Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Juan Cabrillo Elementary School

Public | K-2

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Hawthorne

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $328,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,240.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 22, 2014

Amazing school! Amazing kids! Amazing staff! I have 3 kids here and I love this school. Never met teachers more in love with their students. Not to mention they still have art and p.e. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2013

My second child is finishing up her last year at Cabrillo, and our experiences there for both our children have been very positive. I find the teachers not only very dedicated, but my experience has been that they make a concerted effort to place each child with the teacher that is most compatible with their personality, which has worked out well for our children. I'm also thrilled with the level of parent involvement (at school, and in the home) which I know is also a large part of the success of this school. It will be bittersweet when my youngest finishes her final year at Cabrillo.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2012

Our daughter's have attended Cabrillo from K-2 and we have had such phenomenal teachers. The principal, Mrs. Lynch, is very helpful, supportive and compassionate. We couldn't ask for more in terms of a supportive, positive and caring environment for our daughters.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2011

My daughter attended Carrillo from K-2 . This year was her last year. She is very sad but we are forever thankful for all the love and academic attention the teachers have given her. She has improved GREATLY!!! My daughter received extra help after school with reading and grammar and it helped her tremendously. Mrs. Zirbel, Miss. Fernandez and Miss.Anaya were all wonderful teachers!! The entire staff is simply wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2011

love the school,excellent teachers! my children are very happy here. But there is something i would really love to see more often....Mrs. juarez smiling and being nicer. The times ive been in the office she has been sullen and a bit rude. :/ She should feel proud to be part of such an excellent school.We love cabrillo!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2010

Carbrillo is a great school. My son loves the enviroment. The teachers and staff counld not be more supportive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2010

Couldn't be happier. Love everything about this school from the Principal, my son's teacher to the PTA. Agree with all the nice comments about the school. Brand new construction just makes it as nice on the outside as it is on the inside. Sad we have to move on after 2nd grade to the next school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

My sons teacher Mr. Spiwak is the best ever. My son and our family loves what he has done this school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2009

I am not satisfied with their discipline and character building approach for younger kids. Teachers seem very overwhelmed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2007

As an educator myself within another district, I have to say that I am pleased with the quality of education my children have received at Cabrillo. The teachers are wonderful and I appreciate their efforts and time spent planning as a team to assure that our children are being exposed to a curriculum that is challenging and enriching. The Principal is supportive of her staff and she truly cares for the students. As for the PTA, I have never seen such a group work so hard and dedicate much of their time to our children. Thank you Cabrillo for making 'school' such a wonderful experience for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

Terrific curriculum. The teachers at CAbrillo are truly dedicated to the childrean and spend every moment possible helping the children. My daughter has learned so much and loves going to school. Unfortunately, the school is way under funded. P.E. is once a week if the teacher is available. We actually had to raise money last year to keep P.E. Parents are very involved, but we can only give so much while paying for before and after school care. It's unfortunate that the school has so little for extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2006

Wonderful Staff, Offers fair amount of programs, always could use more parent participation. Caring School with offered afterschool care for working parents which is a +++.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2006

The school is very good if you want to make sure that your child passes the standardized testing. The education provided focus' more on that helping the students to pass than anything else. I would love to see more science and art projects to make the children a little more rounded. The teachers are great and very caring towards the children. I would definitley recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2006

The school is pretty good. My son is doing wonderfully. The teachers are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2005

A little run down, but overall was good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2004

I'm so happy that my family is in the school district of (Wiseburn)so my children can go to Cabrillo. The leadership is truly of team spirit, love, discipline and organization. Which is so important when you have the responsibilty of someone child for 6 hours. The involvement of the parents and teachers together is so crucial and its great to see the parents participation in the school's PTA and the activities at the school. I believe no child will be left behind at Cabrillo. My daughter is in the 1st grade and her teacher Mrs. Schumacher is what we need as a teacher. She is loving, patient, caring and gives her heart to all her students. My daughter has improved in her reading and the atmosphere and safety of the school I appreciate.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

888

Change from
2012 to 2013

-18

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

888

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-18

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students72%
Females75%
Males67%
African American58%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino68%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disability59%
Students with no reported disability74%
English learner66%
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate59%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduate84%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to state47%

Math

All Students78%
Females77%
Males78%
African American67%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino72%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Non-economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disability50%
Students with no reported disability81%
English learner68%
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate88%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)69%
Parent education - college graduate84%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to state68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 58% 52%
White 18% 26%
Two or more races 11% 3%
Black 8% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 11%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 43%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Margaret Lynch
Fax number
  • (310) 643-5141

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5309 West 135th Street
Hawthorne, CA 90250
Phone: (310) 725-5400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT