Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Trinity Lutheran School

Private | K-7 | 80 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Hawthorne

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $328,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,240.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 18, 2012

Trinity Lutheran school is a safe and loving environment for children to lean and grow both spiritually and academically. The first grade teacher is a master teacher who develops children into eager, capable learners. In the first grade children develop learning skills: reading, writing, comprehension, test taking skills, math and science, plus social skills. They also have a great kindergarten program. Upper grades have hard working teachers.


Posted January 31, 2012

This is a great preschool with lots of heart. Both my daughters attend the school. There's a loving learning environment. The director genuienly cares about, interacts with, and knows all the kids by name. Note: the other parent that said there were "hidden costs" is misleading - the tuition is very reasonable. If you want extra activities like dance class or gymnastics that come on campus weekly, there's a fee for the class, but that is everywhere. It's not "daycare" - these are all certified teachers with teaching degrees. The cirriculmn goals are shared every month. It's a great school - we love it and so do several other teachers that have their kids there. It's education with a heart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2011

Currently my son is a middle schooler at Trinity Lutheran School. Trinity provides a wonderful Christian environment in which my son is able to focus on his class work and not on his bullies. The students wear uniforms which is great because we don't have to worry about what to wear every day. The school gives you a feeling of family. The kids all know each other, from pre k to middle school. The parents are given opportunities to meet each other, thanks to the many gatherings provided by the school and the church. The teachers are caring and always show concern for the children. They care about my son's academic achievement. They are always available to the parents and the children. My son's teachers stay after school to help the students if needed. The administrators of the school and the preschool are very warm and welcoming. My friend has her sons at both the school and the preschool thanks to my recommendation and she is very grateful for it. I could probably find a less expensive school nearby but I'm not so sure I could find the wonderful qualities that Trinity provides. My son has created some wonderful friendships and is excelling academically. Thanks Trinity
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2009

Trinity Lutheran school in Hawthorne has small class size. My son is in second grade and has a spilling skills of fourth grade student. My daughter is KG and strated already reading. My kids love their school and teachers. I will definitely recomand the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2008

My Daughter recently graduated from Trinity Lutheran Pre-school and will be attending the Elementary school. I found that the Pre-K did lack some of the foundational skills I would like to have seen and often repeated or worked slower than needed, how ever, because pre-schoolers, depending on when they started, can be at different levels, I can understand the pace. The school should not to allow the disgruntled employees voice their personal opinions too much; it turns parents off. The campus is lovely, sanitary and safe. The director is wonderful and the activities very nice. Buyer beware there are a lot of hidden costs that come through the wood-work be prepared to spend upwards of 600 bucks monthly, but too me it was worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2008

They have multigrade class settings. I'm not a fan of that especially when I'm paying money out to a private education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2007

Our son attended Trinity Lutheran Preschool from 2 1/2 - 5 years of age and we found it to be an all around extremely rewarding experience. When he first began, he was very shy and reserved and by the time he graduated Pre-K, he was much more outgoing and we were very pleased with how much he had learned and his social skills had improved. I feel the tuition is more than comparable to what you would pay elsewhere and are forever grateful to those who played such an intrical part in our son's academic and social development. So much, that we are planning on sending his younger brother there in a couple years as well so their wonderful staff can provide him the very same foundation for success...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2007

Trinity Lutheran is a focused school. They know their mission: to provide a safe, caring school environment so that students can focus on learning and enjoy developing lasting friendships. The staff are firm and caring and the children respect them. Trinity continues to update their curriculum materials in order to stay current with state standards. Trinty is well worth the nominal fees.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2007

My daughter has been at TLS for 3 years. Tuition is reasonable, however, academically students tend to be lacking in the area of math. Students are strong in Lang. Arts,Drama,& Singing. Upper grade teachers have a high turn over rate. Loving staff and caring environmt. School trying to make physical improvemts. but need to make curriculum and teacher improvements. 3rd&4th grade teachers are awesome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2006

My son currently attending Trinity Lutheran Preschool. There is no balance with the teachers, I found some to be too callous and others to be humble. The Director is never around to answer any questions nor was his teacher after 3:00 p.m. My son is learning more at home with our at home study session. I think Trinity Lutheran Pre-K is an expensive daycare.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2006

I found that the Preschool was nominal. There were teacher who did a great job educating my children and those who did little to nothing. Also I found the director to be extremely disorganized. The preschool has great yards and love that they learned to ride tricycles. I think overall I could have found a better school education wise. In that case it was expensive daycare not preschool.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

My child attended Trinity Lutheran pre-school from August 2005 to May 2006 (presently). I have to say that this school is costly when compared to the standard of education your child will receive. It is a high-priced daycare! They are not focused on educating your child at all. My child learned more from the other school she was at before this. We moved and I am only paying for her to be there because it is safer than public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2006

Trinity Lutheran once had a music and art program, both are now gone. Basketball and volleyball are the extracurricular activities now offered. Parent involvement is very nominal. Academic programs on th elementary level are comparable or slightly more rigorous than public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2006

The preschool is pretty nice, the ratio can get high however. The teachers seem under paid and their attutude can reflect this at times.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2005

Average education. More diverse at public schools. A lot of parent envolvement which is good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2005

My children both started attending Trinity Lutheran Preschool and now are going to be in the first grade and the fourth grade. I like the school for several reasons: It is a Christian school that incorporates biblical teaching in the curriculum, the teachers are well qualified and my third grader has scored high on the standardized tests each year. The school is very ethnically diverse and all of the children are sort of like family...all of the older children know the younger ones and vice versa. The school offers lots of after-school programs in which children may participate, like drama, dance, karate, girl scouts, etc. Most of the teachers have been with the school for several years and provide many unique and exciting ways for children to show what they are learning like science projects, classrooms get recreated into rain forests, and other exciting places.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2005

Good activities and religous base.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 44%
White 26%
Hispanic 18%
Two or more races 11%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Asian 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Language learning

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30am
School end time
  • 3:00pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Kathy Rutt
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Affiliation
  • Evangelical lutheran church in america
Associations
  • ELEA
Fax number
  • (310) 675-9523

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
  • Religious

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
More from this school
  • Good Location close to El Segundo, Wiseburn, West side of Hawthorne LA Air Force Base.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Private Christian Schools
Public School

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Bishop Montgomary High
Serra High
St. Bernard High
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4783 West 130th Street
Hawthorne, CA 90250
Website: Click here
Phone: (310) 675-4493

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ramona School
Hawthorne, CA



Washington School
Hawthorne, CA


Eucalyptus School
Hawthorne, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT