Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Burbank Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted June 24, 2016
- a community member
Thanks to the principal Mrs. Irma Torres and company for doing a great job bringing awards & recognition for the school! You're giving us parents something to be proud of! Keep up the good work!

Burbank Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted June 24, 2016
- a community member
1st Grade teacher, Ms. Beth Uno was a hardworking, honest and awesome teacher. I hope this school will keep her as she is an asset to Burbank!


Burbank Elementary School 4

Posted June 24, 2016
- a community member
The best elementary school in Hayward and we're happy that my daughter goes here. We moved to Hayward last year in consideration of this school. So far, the principal has done good things for this school, she's accomodating and some of the teachers/staff I've met were nice. My daughter's 1st grade teacher, Ms. Beth Uno was amazing, hardworking, honest and I hope they keep her at this school! She's an asset! Keep up the good work Burbank ES!

Burbank Elementary School 5

Posted August 13, 2013
- a community member
I am so proud to be member of the Burbank Community. It is an excellent elementary school and has proven that it meets the needs of students by offering a rigorous academic program presented by dedicated professionals. Besides an excellent academic program students become proficient in the latest technology which begins with IPads in Kindergarten and continues with Keynote presentations in upper grades. Children are expected to be respectful, responsible and safe. When I first began teaching at Burbank 7 years ago our API was the lowest of any elementary school in Hayward at 613. In 2012 our API soared to 841. I am currently a substitute teacher and am extremely proud to be able to still call Burbank my home.

Burbank Elementary School 1

Posted July 30, 2013
- a parent
Please turn back now if you care about a good education, forget it! Burbank doesn't even know what that means! The principal is sarcastic & dresses ready for a BBQ, she's not professional, never returns calls or can meet you, just like their youth spcl. Parents never volunteer & don't care. A staffer told me that the administration was a mess. Office staff rude w/ attitude. There are very few good teachers. Academics is not a priority & my children did not learn a thing.They cater to Spanish speaking students. It's a joke to ask for English fliers. No extra activities. At every point of contact with admin. was attitude because your English speaking. It's a joke when they say there is no money but every month the parent calendar caters to Spanish speaking parents like learning English etc., Last I checked this was an elementary school not a job center, shouldn't our money go towards children? Shame on them we are not here to teach parents anything, its their responsibility to get off the couch & help themselves. We aren't setting a good example by enabling their behavior, uh that's not how the real world works. Worst school ever! Move out of the Hayward School District! O stars!


Burbank Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
They really care about the kids and want them to learn.

Burbank Elementary School 5

Posted August 07, 2009
- a parent
My daughter reads and writes Spanish and she is able to sound out letteres and words, spanish is a new 2nd languge for her. She is able to do the same in English and I'm so impressed being that she is only going into the 2nd grade. Her teachers are very involved. I can't wait for my Kindergardner to start this year!

Burbank Elementary School 5

Posted April 16, 2009
- a parent
My daughter has attended kindergarden this year and started not knowing to speak spanish, now not only she speaks it but writes and reads it. the principal is very involved accesable and it's always on her fits helping as a yard dutty,lunch,parking. everyone is very nice.


Burbank Elementary School 5

Posted August 14, 2008
- a community member
I've been involved at Burbank this past year and it has the most dedicated, hard working staff of any school I have visited. They are dedicated to make sure every child succeeds with high expectations for staff, students and parents. The staff is working diligently to improve their academic performance. Burbank has an active parent group who are very involved in working with the staff to make Burbank a school where every child succeeds no matter what their socioeconomic or academic needs are. They are very excited to move into a beautiful new school this year.

Burbank Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 03, 2008
- a parent
My daughter is a Kindergarten and I'm so happy at her age she can already read. My daughter is lucky to have Mrs. Lawrence as her teacher.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Burbank Elementary School
353 B Street, Hayward, CA  94541-6307
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. (510) 723-3805
Last modified Burbank Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top