Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Hayward, CA
Students enrolled: 762
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Burbank Elementary School 5

Posted August 13, 2013
- a community member
I am so proud to be member of the Burbank Community. It is an excellent elementary school and has proven that it meets the needs of students by offering a rigorous academic program presented by dedicated professionals. Besides an excellent academic program students become proficient in the latest technology which begins with IPads in Kindergarten and continues with Keynote presentations in upper grades. Children are expected to be respectful, responsible and safe. When I first began teaching at Burbank 7 years ago our API was the lowest of any elementary school in Hayward at 613. In 2012 our API soared to 841. I am currently a substitute teacher and am extremely proud to be able to still call Burbank my home.

Burbank Elementary School 1

Posted July 30, 2013
- a parent
Please turn back now if you care about a good education, forget it! Burbank doesn't even know what that means! The principal is sarcastic & dresses ready for a BBQ, she's not professional, never returns calls or can meet you, just like their youth spcl. Parents never volunteer & don't care. A staffer told me that the administration was a mess. Office staff rude w/ attitude. There are very few good teachers. Academics is not a priority & my children did not learn a thing.They cater to Spanish speaking students. It's a joke to ask for English fliers. No extra activities. At every point of contact with admin. was attitude because your English speaking. It's a joke when they say there is no money but every month the parent calendar caters to Spanish speaking parents like learning English etc., Last I checked this was an elementary school not a job center, shouldn't our money go towards children? Shame on them we are not here to teach parents anything, its their responsibility to get off the couch & help themselves. We aren't setting a good example by enabling their behavior, uh that's not how the real world works. Worst school ever! Move out of the Hayward School District! O stars!


Burbank Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
They really care about the kids and want them to learn.

Burbank Elementary School 5

Posted August 07, 2009
- a parent
My daughter reads and writes Spanish and she is able to sound out letteres and words, spanish is a new 2nd languge for her. She is able to do the same in English and I'm so impressed being that she is only going into the 2nd grade. Her teachers are very involved. I can't wait for my Kindergardner to start this year!

Burbank Elementary School 5

Posted April 16, 2009
- a parent
My daughter has attended kindergarden this year and started not knowing to speak spanish, now not only she speaks it but writes and reads it. the principal is very involved accesable and it's always on her fits helping as a yard dutty,lunch,parking. everyone is very nice.


Burbank Elementary School 5

Posted August 14, 2008
- a community member
I've been involved at Burbank this past year and it has the most dedicated, hard working staff of any school I have visited. They are dedicated to make sure every child succeeds with high expectations for staff, students and parents. The staff is working diligently to improve their academic performance. Burbank has an active parent group who are very involved in working with the staff to make Burbank a school where every child succeeds no matter what their socioeconomic or academic needs are. They are very excited to move into a beautiful new school this year.

Burbank Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 03, 2008
- a parent
My daughter is a Kindergarten and I'm so happy at her age she can already read. My daughter is lucky to have Mrs. Lawrence as her teacher.

Burbank Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted February 18, 2008
- a parent
The staff is great! This school gives the opportunity to English Only students learn Spanish as a second language.


Burbank Elementary School 5

Posted January 12, 2008
- a parent
Burbank offers an excellent Dual Language Immersion program, in which English-speakers learn Spanish and Spanish-speakers learn English. Both groups learn to read and write (plus do math, science, etc.) at grade level in both languages! What an advantage for the kids to become bilingual, and the program also really promotes cross-cultural understanding. Burbank also has English-only classes. The teachers at Burbank are passionate and dedicated, and the new principal (a former dual language immersion teacher) is fabulous and puts a lot of heart into what she does. Science, P.E., Music and garden classes are taught during the day and there is an after school program. Burbank will be re-opening in a brand new state-of-the-art campus in the fall of 2008- how exciting to have a beautiful new school!

Burbank Elementary School 5

Posted August 10, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Burbank Elementary School
353 B Street, Hayward, CA  94541
(510) 723-3805
Last modified Burbank Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Burbank Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top