Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
Hughson, CA
Students enrolled: 455
Before care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Emilie J. Ross Middle School 5

Posted April 04, 2014
- a parent
Emilie J Ross, my daughter has been attending this school for a couple of years now. I really enjoy the quaintness of the town and school. The teachers are very nice, easy to talk to and take the time to listen.

Emilie J. Ross Middle School 2

Posted January 28, 2009
- a parent
Emilie J Ross Middle school leaves a lot to be desired. It is unfortunate that what is in our childrens best interest is not the primary focus of the staff and in particular the Principal. We do have a few caring and passionate teachers but, apathy runs through our school like a disease. The Principal touts his strong communication philosophy- And thats about all he communicates- He is to busy patting himself on the back for the past accomplishments of teachers and students at Fox Rd elementary instead of addressing the many problems that plague our school today.


Emilie J. Ross Middle School 5

Posted February 12, 2007
- a parent
We come from a different school. This school is new to us. In a short amount of time my kids improved their test scores. This school does everything possible so kids can succeed. There are programs afterschool to help kids achieve their goals as an educated goal getter. This school offers tutoring and many great teachers that offer great help. It's true this school is not what people expect from the outside but this school is very focused on the kids education. They don't just focus on the spanish speaking children. Education is the key to success. (remember that). They are very disciplined and safety is a concern to this school. Parents should be involved more in their kids. Missing a days work and speaking to teachers makes a big difference in your childs life.

Emilie J. Ross Middle School 2

Posted September 19, 2006
- a parent
I think that for the most part the teachers are there for our children, however the leadership of the school leaves a lot to be desired.

Emilie J. Ross Middle School 4

Posted April 11, 2006
- a teacher
Emilie J. Ross school is a place whose teachers have children as our focus and helping them grow into well balanced, educated young people our goal.


Emilie J. Ross Middle School 3

Posted February 02, 2006
- a parent
Ok school. I know they are trying, but they seem to be focused more on low income, non english speaking kids more than others. Therefore, these children seem to be falling through the cracks.

Emilie J. Ross Middle School 4

Posted August 19, 2005
- a parent
Emilie J. Ross is a school with great staff at all levels. The programs are supportive of the students and consequences, good and bad, are equitably applied to all students. This is a small town school without big city elements. People move to Hughson because of the excellent schools.

Emilie J. Ross Middle School 3

Posted July 10, 2005
- a parent
I have two children one is in the gate program, where the other one struggles to make good grades. The one in the gates program always gets encouragement from teachers, principal, etc., the other one who needs the encouragement only gets negative energy. There is parent involvement, but its a an inner-circle thing, outsiders are made to feel just like that as outsiders. The school offers art, music at a cost.


Emilie J. Ross Middle School 2

Posted April 29, 2004
- a parent
My experience with this school has not been too great. Yes a few of the teachers are good, but there are several that need to leave because they simply are fake when it comes to caring about these students needs. Not every child learns the same, and alot of these kids suffer when the staff refuses to go the extra mile to help learning disabled childern. The resource class is great, however some main stream classroom teachers will only put your child down in front of other students when your child struggles in the classroom. I really think there should be cameras in the class, with sound. It would actually help the teachers as well. Teachers complain about their privacy, but lets face it, we are being watched by cameras every where already. Our childern deserve to be treated fairly. Parents should listen to their childrens complaints, one negative word does affect your child.

Emilie J. Ross Middle School 5

Posted May 04, 2003
- a community member
this is a wonderful school to put your child in, the staff is wonderful!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Emilie J. Ross Middle School
7448 Fox Road, Hughson, CA  95326
(209) 883-4425
Last modified Emilie J. Ross Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Emilie J. Ross Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top