Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

6-12|Private
368 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
29 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Crystal Springs Uplands School 5

Posted January 23, 2015
- a community member
I recently graduated CSUS and have since joined the military and am now in college. CSUS truly allowed me to figure out what path I wanted to follow in life and I will never forget my incredible experiences there. As for preparing me for college? I am currently a freshman, and while many of peers are struggling in a variety of classes, I am excelling! Crystal's workload, if nothing else, taught me valuable time management skills. The "discussion" atmosphere in classrooms at Crystal Springs gave me the experience and confidence to participate very well in college seminars and classes. I met some truly amazing people and am very privileged to be an alum.

Crystal Springs Uplands School 4

Posted December 02, 2014
- a student
This school is pretty ok. Sometimes, I enjoy it. Good teachers. Gryphons lose at every sport.


Crystal Springs Uplands School 5

Posted March 25, 2014
- a community member
I realize that some people think that only snobby and rich kids go here and yes, everyone here has to sort of rich to pay the tuition fee, but the learning expierence is something that can't be beaten. I know this for a fact that because I am a student at CSUS. One negative review is that you come home tired and you don't have any time to do anything else. Yes, it's true that you come home and you are extremely tired, but you still have time to do extra sports. I have friends who do other things right when they get home, but they are still amazing students just like the rest of us.

Crystal Springs Uplands School 2

Posted November 04, 2013
- a parent
Yes, I must admit that many of the teachers here are absolutely wonderful at what they do. There are also many genuinely kind people. However, overall, the school is SO overrated. My daughter is not attending public school and has had numerous teachers who are just as engaging as those she encountered at Crystal Springs. Also, the kids she has met are not snobby and judgmental like those at Crystal. The social environment at this school is absolutely ridiculous. The kids are mean, competitive, and have their heads up there a****. Mind you I am not saying this of all the students, but this accounts for 75% of the school's population. Overall, not happy at all. Save your 40,000 dollars a year for college. It isn't all about the NAME of the school. It's about where your kids will be happy, work hard, having an actual high school experience, and learn. The only positive comments on here come from those who have attended the school. Having spent so much money on it, they fear thinking it was anything but the excellent. However, they are wrong. I even have my second child attending right now, and he will be leaving the school at the end of the year.

Crystal Springs Uplands School 2

Posted July 28, 2013
- a community member
The education one receives at Crystal is unparalled, but the students are judgemental, immature, and uninteresting. Your kid will not have a real high school experience (socially), but will be virtually guaranteed to matriculate to an amazing college. Nevertheless, the negative and competitive nature of the students is toxic, and can really take a toll on a child's psyche. Think twice before you send your child to Crystal.


Crystal Springs Uplands School 5

Posted April 01, 2013
- a parent
As my son finishes his time at CSUS as a senior, and can only concur that it is an outstanding educational institution in every way. Most recently the guidance he received from the college counseling office has been extraordinary. Their judgment, caring, insight, and devotion has been impressive and the results outstanding. Crystal shapes future leaders like no other school in the Bay Area.

Crystal Springs Uplands School 5

Posted February 26, 2013
- a community member
Look at the poor grammar that plagues each negative review of CSUS and decide for yourself whether or not each is worth regarding. Crystal Springs is the most amazing high school on the planet. As a college student, I have even more admiration for the high school education I was privileged enough to enjoy. The teachers are phenomenal and the academics are outstanding. Crystal's size gives it a distinct and vibrant community. Where else would seventh graders feel comfortable leading clubs full of upperclassmen? There is no doubt in my mind that my friends from Crystal will forever be my closest ones. I feel the same way about my teachers and classes. In my mind, the money my parents spent to send me to Crystal is well worth the consequence of having to take out loans to pay for my entire college tuition. I simply don't think that I can recommend something more fervently than Crystal Springs. It's an unparalleled high school education. It lives up to its mission to instill every one of its students with a love of lifelong learning. And, if you choose to send your child to Crystal, it will be one of the best decisions you'll ever make.

Crystal Springs Uplands School 5

Posted October 01, 2012
- a parent
Great school. Very smart kids. Great leadership and committed teachers. First class all around. These are your future leaders.


Crystal Springs Uplands School 5

Posted September 21, 2012
- a parent
I am a new parent at Crystal and my 6th grader could not be more pleased with his experience. He comes home feeling inspired and happy, and he has made friends who are interesting and fun. He loves having the opportunity to participate in athletics as well as music, and he has been encouraged to challenge himself by trying new things and moving out of his comfort zone academically and outside of the classroom. I think the Middle School is developmentally appropriate and treats Middle School students as middle schoolers, not mini-high schoolers. I have been nothing but pleased so far. Great school.

Crystal Springs Uplands School 5

Posted September 06, 2012
- a parent
A fantastic school. Both my children attended, one from grade 6-12 and the other from grade 9-12. Academically focused, yet nurturing at the same time. Just enough offbeat to make it fun. My college sophomore has been unbelievably well prepared for college.

Nearby schools

Crystal Springs Uplands School
400 Uplands Drive, Hillsborough, CA  94010
(650) 342-4175
Last modified Crystal Springs Uplands School is a Private school that serves grades 6-12
Top