Did not find the principal to be receptive to constructive criticism.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2010

Greenhills is an exceptional place. Principal Towne creates an inspiring environment. His door is always open and he is willing to listen and take action. The special education department, led by Terry Lauer and Cindy McCullough, have been fantastic to work with. Dad's club is a great way to stay involved. Of course the teachers are second to none and I could not think of a better place to send our child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

Our children have attended this school for years. We enjoy the teachers and office staff tremendously. They are the greatest. The children have enjoyed learning and growing socially. Wish we had more kids to continue going through this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

the attention, the special care and the academic curriculum are excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

Greenhills School puts so much effort into not only the academics needs or our student, but the character building needs as well. Children are taught the academics they need to know, but they are also taught to respect each other. Greenhills has an incredible team of teachers who care about kids. They are led by a great principal who inspires the teachers, and have the admiration of the children. It's just a wonderful environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

It is a kind and caring place to work as well as send your kids to school. The teachers are here for the kids and everything they do is for kids in mind. Parents are very supportive and very helpful in the classroom and outside the classroom.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 23, 2010

My daughter loves it! How many schools have yoga, garden, science, parties, school wide book readings, fun runs, and such great staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

You will be hard pressed to find a parent who does not love Greenhills. It offers the full package to our children...talented and dedicated teachers, friendly and efficient staff, involved parents and community, and our fantastic principle, Mr. Towne. It truly is a school that offers our childrens a safe, caring, and loving community while getting an amazing education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

It's the BEST school because of the amazing dedication of the teachers and the parent involvement. My girls have loved every minute!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

Teachers are amazing!!! Programs and community is just great!!! Really attentive and caring for all students and their families!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

Greenhills is a school that feels like home! You are always welcome to come and be a part of this family. This is my last years at this school and it makes me sad. Great memories!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

It is a GREAT school; tremendous teachers and faculty;


Posted April 21, 2010

Greenhills is a wonderful school with amazing teachers and faculty. Principal Towne always goes above and beyond to make sure all students feel special and are kept safe. Great school spirit!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

This is the best school on the planet. Plain and simple! Our teachers rock, our principal, Mr. Towne, rocks, and our kids rock!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

884

Change from
2012 to 2013

-28

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

6 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

884

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-28

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students78%
Females82%
Males73%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disability67%
Students with no reported disability81%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduate84%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate91%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students82%
Females84%
Males80%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Non-economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disability71%
Students with no reported disability85%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)70%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students73%
Females83%
Males63%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Non-economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disability56%
Students with no reported disability76%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)57%
Parent education - college graduate69%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate90%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students81%
Females81%
Males81%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disability65%
Students with no reported disability84%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)62%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 26%
Hispanic 11% 52%
Two or more races 11% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 11%
Black 1% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 11%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • California Business for Education Honor School Awad (2011)

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Performance stage
Clubs
  • Art club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 2:55 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Peter Towne
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Fax number
  • (916) 791-4212

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Multi-aged
  • Project-based
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Boy scouts
  • Girl scouts
  • Robotics club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Greenhills parents are expected to volunteer at least 10 hours per year to their school.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Ridgeview, Excelsior, Olympus, Granite Bay high
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8200 Greenhills Way
Granite Bay, CA 95746
Website: Click here
Phone: (916) 791-4230

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Placer Learning Center
Granite Bay, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT