Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


24 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Moreau Catholic High School 5

Posted May 23, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is in this school from Grade9. In her sophomore and junior years she took school s great program Mock Trial . During her time of participation, school became Champion in Alameda County Mock Trial competition in 2013 and 2014. During 2nd semester of her junior year, which just concluded yesterday, observed that her grade was going down and she was absent and tardy too many days. Brought this to school s attention and wrote emails to all her teaches requesting to update status of her test and homework assignments. Surprised to find out that in some difficult subjects she missed assignments and tests. Teachers replied everyday and updated me. From time stamped on the email I could see that some teachers even responded from their dinner table & very early in the morning from home. Within a month she was up to date with all her due tests & assignments. Her grade also went up. This was not possible without help from her dedicated teachers and school admin. My daughter is not their only student. But they gave special attention and save my daughter from complete train wreck. An example how teachers and school admin working with parent can make a difference in student s life.

Moreau Catholic High School 5

Posted August 21, 2013
- a parent
I graduated from Moreau Catholic High back in 1985, my Son now attends and is a sophomore and we've been through the freshman year. Wow, it was tough, but I have seen him develop 10 times faster than most of his peers in other schools in the area. It truly is a college prep school and you certainly get what you pay for. Moreau is an Apple Distinguished School and the kids all use Macbook Pro's for their schoolwork. The academics are outstanding and the sports are top notch. I like the diversity of the school, in his class it's about 40% Asian, 30% White & 30% Hispanic & African American, it's a good mix just like the Silicon Valley as a whole. The music & drama departments are just phenomenal and are on par with college level performances. It may not be for every student, but if you wish for your kid to be trained to be a future leader in silicon valley business or his/her local community this is a great place to start.


Moreau Catholic High School 5

Posted January 14, 2011
- a parent
I had two children who recently graduated from Moreau. It was an excellent experience for both of them. The band program is amazing. There are after school sports activities for everyone. The cross country program is fantastic for all skill levels. The best part of the school is the morals that it imparts. It is a religious school but the students are taught to be open-minded. There have been a few sub-par teachers, but overall my children had a wonderful education and both are amazed at how ill-prepared many of their classmates in the university are. The school is expensive, but there are many students there on work scholarships and there is no stigma attached to that. I would highly recommend this school.

Moreau Catholic High School 4

Posted March 29, 2010
- a parent
Great staff. they are very attentive to their students.

Moreau Catholic High School 3

Posted February 17, 2010
- a student
The teachers are really great and encourage you to do your best. The work is really intense but you are encouraged to be the best you can be. The only negative there is are the students that go there. they are extremely materalistic and snobby. It's pretty much all about the money. There is a lot of stabbing in each others backs and fakeness among the students.


Moreau Catholic High School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Because Moreau always gives back. Each student gives a MINIMUM of twenty hours PER school year giving back, which equals 80 hours of service required for graduation. Plus, our unity is amazing.

Moreau Catholic High School 0
no rating

Posted January 18, 2009
- a student
Moreau was a great place, but mostly because of the teachers. I graduated in '08, and am now a freshman with a 4.0 average. Its not that they just teach you the material, they teach you how to love learning and love the subject you're intrested in. The teachers are very dedicated and will be there for you when you need it (save a few exceptions, but they generally fall away after a year or so). My only complaint is in the administration's use of school funds: they tend to spend too much on image.

Moreau Catholic High School 4

Posted December 26, 2008
- a student
Moreau has a wide range of opportunities for anyone who wants to succeed in college. It's pretty liberal, and there are many AP/honors classes, athletic opportunities for everyone (XC comes to mind), lots of clubs, a laptop program for all the students (although this is also a negative), a newly revamped library, and most of all, teachers who are amazingly dedicated. Some teachers will stay until 11 PM if you need help, and they'll work during vacations to finish writing your college recommendations. Cons: expensive dress code, bad laptop program, some bad teachers - science dept especially, small campus, no pool, smaller amount of electives (no cooking/sewing/woodshop).


Moreau Catholic High School 4

Posted November 27, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Moreau Catholic High School 5

Posted September 10, 2008
- a student
Moreau was intense, but I feel it really prepared me for college. Definitely research this school before you send your child there- it's extremely stressful and academically competitive. Overall, I'm happy with what Moreau gave me.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Moreau Catholic High School
27170 Mission Boulevard, Hayward, CA  94544
(510) 881-4300
Last modified Moreau Catholic High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Moreau Catholic High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top