Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Crocker Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 493 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 27, 2013

Crocker is basically just a private school minus the tuition. AWESOME! Most of the teachers here are great, supportive and encouraging! Since all the students come from wealthy families, they are all polite and very considerate. There has never been a problem with bullying at all. Also, band and HTV programs are great experiences for a student (also look nice on a high-school resume!). 8th grade girls clog up bathrooms too much with their staring into mirrors. So much for "light" makeup. But overall, an amazing school!


Posted April 27, 2013

Before we moved to Hillsborough last summer, we heard about Crocker for its high quality education and legendary music program, but I was concerned about the stereotype of "spoiled, snobby, feeling entitled to everything" kids. After a year at Crocker, I can honestly say the concern is unfounded. If you are a parent who is thinking of moving to the town for the school, do it now... I'll summarize the school in the following five areas: (1) Excellent students: hard working, have great manners, competitive but also collaborative, very funny, and seemly less grown-up than kids at other schools (2) Great administrative staff: have vision and drive, great at communication (3) Teacher qualities vary, substitute teacher qualities are highly questionable (4) The music program, especially the bands, are superb (5) Parents can be divided into three groups: the passionate, the "do my part", and the "don't do much at all". The annual donation rate (~80%) is lower than one would expect from a private school (>95%).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2011

I wrote earlier, I think it's crazy what other students say. The science program is great. Everyone has a chance to participate. I know some other students who almost never pay attention in class and who always talk during class so never know what to do in the labs. The P.E. program is also good. I hate excersise and health class but I hate it because I just don't like running in general and I'm really bad. The teachers don't make you feel bad about it though, they encourage you and congradulate you when you get a faster time. In English we do alot of interactive stuff. We learn how to do projects with others. Honestly, no offence but I'm acing math. The reason others are failing is because they talk too much during class, never do their homework (or copy someone elses), and never studies. Their more interested in their social life and their bf/gf. If they put even the slightest bit of effort, it's easy, not easy as in the teachers are not challenging us, but easy in the sense that I have a great, cool, interesting teacher. I've almost have never seen bullying, like I've probobly seen it, just can't remember because the students are really sweet and awesome.


Posted April 21, 2011

well i am currently a 6th grade student at crocker middle school and i suppose everything you people said about it is true. I mean we are kind of spoiled but we still get to learn in a good environment. At least we wont grow up to be uncivilized. Well the only bad thing since this is my first year was that 8th graders were doing trouble. Overall this a pretty good school.


Posted December 29, 2010

Although this school has many amazing traits, there is one big problem: the students have no idea about what the real world is like. Hillsborough is one of the most affluent towns in the country, and therefore, the students are spoiled and ignorant. For those who are going to attend a public high school, they will be completely shocked. I'm not saying there's anything wrong with being wealthy, but it is a problem if you only know what the most perfect place in the world is like. Crocker shelters their students a lot but over all, it is still a good school.


Posted November 16, 2010

Crocker's academics aren't soo great like people say it is. First off, the science department is ABSOLUTELY horrible. Take it from a girl who goes here! they leave us to do lab work on our own. I have a friend who is failing math. Second, my math teacher is horible. I don't want to point out names, but it's the truth. the p.e. department is horrible too. we have it every other day, and we barely run, and if we do, it counts heavily on my grade. last year i couldn't get one A in p.e. and i tried my hardest on that! the english program is really lacking as well. I really don't like it here. i feel like i'm enclosed in a small little bubble at this school. I have been repeatedly bullied (cyber bullying and verbal) and the vice principal and counselor barely did anything about it. sure, they did talk with me and the other people involved but they never put a serious stop to it. since it is small but not TOO small, everyone knows each other and if you are not "in crowd" then consider yourself unlucky. i can't wait to get out of here. i think it all depends on the teachers you have here. u CAN have a great experience here at crocker- you just need a thick face and a fake smile.


Posted October 17, 2010

Like a private school except free (for the most part). Teachers and students alike demonstrate motivation towards the benevolence of the school. best school i could've asked for as far I'm concerned


Posted July 23, 2010

I just graduated from Crocker and I had an overall great time. I learned so much and had great friends, but the problem is it's really soft. Almost like they're too sweet and always have a pillow under you, which didn't help going into high school. Most of the teachers were exceptional, but the math and science departments weren't so great. Overall the school is amazing and I was so blessed to have been able to have gone there.


Posted October 12, 2009

I am an eighth grader at crocker school and The education is great and for the most part crocker has very good teachers but I feel the P.E. department is less than good and Im not a fan of the class schedules but my biggest complaint is the atmosphere the people here are extremely uptight and they put a lot of pressure on the students and I feel that if they were more relaxed my experience would be much better.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 20, 2009

I am a student here at Crocker- going into seventh grade. I rate it 4 stars. The teaching is pretty good... I agree with a lot of people that the science program is lacking and a few teachers are lacking as well. It is hard to fit into the school because of the strange diversity at Crocker. There are a lot of cliques as people say, but there are a lot of nice people. Its like being in a private school without paying.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 20, 2009

I love Crocker, and while many of the teachers are outstanding, there are a couple scattered around that are not the best, to say the least. Their science program was awful, also, but everything else was fantastic! I hated math at first, but by the end of my eighth grade year I loved it! Yes, there are some cliques, but many more nice people that outweigh the cliquey ones. Overall, a REALLY good, private-school-like-education without the price, it's just the science program and a few teachers that keep it from 5 stars.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 28, 2009

I'm an eighth grader at Crocker Middle School and I love all my teachers, classes, and the environment. Some schools it is considered cool to slack off, but at Crocker it's cool to do well. Socially it has been kind of hard, because of several different cliques. But in what middle school is that not the case? Overall I think Crocker is an amazing school and lots of my friends (including myself) have gotten into private high schools all over the bay area.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 26, 2008

This school has excellent technology and excellent education. If your child goes here, they will most likely excell in the future. The reason why I give this school 3 stars is because if you do not live in the Hillsborough bubble, and if your family is less than perfect, your child most likely have a hard time fitting in with students. Sure, they will have friends, but none that understand where they are coming from. Crocker educates it students so well, but the one category is misses is how normal people live, and how to accept them.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 6, 2008

Outstanding school. Just had an eighth grader graduate and now I have a 6th grader coming in. I'm impressed with the knowledge my oldest came away with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2008

Great School. Great teachers. The only thing that prevents us from giving five stars is the administration. The principal lets a few rich parent s run the school. Ms. Chun is not so much a leader as a liason between the richest parents and the school board.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2007

I love Crocker. Mrs Jaldelrad, Mrs.Torello, and Mrs. Rodrick are great teachers!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 12, 2007

We have been blown away by our experiences at Crocker. The principal, teachers and administration are top-notch. The lunch time programs have something for everyone. The math program is exceptional. HTV is the gem of the school. I know my child is known by the staff and that they have my child's best interests at heart. The after school sports program is mediocre compared with everything else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2006

I go to Crocker, and I think its great here. We have a lot of activities, and our classes are actually interesting. The teachers are understanding, and if there are any problems you can just go see Mrs. Camarillo, the counsellor, Mrs. Sullivan, VP, or Mrs. Chun, Principal for help. We also have many extra activities for talents or specialties like debate club, knitting club, drama, and Oasis. Oasis is a recourse to help with homework incase you're unable to to get it done at home that day. homework center is after school, and that is in the library with computers, lads of books, text books, and a teacher supervisor to help. The sports are great, too. We have golf, lacrosse, basketball(girls) basketball(boys), volleyball, flag football, track, cross country, tennis, baminton, hockey, and soccer. All in all, I really like Crocker.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 21, 2006

Very involved parents, strong school leadership, ample programs due to volunteer fundraising, great school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2006

Great programs. These are the best teachers I have ever met, and I've been a teacher for over 20 years. The only thing missing is orchestra and vocal music.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

961

Change from
2012 to 2013

-8

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

961

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-8

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

170 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

196 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
77%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

158 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
88%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
63%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

159 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

159 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students94%
Females94%
Males95%
African Americann/a
Asian98%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disability80%
Students with no reported disability97%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only95%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)83%
Parent education - college graduate93%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students89%
Females90%
Males87%
African Americann/a
Asian96%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disability55%
Students with no reported disability94%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students92%
Females91%
Males93%
African Americann/a
Asian91%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability92%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only92%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students98%
Females99%
Males98%
African Americann/a
Asian98%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)98%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability99%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only98%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate96%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate99%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students84%
Females88%
Males80%
African Americann/a
Asian84%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate84%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate87%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students51%
Females55%
Males48%
African Americann/a
Asian75%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)43%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability51%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only52%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate51%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate49%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students91%
Females97%
Males84%
African Americann/a
Asian95%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability91%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students38%
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only38%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Students97%
Females96%
Males96%
African Americann/a
Asian94%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)97%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability96%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only96%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate95%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students90%
Females89%
Males90%
African Americann/a
Asian95%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disability73%
Students with no reported disability91%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only90%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students93%
Females93%
Males93%
African Americann/a
Asian95%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disability64%
Students with no reported disability95%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only93%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate92%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 27%
Asian 29% 11%
Hispanic 2% 51%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 7%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2600 Ralston Avenue
Hillsborough, CA 94010
Website: Click here
Phone: (650) 342-6331

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Bridge School
Hillsborough, CA


The Nueva School
Hillsborough, CA



Burlingame High School
Burlingame, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT