Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Kings Mountain Elementary School 5

Posted April 19, 2012
- a parent
King's Mountain is a great small K-5 public school off of Skyline Blvd. in the Redwoods above Half Moon Bay. The wooded site reminds me of a Boy Scout camp. With about 80 students, every teacher knows all the students and vice versa. The Parents Association is very active and hires aides to assist in the classroom as well as music and science. Many of the coastsiders carpool so don't be too concerned with the distance. Everyone is very supportive and approachable.

Kings Mountain Elementary School 5

Posted October 18, 2011
- a community member
I personally went to this school when it was K-6th !!!! yes back in the day and it was awesome then. My children then started off their education there education there as well. What a community effort. A true testament to " it takes a small village to raise a child" Jeanette Bengtsson Beard


Kings Mountain Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted November 11, 2009
- a teacher
Our staff is doing amazing things with hands-on math curriculum, Readers and Writers Workshops, Art-In-Action, FOSS science and Smart Boards. Cooperation and collaboration are in place daily. It's a unique environment where students are happy, learning, and thriving.

Kings Mountain Elementary School 5

Posted November 10, 2009
- a parent
We love our small school. The teachers and staff have high standards and great love for our kids. Combined with dedicated parent involvement, we are giving our kids the best education possible and the kids enjoy going to school. It's a wonderful community to be part of.

Kings Mountain Elementary School 5

Posted November 09, 2009
- a parent
My husband was sold on buying our home as a direct result of the reputation of this school and that was years before we had children! Now that we have two students in Kings Mountain Elementary School, I see that it is the best choice for elementary education on the coast, including the private options. The school's parent group is very active and sets high expectations for KM school families to support the school through volunteering and fundraising. But this involvement really pays off in the good citizens this school graduates every year; the warm and supporting start we give our children translate to smart and secure kids entering middle school. This school models everything I think elementary education should be: small, supportive, high parent and community involvement, high academic standards, dedicated staff, great spirit, and a cooperative and inclusive atmosphere on the playground.


Kings Mountain Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted November 09, 2009
- a community member
Kings Mountain School offers a venue and an opportunity unique to the Kings Mountain area. Children thrive in the environment and become a family of learners. It is a wonderful experience that our children are privileged to experience. Take time to visit Kings Mountain Elementary. You'll be impressed.

Kings Mountain Elementary School 5

Posted November 07, 2009
- a parent
High standards, excellent staff fully committed to each and every child, and strong parent and community involvement are reasons we chose KMES for our daughter. Our daughter is thriving and we are very happy here.

Kings Mountain Elementary School 5

Posted November 06, 2009
- a parent
This school is amazing. You would think it was a private school, but it's public. In a beautiful rural area above the Silicon Valley, Kings Mountain School is thriving with an amazing hands on Science program, and strong support from parents, community member and staff. Having heard nothing but good things about this school for years, we moved to the area 6 six years ago so our kids could attend. We're so fortunate to be part of the Kings Mountain School and community.


Kings Mountain Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 06, 2009
- a parent
Recently relocated from CT schools which were higly rated. KMES is VERY impressive. The teachers have very high standards and the parent involvement is even higher than in CT. We have been very pleased.

Kings Mountain Elementary School 5

Posted September 28, 2006
- a parent
We couldn't be happier with our school. The small size allows our children to thrive. We are so fortunate to have this option available in our district. It kept us in the public realm. The parent involvement is fantastic and one of the main reasons for the school's success.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kings Mountain Elementary School
498 Kelly Avenue, Half Moon Bay, CA  94019
(650) 712-7180
Last modified Kings Mountain Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Kings Mountain Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top