Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Hayward, CA
Students enrolled: 645
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Tyrrell Elementary School 3

Posted June 11, 2011
- a parent
As a parent of a child who has attended Tyrrell for over 5 years, I do have to say the teachers here are all very pleasant and knowledgeable. The kids were all right as well and my child never had to many problems with other students, but kids are kids. Only complaint I have about this school is the secretary that sit in the front of the office (Ms. Lax) is very rude and seems like she doesn't want to do her job. Many times I walked into the office and she just sat there not even acknowledging me. Just seems like she has major attitude. Once my child even asked her for ice when she fell, and Ms. Lax told her she didn't need it. My daughter ended up with a sprained ankle. She seems like the only stake in the heart of what seems to be a potentially wonderful school.

Tyrrell Elementary School 1

Posted April 12, 2011
- a community member
very bad school to go to if you want your children to have a good life. they have gangs and kidnappers. i was a student there once and everyday there was this guy that would be there, say hello, and then disapear in a split second. i was very worried that i was going to get kidnapped or molested


Tyrrell Elementary School 1

Posted March 28, 2011
- a parent
Very bad school to go to if you are planning to take your kids to my son went there he came home one day with very inapropriate language that i never knew in that age the way some teachers teachs is not that good !!!dont plan on taking your kids there if you are im just telling you so that your kids wont have a bad lfe!

Tyrrell Elementary School 1

Posted June 03, 2010
- a parent
terrible school the kids cant speak english the parents don't speak english its nothing more than day care for a bunch of gang bangers kids. i went to pick up a friends kid and was afraid i was going to get shot or carjacked by one of the parents.

Tyrrell Elementary School 5

Posted January 07, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Tyrrell Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted November 29, 2008
- a student
i am a former student here at tyrrell and it is awesome the only thing is the teachers yell at the students a little too much. i remember that th principal was yelling at a little kindegardener,so it made me a little mad,but what can i do? well this is an awesome school!!!!! Go Ms.Lumia!!!!!!!!

Tyrrell Elementary School 5

Posted May 28, 2007
- a administrator
This review submitted without content.

Tyrrell Elementary School 5

Posted August 24, 2006
- a former student
I went to Tyrell, and I think that it's a really great school, or I wouldn't be where I am now. I have honors, I took Geometry in the 8th grade. I owe all this to Tyrell, for helping me, and recommending me. [To Mr. Mangewala]


Tyrrell Elementary School 5

Posted August 16, 2003
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Tyrrell Elementary School
27000 Tyrrell Avenue, Hayward, CA  94540
(510) 723-3935
Last modified Tyrrell Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Tyrrell Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top