Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

North Hillsborough School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 24, 2013

This is an excellent school. I don't understand the bad reviews. I have literally only one problem, and its subtle. I don't like the healthy foods initiative they have,I mean,kids there were healthy before!!


Posted June 9, 2013

North School is a wonderful community of teachers, staff members and parents who all come together to provide the most wonderful quality of education in a local school setting. We have been parents at North for 6 years and continue to be impressed by outstanding writing program, ilab, math instruction and the one on one level of attention our children have received there. We love North School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2013

I cannot say enough good things about this school and its principal, Angela O'Donnell. The staff encouraged my shy son to be part of student government, and next thing I know he is speaking at a board of trustees meeting. North prepared him well for the transition into Middle School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2013

Parents considering this school should take some time to understand the focus of the school and how it relates to the high API score. Preparation for the STAR tests start at the beginning of April and continue through the middle of May. 6 weeks of instructional time is spent preparing for the test. The test itself does not benefit your child but it does benefit the school/district as it directly relates to the high API score of the school. The focus of this school seems to be on attaining a perfect API. Kids who have mastered the material for the STAR test are bored for the six weeks spent preparing for the STAR test. There is no differentiated instruction for those children. They just sit and be bored and waste 1.5 months of a nine month school year without learning anything new or challenging. That is disappointing. It would be nice if the administration focused on the children instead of the API. Every year there is a big announcement of how it improved but really, who is that for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2013

Teachers are not genuinely connected to the kids, but know how to put on a great show to win parent approval. Moved here because of the high public school ratings, but very disappointed. Pulled kids out and put them in private. Best decision I ever made!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2011

A solid school with great teachers, great staff and great administrators who constantly strive to improve the quality of education and quality of school life for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2011

We moved from San Francisco 2 years ago and are blown away by North School and the community of kids, parents, teachers and administrators. This school is comparable to any City Private School and we couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2010

I'm astonished at the poor reviews of North School. Why parents don't appreciate an excellent education for their children is beyond my comprehension. Be thankful for what your school provides for your child; this is an elementary school, not an MBA program!!! The Parent Group, teachers, administration and district level staffing are incredible. I couldn't be more pleased with the amazing education North School is affording both of my children. If you are able, I would 100% recommend this school district, you will not be disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

The new superintendent brings a tide of welcomed change and transparency. North's new principal is experienced and diplomatic. Many teachers are on tenure though so at a classroom level, the kids will be the last to benefit from the improvement. I agree, it has been somewhat disappointing and am hopeful now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

Dissapointing. I had one son go through North 10 years ago. It was terrific. I pulled my children out of the school and now sening them to a private school. The competition is fierce amongst the parents and then filters down to the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2008

I am not as positive about the new teachers. North's loss. Why are so many of the best teachers leaving?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2008

We have great faculty, so it's disappointing when they leave. One teacher left last year to have a baby, and two left to follow a spouse or significant other to an out of state job. New teacher hiring has been generally excellent the past few years, and so far this year seems to be no exception. This is the seventh year I have had children at North, and all of the teachers my children have had have been wonderful, caring, inspiring and professional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2008

My son just completed 2nd grade at North. I was blown away by the responsiveness of my son's teacher and the other North staff, by the extremely comprehensive assessments that pinpointed my child's strengths and weaknesses, and by the sheer multitude of opportunities that North provides.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2007

I have two children at North, and I have been extremely pleased with the quality of the teachers and the programs there. We have met so many wonderful families in the past few years at North, and there is a lot of parent involvement at the school. My kids have been challenged and inspired by the instruction -- my 2nd grader completed a Power Point presentation, which he presented on a 'Smart Board'. My kindergartner loved learning to read last year. She was offered P.E., Music, and Computer Science, and Spanish by some of the best specialists around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2007

Very disapointing year. I do not understand why resources are being spent on tech while classroom aide time is reduced, gifted and special needs are not available to most who need it. District is not appreciative of community resources given to educational excellence, not superficial equipment. I am joining the ranks of parents with no confidence in this administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2007

Five years ago, North was a school of distinction. Parents were involved, teacher morale was high, and the curriculum was innovative. My older child thrived. Families at the school now have no way to compare the school now to what it once was. My younger child has not had the experiences his older brother had. This once great school has inexperienced teachers. They are unresponsive and provide only the minimum to improve the educational quality of the children. North has become a very undistinguished school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2007

My children will be spending another summer being tutored to master all the concepts they were not properly taught this year. It's still the family or tutors pulling up the slack.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

I have been very disapointed with the quality of instruction my children have received this year. Maybe because they both ended up with new teachers, but now my first grader can't read, does not want to, and hates school. She had been so enthusiastic at the beginning of the year. My son who loves math, was bored with the math curriculum. No enrichment was provided nor materials recommended when I asked. I worked in the classroom often. The level of progress and skill levels in both classes was under whelming. My husband and I have arranged to pull up our children's learning slack with a tutoring program over the summer. Why are school resources spent in such silly ways?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2007

My son has had an incredible experience during his five years at North. The teachers are dedicated professionals who go above and beyond to meet the needs of every child. I have seen them on campus many nights and weekends working so hard for our kids. The children are happy and love learning. The counselor and various specialists are extremely talented at what they do. It is not surprising that North is the #1 ranked school in the #1 ranked district in California!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2007

We've been at North for 6 years. The experience is what you make of it. My kids love North School. Fortunately the bad teachers are gone. Now, we have the most, loving and caring teachers I could imagine for my kids. Not to mention the fabulous music, PE and library support. Hang out on the playground after school - the parents are great - everyone is very driven, but what do you expect. Our only complaint is the homework K-2. Kids should have time to hang out.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

978

Change from
2012 to 2013

-11

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

978

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-11

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students96%
Females96%
Males97%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability98%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only96%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students96%
Females96%
Males97%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)97%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability98%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only96%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students89%
Females91%
Males85%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability93%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate90%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students96%
Females100%
Males91%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability95%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only95%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate90%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students100%
Females100%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students99%
Females100%
Males97%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)98%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only99%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate96%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students96%
Females100%
Males91%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)96%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability98%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only96%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students99%
Females100%
Males97%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only99%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate98%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students97%
Females97%
Males97%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)96%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability97%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only97%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate98%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 73%
Asian 15%
Two or more races 7%
Hispanic 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 0%N/AN/A
English language learners 2%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

545 Eucalyptus Avenue
Hillsborough, CA 94010
Website: Click here
Phone: (650) 347-4175

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Bridge School, The
Burlingame, CA


The Bridge School
Burlingame, CA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT