Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Adelaide

Private | K-8 | 182 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Highland

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $165,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $970.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 20, 2014

My child attends St.Adelaide and has been there for 4 years. She is a full grade level ahead in reading and math. She has many friends and is happy there. I find the teachers to be encouraging with high standards. I would recommend. this school without reservation
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2014

I am a parent with with two kids at St Adelaide starting in Kindergarten. The teachers are very caring and nurturing. In fact, both my kids want to be teachers when they grow up. Their teachers inspired them to become teachers. The school is truly a community with such a degree of parental participation and support.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2014

My child was taunted almost every week for being special-needs. Constantly he came home crying. I complained, but the staff constantly looked at my disabled son for acting the only way he knew how. I took my little guy to this school under the assumption that they would accommodate his different learning and social style. Do you know how hard it is for a single father to see OTHER CATHOLICS taunting your special needs child? They even told me that this would be a "loving & nurturing" environment for him. A couple of times I couldn't help but cry myself after the teachers kept saying he had behaviour issues. The child has autism, of course he's going to have behavioural issues! So please, please, think long & hard about sending your child here. Those kids taunted my son for being different. When I complained, they did nothing but look at my son for acting differently than the other kids. He never hit, called names, or was mean to the others. He was just what they considered "weird". I posted this personal story as a warning to all other parents. If you don't want your child to even possibly go through what my son did, please don't send them to St. Adelaide Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2013

Though it is not written anywhere in the parent handbook or mentioned on the school's website, this school does not allow peanut products. Because I made peanut butter sandwiches (we can't afford meat) for my 2nd grade daughter, she was ostracized and made to sit at a table by herself for most of the year. There was one child in her class allergic to peanuts. Her teacher could have at least let some other children who were not allergic to peanuts sit with her. My suggestion - any schools with an anti-peanut policy should put it in bold print in their handbook, put it prominently on their website, and mention it in the initial interview. Had I known I wouldn't have enrolled my kids in the first place. Another thing I did not like was "Buck a jeans" in which the kids paid a dollar or two to have free dress. It sends a hypocritical message to have parents pay for uniforms and then pay for their kids not to wear them. It reminded me of indulgences. What I did like was the very nice middle school science program at that school. That, we will miss.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2012

1. The cost is higher at St Adelaide's, including the fundraising amount for each child enrolled and the requirement of service hours.


Posted June 15, 2010

Excellent preschool program. Wonderful curriculum, religious education, interactive and hands on, arts & crafts. It's obvious the staff loves what they do. I have never heard a teacher raise their voice/yell. All the parents are involved with their children and care so much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

Great with Kids... Pre-School teacher #1... Mrs. Muldoon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2008

My family has been a part of the St. Adelaide community for 7 years and we can't imagine a more nuturing environment for our girls. They have received not only an academic education but have also been taught the importance of involvement in the community. Leadership roles are strongly encouraged by the teachers and administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2007

This school has excellent and devoted teacher, there is an excellent science department for middle school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 17, 2006

This school is a great school. My children have been attending for 5 years. Excellent catholic education. Excellent teachers namely, ms. Suquett & ms. Cuellar from kindergaten and junior high teachers, ms. Malouf, ms. Gastel, & ms. Petit. Principal mcdonald is wonderful and truly cares about the children. I have 5 kids in this school and I am very pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2006

This is an above average school. Kindergarten teachers are excellent. Jr. High science is outstanding under M. Pettitt. Parents are great. Safe and well equiped school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 5, 2005

St. Adelaide School is a beautiful, vibrant school. Students' ethnicity includes primarily caucasian, hispanic, and filipino. K is either a 1 or 2yr program and is excellent. Other outstanding teachers include Ms. Malouf (5th) and Mrs. Pettitt (8th). The school sci. fair is terrific. An open quad keeps all the students and classrooms easily monitored and safe. Way to Go Mustangs!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 9, 2003

Excellent education. I have been involved with children and grandchildren since 1977. My saddest regret is that the teachers are no longer Sisters and Priests but rather lay teachers except for Religion and Principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 40% 52%
White 27% 26%
Asian or Pacific Islander 11% 11%
Two or more races 11% 3%
Black 6% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Greg Blanco
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NAPSEC
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of San Bernardino
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

27457 Base Line Street
Highland, CA 92346
Phone: (909) 862-5851

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Excel Prep Charter
Highland, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT