Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cimarron Avenue Elementary School 4

Posted April 28, 2012
- a parent
I love this school, also! My son is in first grade and I really appreciate his well experienced and educated teacher, Mrs. Meador. I have sat in her class a few times and I am so impressed with her ability to connect with the children. I witnessed the writing format that teaches children how to construct essay's on a first grade level. The school is always clean!! The principal has recorded messages that parents receive on their phones in case the school notices were lost, the parent is always informed of the school activities. They have two free after school programs, my son is in Mrs. Kay's afterschool program and she always makes sure his homework is either done or close to completion. She sincerely cares for the children. I have not had to deal with any bulling from other student and the environment is positive. My son enjoys school. I also love Mrs. Allen who works in the front office, she is always pleasant and professional. I wish there was more parent involvement but, these days most parents are just trying to make ends meet and if thats the case then this school is an excellent environment for single moms who are trying to juggle motherhood and economic pressures.

Cimarron Avenue Elementary School 3

Posted June 11, 2011
- a parent
My daughter has attended Cimarron since Kindergarten and she has had good teachers all the way through especially, in 1st grade! My daughter has a good 2nd grade teacher as well. My only concerns about this school is the expectations level. For example, the open house this year was held from 8-2pm and parents were simply invited in to go to the classrooms and look at samples of student work. This type of open house format would have been unfathomable in a higher socio-economic status community and I believe that a school must operate with high expectations no matter what the level of parent or community involvement. Teacher absenteeism is high and the school lacks meaningful programs as well as a clear instructional focus. Because there is a low level of accountability and involvement from the community I believe that the school doesn't insist on high expectations and learning for its teachers and students. The principal is a nice person but, she lacks passion and I have lost confidence in her as an instructional leader and I am therefore, removing my child from the school for the 11-12 school year. The school is mediocre and deserves a mediocre reputation. Technology gets an "F".


Cimarron Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted January 06, 2011
- a parent
The regular education teachers are fantastic. The PTA is very strong and well prepared. The front office is helpful. They have a very well run Special Ed program with excellent teachers. I am glad my children attended and still attend this school.

Cimarron Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted September 22, 2010
- a parent
Cimmaron is an excellent neighborhood school in the tradition sense. I have 2 kids that attend Cimmaron. One has scored advanced on the recent CST and the other one has entered Kinder. Pre-school was a joy thanks to Ms Strings. You couldnt ask for a better example of what every teacher should be. She was awesome and the kids love her. She more than has them ready to enter Kinder when they are done. The school is well kept and tucked into a great community.

Cimarron Avenue Elementary School
no rating

Posted February 10, 2010
- a parent
I permitted into this school just for the Pre-school program. My daughter is in Mrs. Strings pre-school and loves it. She has a gift with making sure all of the children are prepared for kindergarten no matter where they started from. Mrs. Strings is a really dedicated and an excellent teacher.


Cimarron Avenue Elementary School 4

Posted January 25, 2010
- a parent
Cimarron is a great neighborhood school. You will have to follow-up with your child at home but overall the administrators are doing an adequate job. I have sent all three of my sons to Cimarron and I would recommend it. All of the teachers and administrators know the children by name and the student are held accountable for their actions. Mrs. Strings is the perfect teacher for the pre-K program. She is excellent with the small children and she ensures that they are prepared for kinder. Mrs. Strings is just one example of the many teachers that go above and beyond on a daily basis. Keep up the good work and continue to improve!!!

Cimarron Avenue Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 19, 2009
- a parent
Excellent staff from top to bottom

Cimarron Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted July 06, 2009
- a parent
This school has worked wonders with my child. The teachers are an assest, and the children want to learn. My child has made the gifted program for performing arts. This tells me the teachers pay attention to their students. I am very pleased.


Cimarron Avenue Elementary School 4

Posted August 31, 2006
- a parent
My child had a great experience at Cimarron, she was able to grow in areas that weren't available in the private sector. This was her second year I feel the Principal was able to offer more to the children. Because of her age she was always willing to help. She pushed the children to new levels and introduced them to Academic Chess ,Music,Sports The Dance Team. Visiting various colleges some of the teachers were better than other but we'll find that all over I like the core groups for the teaching policy to make sure nobody was being left behind. The fifth graders were introduced to many projects in the classroom and out.There are great after school programs on campus. Thank you Cimarron for two wonderful years. Thank you teacher, Office staff and Our Wonderful Principal and Vice Principal for the preparation for middle school.

Cimarron Avenue Elementary School 4

Posted May 08, 2006
- a parent
I simply love Cimarron Elementary. I moved from the area at the beghinning of the 05-06 school year and drive in the opposite direction so that my daughter can attend school there. The teachers all care about their students as if it were their own children (which I appreciate). They commit to parental participation whether kids are doing well or not and they have activities that encourage, support, recognize and award scholastic achievement. They award athletes and scholars alike (I love that). As with any school now, music, art and sports are not high priority, but they try hard to incorporate them in their program. Highly recommended school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cimarron Avenue Elementary School
11559 Cimarron Avenue, Hawthorne, CA  90250-1914
(323) 757-1226
Last modified Cimarron Avenue Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Cimarron Avenue Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top