Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public charter
Hayward, CA
Students enrolled: 460
Before care: No
After care: No
 

4 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

21 reviews of this school


Impact Academy of Arts and Technology 1

Posted May 06, 2015
- a student
I don't feel supported, the school makes things too hard on the students, we all complain that the school is hard and the benchmark defenses are always on there way and I even had numerous mental break downs because the work is very overwhelming and I can't tell a teacher that because I think they would say something like "well that's good that there struggling, that means that they are learning", I don't believe you'll learn from struggling, this school makes me want to drop out. Students hate the school, I know because I know a vast majority do hate this school.

Impact Academy of Arts and Technology 5

Posted February 06, 2015
- a student
I graduated from Impact four years ago. Now I'm finishing my last semester of college and will soon be the first in my family with a degree. A school's value goes beyond API scores and AP classes. Impact prepared me with the skills and professionalism I needed to navigate and succeed in college and in the job market. Impact students gain experience with public speaking, managing multiple projects, and professional development though Impact's Workplace Learning Experience program. The relationships students have with their teachers and other adults while at Impact develop a sense of maturity, respect, and confidence that I see missing from most other teenagers. In the 8th grade I dreaded the idea of attending Impact when most of my fiends would be at other high schools, but now I can't thank my parents enough for having made that decision for me.


Impact Academy of Arts and Technology 5

Posted January 22, 2015
- a parent
Impact has been the most eye opening experience in education that I have ever had. It has opened a world to my children that they would never have known if they had attended another local school. The staff have always been extremely supportive. They are some of the most caring and dedicated individuals I have ever known.

Impact Academy of Arts and Technology 5

Posted January 08, 2015
- a parent
I have an Impact graduate and another on his way. I love Impact, but more importantly my kids do, too. Learning isn t a passive activity at Impact; it s engaging, collaborative, and relevant. Each student is assigned a teacher who serves as his/her advisor for two consecutive years: one for freshman/sophomore years and another for junior/senior years. This affords a student special attention and support - two ingredients to success that are lacking in most other high schools. The staff is easily accessible and very responsive. And there s a strong sense of community where parents are like minded in the importance of students developing lifelong critical thinking skills.

Impact Academy of Arts and Technology 5

Posted December 26, 2014
- a parent
I am founding parent that has been with Impact for 10 yrs and still counting .... My children have excel in public speaking and have grown to become great learners. Two of my three children have gone to college and have excelled in writing, analyzing and collaboration at the college level and keep a 3.0 GPA. Im able to email teachers and find out if my child is where they should be. Never a bad experience with any of the administration. Now in 2014 my son is enjoying the learning environment, had a blast with his Exhibition loves his after school clubs. No peer pressure nor bullying and he loves to go to school everyday...


Impact Academy of Arts and Technology 1

Posted November 16, 2014
- a community member
Worst experience of my life going here. Kids and many teachers treated me with little respect all through out the four years I spent here. During my senior year, I had a traumatic experience involving the school, and they did very little to help me in order to keep the situation on the down low. Really regret going to this high-school.

Impact Academy of Arts and Technology 1

Posted August 26, 2014
- a parent
This school is unpurposely sending kids to lower academics. The IA Administration is deliberately sending kids to classes that teach them math materials that are meant for a 3rd grader. When we look at the population of the school, a decent majority of these kids are ready for higher math and with the UC's system's demanding more AP and higher academics, kids who graduate from this school will most likely fail that system due to the management of Ms.Tucci and her staff and the ignorant hipster hippie loving teachers. This school own promotes an agenda of liberalism and is a biased school which will only make kids fail and make a deep whole of failer. As a IA graduate who goes to UCSC I am ashamed of the way this school has turned out and the way they are making kids repeat courses which they have excelled in already.

Impact Academy of Arts and Technology 5

Posted September 17, 2013
- a parent
Impact is the best school in east Bay Area. My daughter graduated in 2013 and she is going to UCSC. My son is a freshmen here in Impact. I am so happy and also big fan of Impact, they have the best teachers, staff and students.


Impact Academy of Arts and Technology 4

Posted January 30, 2013
- a parent
The school provides a great intimate invironment where students can know their teachers and the teachers know them. I concur with the post of 10-29-12 the 11th grade Language Arts teacher is lacking (doesn't post grades but once a month and then it's too late to fix bad grade problems, failed to assist a student even after parent involvement) and has failed to help two students that I personally know. Every other teacher has been great, interested in students doing well and helping to resolve what ever is stopping the student from doing their best. Motivated! As a freshman my son was afraid to attempt his physics class, then he came home and proudly said, "I love physics!!" My son was a D and F student prior to Impact. He now has a 2.5 GPA. It's a hands on school so it's fun and things just "click" for the students. Safe invironment and they take the rules seriously. MUCH BETTER than Hayward High.

Impact Academy of Arts and Technology 5

Posted December 10, 2009
- a student
I am happy student in Impact all of the teachers are great and they all support me when i need help. They never let me fall behind and thanks to that my grades are good. Im glad i have the opportunity to attend this great school!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Impact Academy of Arts and Technology
2560 Darwin Street, Hayward, CA  94545
(510) 300-1560
Last modified Impact Academy of Arts and Technology is a Charter school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Impact Academy of Arts and Technology Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top