Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bautista Creek Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 922 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 12, 2014

My daughter has gone to this school since kindergarden.Mrs. Buri was amazing! Mrs.Minor was the best teacher ever.I don't care what everyone else thought,she went above and beyond.Mr. VanZee was a great teacher,my daughters reading took off in his class and he rewarded them perfectly! Love this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2013

All 4 of my children went/go to Bautista Creek. I've only had one negative teacher experience. There is a huge parent involvement at this school, which keeps it tight knit. I like this because we feel connected to our children's school and part of a community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2012

Teachers are stuck up ,gossip , Very clicky . Lack of supervison .They have limited resources for special needs and treat their autistic pupils like animals .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2012

My Daughter had Mrs. Anderson for 2nd grade 2011-2012. I have to admit, that even though I am not too crazy about the school as a whole, what made this year fun and educational was Mrs. Anderson's exceptional abilities and skills. She is so well-prepared, so patient, so encouraging, and a pleasant teacher to communicate with. She is always open to discussions about children's advancement and steps toward improvement, and takes a genuine interest and pride in her students. If I had a chance to leave Kayla in her class all the way to high school I would have gladly done so. Mrs. Anderson has restored my faith again in public education teachers, and I can only hope for Kayla to have teachers like her in the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2011

Take this from a kid who went there from Kindergarten to 5th grade, I'm going into the 7th grade this year, and I have gone to Bautista Creek since kindergarten to grade 5. It is an amazing school... They have so many things to learn, and the teachers are awesome! I go to Acacia, and it isnt the same honestly, but it's because it's a middle school. Bautista has taught me everything I need to know. I have never gotten bullied, and the kids are great. I really miss that school and I want to go back... So parents, instead of taking advice from other parents, take it from me! I also had no problem with the homework. The teachers give us like what, 3 pages of homework? Honestly, that is not alot. in middle school it's worse. My friend came to Bautista and loved it, she was going to go to Little Lake, but that school looked apperantly "bad" to her, but she went for a while and hated it. But when she came to Bautista she loved it. :) We're still friends till' the end and I hope everyone loves this school! It is for sure AMAZING, and it will always be my HOME. <3


Posted June 11, 2011

It's a nice school..They do have a lot of homework, and a lot of the stuff is far too advanced for the children's ages..My daughter just completed her 1st grade, and I was very overwhelmed with the amount of work she had to bring home..And I do have a graduate school degree so I am quite capable of assessing the level of difficulty appropriate for grade levels....I was extremely disappointed that for 2 years in a row, I paid PTA fees, and expressed my willingness and availability to participate in PTA functions, and not once was I offered the opportunity..The PTA seems to be a very exclusive club and very clique... The only reason I stuck with the school for this long were the wonderful teachers Mrs. Buri, Mrs. Valencia, and Mrs. Cullen-Carroll...` This year I am very seriously considering going back to private school because the public school system seems to keep deteriorating everyday...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2011

LOVE THIS SCHOOL!! All three of my boys had Mrs. VanZee. She is by far the best teacher ever. I love Bautista Creek and I will miss this school when my youngest goes on to 6th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

Both of my children attend Bautista Creek and they love it. My little boy is in Mrs Panzarella's Kindergarten class. He is a very shy little boy and she has worked wonders in bringing him out of his shell. She is kind, caring, encouraging, and not afraid to be silly:-) My daughter is in Mrs. Marty's first grade class. I could not have asked for a better teacher. She is wonderful. Both of my children love to go to school and I have their teachers to thank for making it such a positive experience for them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

Totally agree, my daughter is in Mrs.Hiner's class, she along with Mrs.Valencia, and Mrs Buri are tremendously dedicated to their students,and class, all awhile,the state's political crisis that all public school teachers must be facing right now, these teachers remain diligent towards the job they do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2010

Great School and good conscientous teachers.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 31, 2009

Bautista Creek is a fabulous school! My child has excelled there thanks to the principal, teachers, and support staff. My student is highly gifted and the school has been fantastic at meeting her needs. The students who have special needs are so well taken care of and included in all of the school activities. This school has so much to offer their students such as Walk to Learn, computer based programs such as Lexia and Success Maker, B.C.T.V., parent/ student dances, movies nights....I could go on! The education at this school is top rate and the teachers truly care about their students. I couldn't have asked for a better neighborhood school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2009

My two children go here and from what I have see they really work hard for the kids! And are on top of things when it comes to the safety of the kids.The principals are hands on you see them out there .Not hiding in there office!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2008

Bautista Creek is an excellent school! Both of my children have attended this school from kinder through fifth grade and they have received a tremendous education each and every year. This school goes above and beyond to be an extraordinary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2008

I am the guardian of a great, great nephew who started Kindergarten with Mrs. Panzarella. He excelled in her class and has continued to do so in Mr. Feigums' 1st grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2008

My Daughter is attending her fisrt year at Bautista Creek, we moved recently from another country where English is not the primarly language. The way my daughter has been able to progress sonce fer fisrt day in Kindergarten it's just AMAZING.. We Love, Love, Love the school, we love her Teacher, the enviroment is clean and wonderful. I reconmend it 100%, besides they have a high Test score.. God Bless & Keep it Up!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2007

This is my daughter's first year at this school and I cannot believe what a great school this is. She is doing much better in school then she was doing at her last school thanks to her teacher's help. The teachers are great here and so are the students. We could not pick a better school for our daughter to go to. Thanks Bautista Creek for making a difference in my daughter's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2007

I feel that bautista has great teachers, the teachers and vice principal are outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2006

The numbers may look good, but I am considering the home schooling idea because of their bad attitude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2005

I have had a great experience with my children at this school, I have heard all great things about this school weve been at this school for now 1 year, so we are new to this district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2004

Excellent Back to Basics school. Incredible teachers & staff! Highly regarded school in Hemet with great test scores! Children come first!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

827

Change from
2012 to 2013

+3

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

8 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

827

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+3

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
49%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

151 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

151 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students60%
Females70%
Males52%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino54%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disability5%
Students with no reported disability69%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only63%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate45%
Parent education - high school graduate39%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate50%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students62%
Females64%
Males59%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino54%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)69%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disability16%
Students with no reported disability68%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only63%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate64%
Parent education - high school graduate52%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduate44%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate83%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students51%
Females52%
Males49%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino46%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)55%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability52%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only55%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate27%
Parent education - high school graduate48%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)52%
Parent education - college graduate68%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate46%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students72%
Females68%
Males76%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino66%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability74%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate56%
Parent education - high school graduate65%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)76%
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate83%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students66%
Females69%
Males62%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino65%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability67%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only69%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate54%
Parent education - high school graduate61%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate69%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students71%
Females73%
Males69%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino69%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability72%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate71%
Parent education - high school graduate63%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate69%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students64%
Females64%
Males64%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino61%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disability42%
Students with no reported disability66%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only68%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate79%
Parent education - high school graduate43%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)70%
Parent education - college graduate61%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students71%
Females66%
Males76%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino63%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disability67%
Students with no reported disability71%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate74%
Parent education - high school graduate44%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)80%
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students52%
Females50%
Males55%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino44%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)61%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disability42%
Students with no reported disability53%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only56%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate47%
Parent education - high school graduate31%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)62%
Parent education - college graduate56%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 44%
White 42%
Black 6%
Two or more races 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2%
Asian 1%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 69%N/AN/A
English language learners 7%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 8%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Kristin Watson
Fax number
  • (951) 927-0821

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

441 Lake Street
Hemet, CA 92544
Website: Click here
Phone: (951) 927-0822

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT