Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hermosa View Elementary School

Public | K-2

 
 

Living in Hermosa Beach

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $949,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,180.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 6, 2013

This school is an amazing place, where my older daughter started Kindergarden mid year in January 2013, after we moved from Ireland. She got a lovely, caring teacher whom she will remember for ever. She has learnt a lot since, made numerous friendships and bloomed into a responsible and eager to learn second-grader. I am so glad that she attends Hermosa View. The teachers and the principal are 300% committed to our kids well-being, as well as social and academic success. I can't wait for my 4-year old to enter Her OSA View net fall!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2010

I happen to teach at hermosa view and think 99% of the teachers go above and beyond. Wonderful administration is supportive and really good kids. The challenges that face this school are state funds impacting all public schools... Or lack there of. Overall staff quality is excellent and while fundraising is a must to keep class sizes low, there is a dedicated group of parents and staff working long hours to make test scores grow. Overall, great fundamentals with RTI beginning in 2010. Cons no class cap for kinder..... Those teachers work so hard and are amazing! Great job h beach super small community feel school!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 4, 2009

We have amazing teachers and staff and wonderful parents who really care about the quality of education our kids get.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

The teachers there are amazing!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

We love all of the great students, teachers and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2008

My daughter is in first grade and has a true love for school. What a great start! We are so happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2008

Exactly how every Kindergarten should be! My daughter has attended Hermosa View since Sept. and we ALL could not be happier! She LOVES her teacher Miss Conkey, the classroom, the staff, the music program, the computer lab and all her new little friends! As parents we are SO excited that our daughter will be learning a balance of math, reading, writing, science, art, music, computer skills, social skills, citizenship all while having fun!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2008

My son attends kindergarten. It has been an absolutely fantastic experience. His teacher has a master's degree!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2006

the focus on academics is greatly balanced with the amount of fun. My child seems to have a greater grasp of language and mathematics than other children the same age who attend other schools in the district. the trips to the on campus library has influenced my childs desire to read. High performance is achieved with the support of great teachers, however, my son has been greatly supported by the network of parents who aid in the classes and help your child to develop. I highly recomend this school to all who want to see their child flourish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2005

The limited grade range (K-2) and high level of parent involvement make HVS a school with a strong sense of community. It is obvious in every situation that the staff, teachers and parents care greatly for the children, and work to provide a wide variety of learning opportunities for them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2005

My daughter attended and we loved this school. The principal is truly the best--beloved by all. Size is small enough to stay loving and creative. Highly recommended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

Hermosaview is like a haven for children. Beautiful outdoor access, great teachers and wonderful administration. My daughter came mid year and was embraced by the entire Hermosaview community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2005

This is a school that feels like a family. The parent involvement is at the top and the teachers are ALL wonderful. The kids feel priviledged to attend and the level of education is like that of a high priced private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2005

Two of my children attended this school. I found the teachers to be high quality and the parent involvement exceptional. The facilities could be upgraded but that is part of living in CA with the lowest spending per student in the nation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2004

My son is in 1st grade and he has a fantastic, caring and loving teacher. I couldn't have asked for a better teacher. He also went here for kindergarten and had a great learning experience. Also, the parents are very involved in volunteering their time in the classrooms and externally (PTO, Scrip, etc.).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2004

Great School. Close knit parent community is very involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

934

Change from
2012 to 2013

-27

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

934

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-27

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students83%
Females82%
Males84%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino62%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disability67%
Students with no reported disability85%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students91%
Females89%
Males92%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disability68%
Students with no reported disability94%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 74%
Hispanic 10%
Asian 6%
Two or more races 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Black 1%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 2%N/AN/A
English language learners 1%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1800 Prospect Avenue
Hermosa Beach, CA 90254
Phone: (310) 798-1680

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Hope Chapel Academy
Hermosa Beach, CA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT