Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Newton Middle School 5

Posted August 16, 2014
- a community member
This is the best school I have ever attended. It was easily the best three years of my life. I recently promoted this May, and am sad to have left the school. The current principal genuinely cares about the school and her students. She's always on top of things, informing parents weekly of what's going on at the school, and is always making sure her students and her school are safe. The teachers here are excellent. They're always very enthusiastic and seem to actually enjoy teaching. I've never heard of a "bad" teacher here. The office manager and assistant are also very courteous and helpful. The sports teams are also amazing. The coaches are always nice, make sure that their athletes have at least the minimum GPA requirement, and make sure that their athletes have great citizenship. The band has also always gotten superior ratings in what they call "festival". Dropping off and picking up students is also very easily done for both parents and students (thanks to the principal and vice principal). I definitely recommend this school to everyone since the staff seemed to like what they do and be there for the well being of every single student. Go big blue! <3

Newton Middle School 5

Posted February 23, 2014
- a parent
How to describe Newton Middle School in Hacienda Heights? SAFE, ALWAYS CHALLENGING AND MOTIVATING STUDENTS THROUGH ACADEMICS, ARTS, SPORTS, COMMUNITY INVOLVEMENT, MUSIC, TECHNOLOGY AND SCHOOL ACTIVITIES. Teachers are caring, nurturing and always working hard to help students be successful. At Newton, you will find many teachers involved in after school programs preparing students for competitions, events or giving academic support/tutoring. Dr. Angela Lin, Newton's Principal has an open door policy. She is easy to reach and talk to. She listens to your concerns and finds the best solution by always keeping in mind the best interest of the student. Dr. Lin is very supportive of her students, staff and parents. Don't be surprised to see her encouraging students at a game, band festival, serving root beer floats and thanking the students for their hard work in academics and behavior. Motivating students to always do better by being responsible, respectful, studious, polite and safe. The front office staff welcomes everyone with professionalism. This is a very UNIQUE school with MAGNIFICENT STAFF AND STUDENTS! GREAT GATE /HONORS PROGRAM. GO KNIGHTS!


Newton Middle School 4

Posted January 06, 2013
- a parent
very nice school. teachers are above average and caring. staff is nice too. they are easy on grades though, everyone has a 4.0 GPA, ha ! safe and good students, no gang stuff like La Puente schools. parents are involved. it is a great place to grow up in during those pre-teen years. my middle school growing up had drugs, sex, and gangs. so this school is a breath of fresh air to have around. keep it up.

Newton Middle School 4

Posted January 09, 2011
- a community member
I am a graduate of Newton, and there was hardly any racism... and if there was, they were all made in jokes or fun. There's no serious racism, the person down there who had posted that review obviously does not know what they're talking about. By the way, I'm Asian.

Newton Middle School 4

Posted February 09, 2010
- a student
I'm in 7th grade and really this school doesn't have much cliqeus. There are sports teams. and cheer, and a dance team which i'm on it's great we get to dance instead of p.e. theres lots of school dances, and the teacher are really nice and it's easy to have a connection with them. the worst thing is the noon aids at the sschool they are the most retarted people in the whole world. it isn't ghetto but it's mostly mexicans and if your white you do get made fun of at a daily basis. and asian too. people are cool. theres hardly fights but when theere is the principle and counsler deal with it and have punishments. i love going here. but we could use more field trips. :)


Newton Middle School 5

Posted February 04, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Newton Middle School 5

Posted December 13, 2009
- a student
The students at this school are great to hang around with, and the classes make it seem very easy to learn. I used to get several Ds and an F at my old school, and over at Newton, I've been getting straight As ever since school started. This school is great.

Newton Middle School 4

Posted November 09, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Newton Middle School 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
In the last few years newton has really grown and improved. My son is in the 7th grade and loves his teachers, the atmosphere is that of collective achievement. I have never encountered a school so dedicated to improving their students...Newton is the best

Newton Middle School 0
no rating

Posted March 26, 2009
- a student
I really love this school, it has a lot of opportunties for kids- like myself. And us Knights Rock!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Newton Middle School
15616 Newton Street, Hacienda Heights, CA  91745
(626) 933-2400
Last modified Newton Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Newton Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top