Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ethel Dwyer Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Huntington Beach

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $622,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,850.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 14, 2014

My kid is in 6th grade GATE at Dwyer. The comment about the school "dumbing down" the math curriculum is no longer correct. In response to intense parent concern, the district has sent a letter to parents of children in advanced math to let them know that there will be algebra for qualified 7th graders and geometry for 8th graders. GATE language arts is very good. My kid has read short classics and poetry, learned literary analysis and critical evaluation. Math is advanced and I feel my child is challenged, although we do supplement all work at home as well. It's a very good public school. Teachers have responded to all of my queries or concerns. (except one -- woodshop -- who seems lackadaisical and indifferent but there are always inadequacies no matter where you're at). Overall, very satisfied. Remember that even when a child doesn't have a great teacher, or an unfair teacher, THAT experience itself is a learning experience. You cannot nor should you insulate your child from everything. I am concerned, however, by the foul language kids at schools (probably most schools) use nowadays, which I hear when I pick up my kid. It is a disgrace.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2014

This school is okay. The school district has chosen to be dumb down the math for all grades next year, so Dwyer will no longer offer accelerated math to 6th graders, algebra to 7th graders, or geometry to 8th graders. The kids spend a lot of time on their phones during class, and the teachers teach straight out of their manuals. In English, the kids don't even read entire books; instead, they read shortened "mcbooks" geared toward standardized tests. Kids aren't formally taught how to write, and have no idea how to structure an essay. My child has not once written a formal lab report for science. If you just want your kids out of the house and in a safe holding pen until they move on to high school, this school is for you. If you have a bright kid who wants to do something other than learn to a standardized test, consider sending her elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2013

AMAZING school with AMAZING leadership!! These people really care about the children and families! I have always felt welcomed every time I have ever walked into the office. The teachers are more than willing to help and support, and the principle and vs principle will do whatever needed to make it happen! My son has received so much love and support at Dwyer from all! We came from a horrific school where there was a ton of bulling, a very cold un caring staff, a few real bad teachers, and a NIGHTMARE of a principle, Ms O at Harbor View! My son has thanked me for getting him here! He is a straight A student, Honor Roll, with a 4.0 GPA so I am a happy grateful mom! THANK YOU Dwyer, and Dr Smith for all the wonderful things you do for our kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2013

My school is 2nd to none on making sure ALL students get the best education they can get for the 3 years that the students attend. The Teachers really care & make sure the students EARN their grades. The front office staff handles matters with respect and careful consideration whenever you may have an issue of any sort. In schools, it's the help of parents, like myself, to help make the school successful by being a volunteer to make things happen. You get a good feeling when you're involved because you see 1st hand that you can, maybe, do anything good to help the kid's succeed. I'm close to all the issues and success that the PTA does, and with Dr. Smith giving his TEAM direction, anything is possible the Dwyer the best school ever.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2013

I have 3 Children that have gone to Dwyer. We are impressed with how things are handled by the principal Mr. Smith. The new Zap program is great! It keeps kids accountable for their OWN classwork/homework. I am thankful for this great school, in our wonderful community. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2013

We have 2 sons at Dwyer School. One graduated in 2012 and one is going to 7th grade. It's a very good school, academically. Even though a Title 1 (school with high % of low income), it continuously improves its STAR scores every year in 7 years, and now is the # 1 middle school in district. It ranks 9 out of 10 (10 is the best) in statewide, and on the right path to reach the 10 in near future. The principal is great and understandable. He supports students wanting in higher education. My 2nd son was transferred from elementary, and placed in accelerated Math 6 with history/english in GATE. We asked the principal to place him in pre-algebra (after showing his excellent STAR results), he agreed. My son performed well and now ready to take on algebra 1 in 7th grade. Thanks to principal. Most teachers are nice; They do care for kids. Some give too little or nothing on homework. That makes kids lazy and lose their studiousness habit, and unlikely improving their knowledge. I like some teachers giving hw around 30 min per subject, or 45 minutes for GATE. Dwyer has great GATE program, enjoys lots of volunteered parents. Dwyer produces many excellent students going to high schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2013

Uninspired homeroom teachers! My son got bad home room teachers two years in a row and now he hates school! They were there going through the motion but they are not really teaching nor do they really care whether the kids are learning. Forget the part about them taking initiative to inspire the kids to learn. My son is like a boiling angry person inside because he can never get the feeling of being on the right with the teachers who seem to flush him down the toilet in everything he tried to do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2013

I have 2 children at Dwyer (6th & 8th) and I could not be happier. We have lived in 3 diff. states & my children have attended 8 diff. schools and this is by far is the best (previous school was 10). Teachers are amazing and the principal is the best! Music program is spectacular esp. the teacher! Everything of course is not perfect but I feel that you get from a situation what you put in. I work with the teacher that I have. They each have different styles - just as the kids do. I have found that almost all teachers are receptive and care about the students. It is a great place to learn and I am not an easy person to please. I have never met a better principal - truly gifted in what he does. My children are both very different - one in GATE, the other has some academic challenges. The school has handled both situations exceptionally. For example, my son was struggling on his math tests, due to inattention and he now takes his tests in the principals office & he has rec'd 100 on both of his last tests. My daughter recently applied to some private high schools & both principal and teachers wrote numerous ltrs of recomm. without any hassle. Truly a "Great School."
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2012

Our daughter is doing very well at Dwyer. Is it Dwyer or her? She's in GATE and scores very high in standardized tests. The GATE program at Dwyer is very good in that it requires the students to show initiative and take responsibility. She works very hard on her school work to achieve her results. She is taking Algebra in 7th while one of her friends who was good in math in elementary school is now struggling in basic math, which I find puzzling. The school offers many levels of math for 7th graders, from algebra, pre-algebra, math and basic math [my son took math in 7th & pre-algebra in 8th].
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2011

I love it here, especially the teachers and other staffs. But the students here can be disrespectful, mean, and some even say inappropriate things.


Posted August 6, 2010

Interesting to read other reviews and know our experience has been completely different with this school and principal. My child was placed in inappropriate class 2 years in a row she could not keep up with and my phone calls and emails regarding the matter were not returned and now she faces having to repeat them in high school. 2 quarters last year she received inaccurate grades on her report card from careless teachers looking only to their own retirement and caring not about their "oopsie". Now we can only hope it doesn't affect her placement next year. I think she's actually dumber having attended here. My little girl learned from this school that she's just a girl and she does not matter. Great lessons for the 21st century Dwyer. I couldn't be happier she won't go there next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2010

Dwyer was an excellent school. My daughter learned so much and made tons of friends that have lasted through the years. They care about the students, the teachers & the community and we were proud to be Jr. Oilers :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2010

ethel dwyer middle school is awesome and the kids teachers and everybody else are super!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2010

Dwyer is an excellant Middle School. This starts at the top with an amazing Principal, Don Rusinger. I have seen him reach out and change the direction of children that were at a crossroads in their lives., He is open to all activities that reflects the diversity of the student population. He is a great communicator and a beloved fisture in our community. We love Dwyer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2009

i love this school and i will miss it after this year because i am in 8th grade and i went here all three years!! I Dwyer!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 27, 2009

I really like it here, it's nice and pretty much clean. Activities are fun, and the classes aren't TOO hard. Except for Mrs. Durbin :P but she's nice : D
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 21, 2009

The principal, Mr. Ruisinger, is the most organized, involved and hoest pricipal I have ever met. Every Sunday night we get a message from him saying what to expect in the coming week. He is upfront about the budget challenges the school faces and handles bullies immediately and thoroughly. I do not have one bad thing to say about this great school. It is meeting it's challenges and exceeding it's goals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2009

My daughter and my Niece both go to Ethel Dwyer Middle School. this is 6th, 7th and 8th grade. The teachers are wonderful, the principal is very involved with the student and teachers and sends out phone calls at least once a week as well as daily emails to all the parents with updates and activities with the school. Wonderful School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2008

Dwyer rocks! They have the best staff and students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 10, 2007

4 Stars, great staff and friendly atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

895

Change from
2012 to 2013

0

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

5 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

895

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

0

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

5 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

406 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

405 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
100%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

394 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

297 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

188 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
79%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

410 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
74%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

186 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
56%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

427 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

410 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students81%
Females82%
Males80%
African Americann/a
Asian93%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino68%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disability57%
Students with no reported disability82%
English learner50%
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate52%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)80%
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate90%
Parent education - declined to state75%

Math

All Students77%
Females74%
Males79%
African Americann/a
Asian89%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino63%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Non-economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disability62%
Students with no reported disability77%
English learner33%
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate55%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)70%
Parent education - college graduate78%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate89%
Parent education - declined to state75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students99%
Females98%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)98%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability99%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only99%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate98%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students77%
Females80%
Males75%
African Americann/a
Asian86%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino59%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disability58%
Students with no reported disability79%
English learner21%
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate44%
Parent education - high school graduate48%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)72%
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to state67%

Math

All Students60%
Females62%
Males56%
African Americann/a
Asian83%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino43%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Non-economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disability44%
Students with no reported disability61%
English learner15%
Fluent-English proficient and English only64%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduate43%
Parent education - high school graduate25%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)54%
Parent education - college graduate66%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate74%
Parent education - declined to state64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students78%
Females73%
Males83%
African Americann/a
Asian79%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino71%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Non-economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability78%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented94%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate42%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)85%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate80%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students75%
Females79%
Males72%
African Americann/a
Asian79%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino59%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disability45%
Students with no reported disability76%
English learner20%
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate42%
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)77%
Parent education - college graduate80%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate83%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students60%
Females62%
Males59%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino59%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)58%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Non-economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disability18%
Students with no reported disability69%
English learner46%
Fluent-English proficient and English only63%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate60%
Parent education - high school graduate41%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)58%
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate73%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Students100%
Females100%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students74%
Females71%
Males76%
African Americann/a
Asian76%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino57%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disability32%
Students with no reported disability78%
English learner16%
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate35%
Parent education - high school graduate56%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)75%
Parent education - college graduate80%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate85%
Parent education - declined to state25%

Science

All Students84%
Females82%
Males86%
African Americann/a
Asian88%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino72%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disability55%
Students with no reported disability86%
English learner48%
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate58%
Parent education - high school graduate75%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)81%
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate91%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 57%
Hispanic 23%
Asian 11%
Two or more races 7%
Black 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 23%N/AN/A
English language learners 6%N/AN/A

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 2%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:35
School end time
  • 2:43
School Leader's name
  • Morgan Smith
Fax number
  • (714) 960-0955

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1502 Palm Avenue
Huntington Beach, CA 92648
Website: Click here
Phone: (714) 536-7507

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Amazing Stars Academy
Huntington Beach, CA



California Science Academy
Huntington Beach, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT