Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
57 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 159 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Juan De Anza Elementary School 5

Posted August 20, 2015
- a parent
This will be our 5th year at Anza. Our children are having a wonderful experience. There is alot of parent involvement and volunteering which supports the great sense of community at this school. The teachers, principal and PTA also greatly support this feeling of community. Not only are the teachers dedicated and communicative and teach every child but they give so much of their own time to make the experience at Anza one of a kind. Just come check out the Variety Show to see what I mean! The Child Development Center next door for Pre-K and before and after school care is great too.

Juan De Anza Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 20, 2015
- a parent
All children are held to the same standards of academics and behavior. The Anza teachers and principal support an atmosphere of character, honesty, integrity and fairness.


Juan De Anza Elementary School 5

Posted August 19, 2015
- a parent
Our family has been at Anza for 8 years and have LOVED every minute of it. The staff and faculty are top notch. Communication is excellent between parents, teachers, administrators and students. Anza wants the parents involved and gives opportunity for involvement in every aspect of the curriculum. You get out what you put in and it's all for the kids. The doors open and close ON TIME every day and you are expected to be punctual. School Policy is easy to follow if you follow it and not expect special treatment. You get fair treatment not special treatment - everyone is equal.

Juan De Anza Elementary School 5

Posted June 01, 2015
- a parent
My child has had a wonderful experience at Anza. The teachers and principal are outstanding and work very closely with children and families. Mrs. Nitsos goes out of her way to greet students in the morning upon arrival and keeps the valet line moving as smoothly as possible with so many families dropping off at the same time.

Juan De Anza Elementary School 1

Posted April 02, 2015
- a parent
We are very dissatisfied with the Principal at Juan De Anza Elementary, the lack of leadership, inconsistency and overall disconnect. Doors to the school are opened and closed at different times almost daily. They are extremely quick to mark your child tardy or absent with no explanation as to why merely seconds after the door is closed and your child has already entered the school. The principal and teachers have been overheard saying distasteful things about students by myself as well as other parents. You will find other reviewers mention this. The principal and one other teacher of my child had engaged in inappropriate conversation not school related that was brought to the attention of the school district superintendent and nothing was done. The experience with this school has been unsatisfactory therefore I've placed my child in a new school.


Juan De Anza Elementary School 4

Posted August 30, 2014
- a parent
Have not been happy with the principal and are disappointed with the schools in consistent policies. We also do not like that the school does not open the gates consistently at the same time every morning, However they are quick to mark your child tardy if they are one second late. The teachers have been great never a problem with them love them so far through third grade but have noticed a change with the school since the new principal.

Juan De Anza Elementary School 5

Posted March 24, 2014
- a parent
Anza is an excellent school with excellent teachers who care and are committed in the success of the children. I have 2 daughter's currently enrolled and another daughter soon to start Kindergarten. Anza is about academics, community and about laying a strong foundation for the children's future. The teachers are truly excellent at every grade level. I am proud to be an Anza Eagle Parent.

Juan De Anza Elementary School 5

Posted October 28, 2013
- a parent
It seems like Anza is really working hard to get ready for the new Common Core State Standards. There is a greater push for kids to understand the why and a closer tie to critical thinking. I am very excited to see this, Anza has always been such a good school and to know that my school is ahead of the game is very comforting. Kids really come first here! The teachers here are amazing and the principal is a wonder.


Juan De Anza Elementary School 1

Posted July 10, 2013
- a parent
I've caught kindergarten staff talking about my child when they didn't think I was paying attention. Shame on you!

Juan De Anza Elementary School 5

Posted November 08, 2012
- a parent
Anza School has amazing teachers. I always feel like my child is getting the highest quality education. They have high expectations, and my child has made tremendous growth with the guidance of her teachers. The communication is unbelievable, and I never feel in the dark about what my child is learning and doing in class. They prepare my child thoroughly.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Juan De Anza Elementary School
12110 Hindry Avenue, Hawthorne, CA  90250
(310) 725-2100
Last modified Juan De Anza Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Juan De Anza Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 159 reviews. Top