Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ramona School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Hawthorne

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $328,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,240.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 2, 2014

Best elementary school in Hawthorne! The staff is professional and supportive. I appreciate the fact that Ramona enforce the teacher/staff identification policy, in order to keep the children's safety a priority. (not many/if any schools in Hawthorne enforce it) --Substitute Teacher


Posted October 10, 2013

This is my sons second year here. Although I am not a fan of the larger class sizes and minimal staff at recess, I enjoy the teachers & the staff they do have. Most importantly, my boy loves his school. Both of my sons teachers have taught my boy so much. They have provided us with additional curriculum (helpful memos on books/websites for student access/after school program/workshops) that we can also work on with my son at home. I believe every parent needs to put in as much (if not more) time and effort in our kids education as the Teacher's do. Reasons I didn't give it a 5: Pick up/drop off a the school can be pretty chaotic (over crowded at gate, no one to monitor parents who park in red or in the middle of street endangering every child's well being with their driving). Both my husband and I have complained to the office but not much they can do other than call the HPD Parking Enforcement, who has yet to show up this year! Minimal staff at recess/lunch to watch over children Student teacher ratio is too high (more of a reason for a parent to be hands on) Other than that, the school curriculum, staff and students are all wonderful! Always helpful and reachable!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2013

My kids had an excellent first year at Ramona after moving to this school. Both of their teachers were 10+. My kids participated in the afterschool program which gave them the opportunity to do extracurricular activities no longer available in the classrooms due to budget cuts. Their bilingual program is excellent and nothing like it in any other school in the area. My son is fluent in both English and Spanish. Premises are spacious and clean, and my kids really liked the computer lab. I would love to see smaller class sizes (my daughter was 1 of 32), but this is becoming less of an option in all schools. Her grades and test scores did not suffer however. Props to her teacher!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2012

I am a parent of two kids going to Ramona. My kids love their school. I have never had a problen with their academics work. The teachers and principal are very involved the all the students academic work and they are very nice as well. I will recommend Ramona to any parent to enroll their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2012

I have been a parent with 3 kids going to Ramona. My oldest is in 5th grade in the TWBI (Spanish Program). That program is very challenging and is amazing. He speaks Spanish fluently and we are an English only family. I do not recommend the immersion program if Spanish is a family's primary language. Too bad that the 5th grade teacher this 2011-2012 year has had a long sick leave and there have been 2 long term subs. Other than this year all the other years were great! My girl is in 3rd and chose English only. She has done very well. Her teachers have been great and they are very caring. The only drawback is some other children are noisy and the whole class suffers because of it. Computer lab time or checking out books from the library can't happen with misbehaving students. My 3rd child had Spanish for K, but the Spanish program was very difficult for him, so he is now in English 1st grade. He is catching up fine, but this year class sizes increased and that is a disadvantage for him. The parent involvement is lacking. The most involved parents are in the amazing TWBI program. The PTA is always begging for support but are more active than some other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

Nice clean school. Teachers are very nice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

My child loves this school. The teachers are nice and overall looks very clean. They seem to care about the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2008

I have two children in the two way bilingual immersion program. They are learning Spanish. We do not speak Spanish at home. At times it can be very challenging because the homework is in Spanish. However, I have seen my children excel. They are able to have a conversation with someone in Spanish. Not only are they speaking in Spanish, but reading and writing also. The teachers are wonderful. Once a month there is a parent meeting and the teachers share ideas that parents can use to help their children at home. Other parents have been very helpful, especially with homework questions. It's easy to call another parent on the phone during homework time and they are willing to help. I would recommend this program to anyone who wants their child to learn Spanish and English at the same time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2006

I was a student at Ramona about 3 years ago and I really liked it they supported me a lot and they had great materials and I just overall enjoyed being there. This school is probably the best school I have gone to because I went to Hawthorne middle school and I didn't really enjoy my time there, and I am about to enter 9th grade in Hawthorne high school, but I think my favorite school will always be Ramona.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 19, 2006

There are no extracurricular activities, I have had good experiences with the teachers. The curriculm seems good I feel my daughter is being challenged in her class. The school does have a 'gate' program. The teachers encourage the students to progress and offer extra and harder work for the students who are bored in class. I feel the principal handles behavior problems quickly. My daughter was having issues with other students and the problem was resolved immediately.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2005

Good school, the school as a whole looks out for the best interest of the students to help prepare them for the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

816

Change from
2012 to 2013

0

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

5 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

816

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

0

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

5 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
41%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
47%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students39%
Females42%
Males36%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino39%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged37%
Non-economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability42%
English learner36%
Fluent-English proficient and English only42%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate45%
Parent education - high school graduate32%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)41%
Parent education - college graduate50%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students42%
Females42%
Males43%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino42%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged39%
Non-economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability45%
English learner43%
Fluent-English proficient and English only42%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate45%
Parent education - high school graduate32%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)41%
Parent education - college graduate50%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students41%
Females43%
Males39%
African Americann/a
Asian64%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino36%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged37%
Non-economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability40%
English learner31%
Fluent-English proficient and English only53%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate19%
Parent education - high school graduate42%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)48%
Parent education - college graduate42%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students61%
Females59%
Males64%
African Americann/a
Asian91%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino54%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged58%
Non-economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability61%
English learner52%
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate38%
Parent education - high school graduate58%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduate75%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students74%
Females68%
Males82%
African American69%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged71%
Non-economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability75%
English learner48%
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate75%
Parent education - high school graduate73%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)61%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students79%
Females79%
Males79%
African American75%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino79%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged79%
Non-economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability78%
English learner76%
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate77%
Parent education - high school graduate82%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)70%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students72%
Females77%
Males66%
African American65%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino71%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged67%
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability74%
English learner35%
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented91%
Parent education - not a high school graduate80%
Parent education - high school graduate68%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)69%
Parent education - college graduate87%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students81%
Females84%
Males77%
African American59%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged79%
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability83%
English learner58%
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate80%
Parent education - high school graduate75%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)77%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students66%
Females64%
Males68%
African American47%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino68%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged61%
Non-economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability68%
English learner35%
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented91%
Parent education - not a high school graduate80%
Parent education - high school graduate58%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate80%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 79%
Black 12%
White 4%
Asian 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Two or more races 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 76%N/AN/A
English language learners 41%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Michael Collins
Fax number
  • (310) 675-6593

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4617 West 136th Street
Hawthorne, CA 90250
Phone: (310) 675-7189

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Washington School
Hawthorne, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT