Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Winton Middle School

Public | 7-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 28, 2014

Students who act up and stop other children from learning do not get punished. My daughter told me how a boy in her class hit another child in the privates and was not suspended. I even hear about how when teachers call security that no one comes. The teachers do not want to stay at that school, either. Each year there are lots of new teachers. There is no gangs, but it is not like the kids are learning much when bad students prevent teachers from doing their job and the principal doesn't do anything. I'm not Hispanic but no one in the office speaks Spanish. The principal does not try to get parents involved. We don't hear anything about what's going on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2014

Any parent/student considering this school has to be out of their minds. My home got broken into. (see how often police are at the school). I hear terrible language as students hit the street (Can only imagine what is happening in class). Friend said the principal never keeps his word to the parents. Frustrating for the community because we are paying for better. Please do something board of ed.


Posted April 12, 2013

I like this school, but there are some things I don't like. Many students are rude, disrespectful, and could care less about their grades. Some teachers are unfair. Nobody likes the principal and vice. There's too many fights this year than last year. This is my last year in Winton. I doubt the 7th graders would ever take 8th grade seriously. -.-


Posted March 7, 2013

This School Is Hella Fun And Yes I Do Go Here! :D I Think It Is A Great School Filled With Great Students And There Are Some Good Teachers But Some Teachers Need To Go Back To School To Learn How To Teach Cuz They Just Yell At Us An Say Do This And They Dnt Give Details Or Examples.... HORRIBLE! But Other Then That It Is A Great School!


Posted April 8, 2011

I attended Winton Middle School from 03 to 05 and I detest every negative comment that has been posted about this school. In terms of education I can state unequivocally that Winton Middle School offers a very competitive and thorough education. The schools reputation is so renowned that other students from around the area were transferring into the school while I was attending. The only downside that one might feel Winton has is its student body (which may or may not be a little ghetto); however, I am going to lay those "fears" to rest by giving you a comparative example. After growing up in Hayward (shortly after graduating from Winton) my family and I moved to Eugene OR which is a polar opposite to Hayward. The school was 70% white, and there was absolutely no diversity (white people are weak). The student body at Winton is very diverse which is a VERY good thing, the teachers are excellent (unless if you by a rare chance get stuck with a teacher from another country who has trouble with English), the dances are the BEST (PS white people have no rhythm see above), for me Winton was a very fun and positive experience that I would not hesitate to go back to if I had the chance.


Posted March 8, 2010

I would never recommend Winton Middle School to anyone. The principal is completely unavailable and never return calls. I understand the Econimic situation is stressful, but the teachers act like they do not appreciate their jobs. God forbid they need to go an extra mile for a student! In my opinion they simply clock in, unhapily perform their jobs @ a substandard level & clock out..........period
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2010

I agree with EVERYTHING written here. But t he teachers are not the bad people the students are!!! And I'm a STUDENT currently going to Winton AND I LOVE IT. My favorite teacher there is Mr.LEE!!!!!!( HATE TO SEE HIM LEAVE NEXT YEAR!)
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 27, 2008

I'm still undecided about my daughter returning, some of the teachers there, I feel don't really know their subject, definitely needs better leadership, and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2008

My child will not be returning to this school next year. I am an active parent. I am on a first name basis with Mr. West as well as Ms. Tess. I'm friendly with majority of the adminstration there. I volunteer at school dance and anywhere else that's needed. The lack of strong teachers is just one of the many problems my child has. This school needs better leaders and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2008

As the school year draws to an end, I leave feeling very disappointed. Some classes have been taught all year long by various substitute teachers. The principal is unreliable and doesn't return phone calls. I agree with earlier comments, Ms. Tess is great, but it takes more than one person to make a school work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2008

My biggest concern is that there are not enough textbooks for the students to take home. Therefore, little to no homework is ever assigned because they don't have their own textbook.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2008

I completely agree with everything mentioned here about Principal West. However things have been alot better this year for my child. I've had multiple conversations with Vice Principal Lisa Tess and she seems to truly care about the students. Sure the school has had some issues in the past, but I am very pleased with how the school year is going so far, and I am confident that it will only get better for my daughter during the rest of her time there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2007

This school puts every student in a 'family' a group of teachers that work together and with the parents to help the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2007

I'm very disappointed with this school. My daughter is a student at Winton Middle School, and I'm not happy with the quality of education. The teachers appear overworked, and Principal Donald West seems to never be at the school. He has cancelled multiple appointments with me and whenever I go to the office, I am told he has either not shown up to school yet or is 'out.' I believe Winton is in need of better leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2007

This school year has started out to be unsatisfactory. Half of my son's teachers are long term substitutes. Last year, two of his classes never had a permanent teacher. Many of the great teachers from previous years are now gone. My boy never comes home with homework because he says they don't do much in class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2007

The campus has been newly repainted and there are new bulletin boards up to make the school look better. While Winton is looking better than it has in the past, it has its share of problems. However, I applaud the efforts of the parents. Most of the parents are working class working 12-14 hours a day, but they still manage help when they can.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2007

The teachers at Winton last year were amazing. Unfortunately, many of them will not be at Winton this year. I was disappointed with Donald West's leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2007

My child will be starting his 8th grade year in August, and I'm hoping things changed since last year. The teachers at Winton went above and beyond to encourage the students to do the best that they possibly can. A number of teachers took the time to stay after school with my son to help him with his homework and assignments. I would encourage any other parents to find other alternatives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2007

The teachers at Winton are great. They work hard for the kids. The principal, however, has not been very successful at this school. Winton was literally in chaos last year. Never in my life have I been so misinformed about school events, and when I would ask other parents or teachers they rarely knew themselves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2007

'As of 2007, Donald West has been by far one of the worst principals. He is completely out of touch with our students and our community. We were greatly disappointed to find out that he has literally done nothing to prepare our kids for the Star Testing. The school is poorly run. Parents are frequently misinformed of important dates, or we are not informed until the day before.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

698

Change from
2012 to 2013

+38

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

1 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

698

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+38

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

1 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
82%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

284 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
38%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

228 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
19%

2011

 
 
20%

2010

 
 
34%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

234 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
12%

2012

 
 
13%

2011

 
 
19%

2010

 
 
17%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

261 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
33%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
4%

2011

 
 
0%

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
n/a
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

282 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
18%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

263 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
29%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students41%
Females38%
Males44%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino39%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged35%
Non-economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability42%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only51%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate27%
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students38%
Females38%
Males39%
African American24%
Asiann/a
Filipino73%
Hispanic or Latino39%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)33%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Non-economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability39%
English learner3%
Fluent-English proficient and English only50%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate36%
Parent education - high school graduate35%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)45%
Parent education - college graduate72%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state28%

Math

All Students31%
Females26%
Males36%
African American15%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino33%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)23%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Non-economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability32%
English learner5%
Fluent-English proficient and English only40%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate35%
Parent education - high school graduate23%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduate27%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state18%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students12%
Females10%
Males14%
African American4%
Asiann/a
Filipino43%
Hispanic or Latino10%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)6%
Economically disadvantaged11%
Non-economically disadvantaged16%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability12%
English learner2%
Fluent-English proficient and English only16%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate13%
Parent education - high school graduate14%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)10%
Parent education - college graduate17%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state6%

English Language Arts

All Students33%
Females39%
Males26%
African American13%
Asian50%
Filipino29%
Hispanic or Latino33%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)47%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Non-economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability33%
English learner3%
Fluent-English proficient and English only43%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate30%
Parent education - high school graduate28%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)47%
Parent education - college graduate45%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state24%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Students46%
Females50%
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino29%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged39%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability46%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only44%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students28%
Females30%
Males25%
African American7%
Asian46%
Filipino47%
Hispanic or Latino27%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)32%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Non-economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disability8%
Students with no reported disability30%
English learner5%
Fluent-English proficient and English only37%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate25%
Parent education - high school graduate26%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)35%
Parent education - college graduate43%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state19%

Science

All Students57%
Females56%
Males57%
African American33%
Asian67%
Filipino59%
Hispanic or Latino57%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Non-economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability57%
English learner22%
Fluent-English proficient and English only68%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate49%
Parent education - high school graduate54%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)74%
Parent education - college graduate64%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 77%
Black 10%
Asian 3%
White 3%
Two or more races 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 79%N/AN/A
English language learners 22%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 4%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • George Porter
Fax number
  • (510) 733-9043

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

119 Winton Avenue
Hayward, CA 94540
Phone: (510) 723-3140

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Northstar School
Hayward, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT