Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bear River High School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 17, 2015
- a parent
Principal Besler has done an outstanding job here this year with her leadership at Bear River. Her weekly reports have given a fresh introduction at things taking place at the school and tell everyone that things are really happening at this school.

Bear River High School 5

Posted November 17, 2015
- a parent
This has been a really great school for our family. The teachers have been really top-notch with the exception of one who now retired. We have our third child graduating from Bear River now. The August 20, 2015 review by a student has some errors. There are actually four math teachers, two Spanish teachers, but the student is correct that the kids can learn football here - in addition to water polo and baseball and soccer and volleyball and wrestling. This school also has an awesome Ag program including Ag Mechanics, and the kids build things and take them to the county fair. There is a boatload of clubs for kids to join and be part of. There is a lot to offer at this nice-sized, safe school.


Bear River High School 2

Posted August 20, 2015
- a student
The only thing this school has that is decent, is sports. So for someone more academically oriented, this school is worthless. There are few teachers, and few classes, and there is usually only one teacher who teaches a certain course. So if you don't get the way that teacher is teaching, if you don't understand, tough luck. There's no one else you can switch to. The periods that courses are offered is highly limited and if you have a class you can't stand, you probably won't be able to leave it because there is either no space, or no other classes are offered during that period that you want to switch out of. It's ridiculous. There's one spanish teacher, 2 math teachers (but they teach different things, when one teaches one thing the other teacher won't offer it), and the list goes on (well not really because there aren't that many teachers). The school looks nice but if you want to have the option to learn something that is going to help you in life, from someone other than one person who may or may not be a good educator, then go somewhere else. The education here is terrible. But if you like football, they can teach you that! -_-

Bear River High School 5

Posted October 22, 2014
- a student
Quite honestly, I love this school. It is not perfect, but it is unique, quirky, and I am very proud to be a Bear River Bruin. All of the classes, electives, clubs, etc, are fairly average. Students are average, teachers are average, and you can expect your student to get a fairly well-rounded and wholesome education on their own. However there is a whole second side to the student population - that is the AP classes. The AP classes are outstanding. The teachers are great and interact with their students on a more personal, fun, level. The students who take more than one AP class tend to have solid friendships, grades, and a good relationship with the school and their peers. The history teachers Mr. Carrow and Mr. MacDonald are particularly outstanding, and the same outstandingness can be applied to Mrs. Weir's AP classes and to Mr. Tapia. These, and many many more at the school that I have not had a chance to interact with, are Very excellent, student-engaged teachers who do their job incredibly well. It seems to be, from a students perspective, that these teachers treat it as much more than a job, but as a career that can and will change students lives for the better.

Bear River High School 5

Posted June 01, 2014
- a parent
Bear River is an awesome small town school filled with hundreds of successful kids. The staff is amazing, the extra curricular activities are amazing and the school is a great place to learn.


Bear River High School 5

Posted July 13, 2013
- a parent
Bear River High School has been wonderful for my freshman daughter. She is an academically advanced student and the school has offered lots of opportunity and support. Her teachers this year were all good or excellent. There doesn't seem to be an extensive bullying problem, though there is the usual teenage drama,. I am very pleased with our family's decision to get an inter-county transfer and send her to BRHS. Otherwise, she would have been at Colfax or Placer, both of which seem to be good schools, too.

Bear River High School 4

Posted April 25, 2011
- a parent
I agree with the last review. Anytime I've expressed concern over my student's performance, the teachers have been quick to respond to me and more than willing to help my child get back on track. No High School is perfect, but I love this school, I love this community, and I'm proud to send my children to Bear River and the nearby Middle and Elementary schools.

Bear River High School 2

Posted February 16, 2010
- a parent
And to add to my last comment, the Special Ed teacher, Mrs. Smith is great. Mr. Bohrer is also great. And Mr. Crosselin is great. All of these teachers respond to parents communications and put forth the effort to help the students succeed, while many others seem to not care about doing their jobs with any effort or communicating with parents.


Bear River High School 5

Posted April 03, 2009
- a parent
This was the best choice ever! Even my daughter was a victim of her so-called-friends, it was dealt with quickly and swiftly, the kids involved WERE punished and it end that quick. The class sizes are great, she loves this school and has learned far more here than in Penn Valley! So glad we moved her to this area.

Bear River High School 1

Posted November 25, 2008
- a parent
This school is horrible. The thing about I hate the most is their 'bullying' tolerance. My son was constantly bullied by many older boys and I told the school and they did little about except talk to the bullies and try to get them to stop. The bullies were punished in no way and they continued to pick on my son. I am extremely unsatisfied with this school....Find a private school....

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bear River High School
11130 Magnolia Road, Grass Valley, CA  95949-8366
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. (530) 268-3700
Last modified Bear River High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top