Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Moreau Catholic High School

Private | 9-12 | 904 students

We are known for our college-prep, tech infused curriculum & our Arts programs.

 
 

Living in Hayward

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $220,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,480.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 23, 2014

My daughter is in this school from Grade9. In her sophomore and junior years she took school s great program Mock Trial . During her time of participation, school became Champion in Alameda County Mock Trial competition in 2013 and 2014. During 2nd semester of her junior year, which just concluded yesterday, observed that her grade was going down and she was absent and tardy too many days. Brought this to school s attention and wrote emails to all her teaches requesting to update status of her test and homework assignments. Surprised to find out that in some difficult subjects she missed assignments and tests. Teachers replied everyday and updated me. From time stamped on the email I could see that some teachers even responded from their dinner table & very early in the morning from home. Within a month she was up to date with all her due tests & assignments. Her grade also went up. This was not possible without help from her dedicated teachers and school admin. My daughter is not their only student. But they gave special attention and save my daughter from complete train wreck. An example how teachers and school admin working with parent can make a difference in student s life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2014

Moreau Catholic has a program specifically set up to support students with learning challenges- Saints and Scholars program.. The coordinator is wonderful and when I speak with the administration, I feel supported. That said, on a day to day basis, I feel we are constantly reminding teachers about our accommodations. Explaining what dyslexia is. Reminding teachers that our students intelligence is not the issue. All in all it feels like my other full time job as a parent to shepherd my child through this school. It is a very high pressure academic environment and thus rather battering to students self esteem. If you have a intelligent child with good self esteem and involved parents, then this school can work for you. If anything is at all shaky I would think carefully.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2013

I graduated from Moreau Catholic High back in 1985, my Son now attends and is a sophomore and we've been through the freshman year. Wow, it was tough, but I have seen him develop 10 times faster than most of his peers in other schools in the area. It truly is a college prep school and you certainly get what you pay for. Moreau is an Apple Distinguished School and the kids all use Macbook Pro's for their schoolwork. The academics are outstanding and the sports are top notch. I like the diversity of the school, in his class it's about 40% Asian, 30% White & 30% Hispanic & African American, it's a good mix just like the Silicon Valley as a whole. The music & drama departments are just phenomenal and are on par with college level performances. It may not be for every student, but if you wish for your kid to be trained to be a future leader in silicon valley business or his/her local community this is a great place to start.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2011

I had two children who recently graduated from Moreau. It was an excellent experience for both of them. The band program is amazing. There are after school sports activities for everyone. The cross country program is fantastic for all skill levels. The best part of the school is the morals that it imparts. It is a religious school but the students are taught to be open-minded. There have been a few sub-par teachers, but overall my children had a wonderful education and both are amazed at how ill-prepared many of their classmates in the university are. The school is expensive, but there are many students there on work scholarships and there is no stigma attached to that. I would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2010

Great staff. they are very attentive to their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2010

The teachers are really great and encourage you to do your best. The work is really intense but you are encouraged to be the best you can be. The only negative there is are the students that go there. they are extremely materalistic and snobby. It's pretty much all about the money. There is a lot of stabbing in each others backs and fakeness among the students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2009

Because Moreau always gives back. Each student gives a MINIMUM of twenty hours PER school year giving back, which equals 80 hours of service required for graduation. Plus, our unity is amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2009

Moreau was a great place, but mostly because of the teachers. I graduated in '08, and am now a freshman with a 4.0 average. Its not that they just teach you the material, they teach you how to love learning and love the subject you're intrested in. The teachers are very dedicated and will be there for you when you need it (save a few exceptions, but they generally fall away after a year or so). My only complaint is in the administration's use of school funds: they tend to spend too much on image.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 29, 2007

Moreau has a wide range of opportunities for anyone who wants to succeed in college. It's pretty liberal, and there are many AP/honors classes, athletic opportunities for everyone (XC comes to mind), lots of clubs, a laptop program for all the students (although this is also a negative), a newly revamped library, and most of all, teachers who are amazingly dedicated. Some teachers will stay until 11 PM if you need help, and they'll work during vacations to finish writing your college recommendations. Cons: expensive dress code, bad laptop program, some bad teachers - science dept especially, small campus, no pool, smaller amount of electives (no cooking/sewing/woodshop).
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 4, 2006

Moreau was intense, but I feel it really prepared me for college. Definitely research this school before you send your child there- it's extremely stressful and academically competitive. Overall, I'm happy with what Moreau gave me.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 15, 2007

I love Moreau! The teachers don't just teach how to regurgitate information--they teach us how to think critically as independent learners. Moreau changed me for the better
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 4, 2006

The academics at Moreau is great and all the teachers have a unique way of teaching whatever their subject may be, with so many different teachers who teach many different ways it is very easy to find your own sense of learning. Music and sports are a big part of Moreau as well is the band. Both jocks and band members are recognized and praised for whatever sport or instrument.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 10, 2006

Well Im not a parent but I go to moreau and it really is a good school. But its for those who are ready for the hard work that goes with a preparatory highschool. Although it is a catholic school, it is a very liberal and opening highschool. Moreaus saying is ' that the mind will not be cultivated at the expense of the hear' and believe me it is very true, as a current student about to graduate Im very glad that my parents sent me here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 25, 2005

This School is very good, but not for everyone. You need to do your research regarding the school before you make any commitment, it is your childs future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2005

Moreau is a fabulous school. I am going to be a sophomore and I enjoyed freshman year a lot. Moreau has a lot to offer their students. I was in two different clubs, participated in three sports and both of the school's plays while mantaining a 3.87 GPA.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 17, 2005

I am impressed with the level of available classes and programs, both during school and as extracurricular activities. Some teachers are not quite as high standard as I would have expected from this type of school, but overall I am satisfied with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2005

A true quality school. An exceptional start for any future.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 28, 2005

I am an Alumni of Moreau and when I graduated it was the best high school around. The teachers where great. They always took the time to help you if you needed it. I haven't been there in so long that I am not sure of the quality now, but then it was terrific.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 29, 2004

Moreau is a wonderful school! Great teachers, caring community, safe campus, and excellent visual and performing arts programs. One of the best kept secrets in the Bay area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

Unlike most college prep schools, Moreau gives access to those usually unable to attend such. Unfortunately, this is often wasted on those who need to know, but the students feel it and as such, the campus is extremely safe, productive and full of energy. I dare say that no other college preparatory school can match the atmosphere or attitude. We've compared in the Bay Area (and know the stories of other 'kind' schools) and know Moreau is the Gateway that people of color need! Their achievement record speaks for itself, but again, it's the friendly and confident kids they graduate from there that makes it all worthwhile. Our son is our most valuable asset, so our investment in schools is extremely important, but we didn't expect the other 'benefits' of comraderie, safety, and self-assurance that the school also provides. The nationally reknown music program is something you don't see anymore (every high achievement school shouldn't be judged by its football or basketball teams). Moreau is well worth a look for any parents serious about making sure their child(ren) are ready for the 21st Century.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Asian 44%
Hispanic 17%
White 17%
Two or more races 16%
Black 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Mandarin)
French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Recycling club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Anime club
  • Drama club
  • Literary magazine
  • Marching band
  • Student newspaper
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Cooking club

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:40 pm
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Terry Lee
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
  • http://www.moreaucatholic.org
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (510) 581-5669

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Honors track
  • Hybrid
  • Project-based
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Religious
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Shuttle/Van from BART
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Oakland
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Badminton
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Water polo
Girls sports
  • Badminton
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Water polo

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Amnesty international
  • Anime club
  • Book/reading club
  • Cooking club
  • Drama club
  • Lesbian, gay, transgender club
  • Literary magazine
  • Marching band
  • Mock trial competition club
  • National Honor Society
  • Recycling club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

Submit your application by

January 08, 2014

 
 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$15000 - $15000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
SAT/ACT prep classes
College presentations or information sessions
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

27170 Mission Boulevard
Hayward, CA 94544
Website: Click here
Phone: (510) 881-4300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Victory Academy
Hayward, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT