Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
5 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Topaz Preparatory Academy
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted December 16, 2015
- a parent
there's little to no communication about homework from teachers, websites aren't visible to parents, it's difficult to get a meeting with the middle school teachers

Topaz Preparatory Academy
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted December 16, 2015
- a parent
The staff doesn't respect the students, so how do they expect the students to respect each other?


Topaz Preparatory Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted December 16, 2015
- a parent
It is a good thing the middle school is being closed. Hopefully those teachers dont go elsewhere in the district.

Topaz Preparatory Academy
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted December 16, 2015
- a parent
This school teaches kids the "easy" way out, especially if the kid is a favorite/teachers kid/cool kid

Topaz Preparatory Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted December 16, 2015
- a parent
I think that the "cool" kids bully the other kids and teachers, especially the middle school math teachers, look the other way.


Topaz Preparatory Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted December 16, 2015
- a parent
I think that the teachers, espcially the middle school teachers, show favoritism and treat students differently depending on the parents.

Topaz Preparatory Academy 1

Posted December 16, 2015
- a parent
The teachers, especially the middle school ones, are unfair, biased, and show favoritism. If your child isn't a "favorite" don't expect any help or support. It's a good thing that the middle school is closing. I'm just concerned that those teachers are going to other schools in the district and more kids will be stuck with them.

Topaz Preparatory Academy 5

Posted August 21, 2015
- a parent
This school is much different from any school I remember and I wish I had the option of attending Topaz predatory academy. The teachers do a fantastic job and it really shows in the students. The system of a TK-8 works wonders for the students characters.


Topaz Preparatory Academy 5

Posted September 05, 2012
- a teacher
I am a teacher at this school, and I can honestly say that in my 23 years as an educator, I have never worked with such dedicated colleagues or administrators. Students simply could not get a better education! The teachers sincerely care about each individual student, and what's even more amazing is that the kids care about each other. The entire staff works hard to foster a culture of leadership, personal responsibility, and integrity in the students. Academics are rigorously taught using a variety of strategies that allow students of all ability levels to access the curriculum. The middle school program offers a unique opportunity for 7th and 8th grade students. With smaller classes, and more personalized attention, students at this critical age are provided with the skills necessary to be successful in high school and college. Simply put, Topaz is an awesome place!

Topaz Preparatory Academy 5

Posted December 05, 2011
- a community member
I am a student at this school and I have to say so far this year has been better than last year. I am a 7th grader and most of my teachers have helped me "maximize my potential" as our motto states. I like that this year middle school gets electives. It helps us feel more like a middle school. I wish we got electives everyday like regular middle schools, but it is better than last year when we only got regular classes. Most of our middle school teachers show interest in our learning and strive to help the transition from elementary to highschool easier. Yes, there is that one teacher that all schools seem to have that may act strict, or unforgiving but most of the staff is great. One of the reason my parents like this school is because the principal is always out and about and knows every single person by name. She is always cheerful and a great Leader of our Tiger Pack. All in all Topaz is a great school where you are alloed to have mistakes.So Topaz Tigers.... Theyre Great!!!

Nearby schools

Topaz Preparatory Academy
14110 Beech Street, Hesperia, CA  92345-8003
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. (760) 244-4622
Last modified Topaz Preparatory Academy is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top