Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Joseph R. Perry Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Huntington Beach

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $430,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,070.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 21, 2014

My son is in the preppy k program at this school & it has been amazing! I did not feel he was ready for the rigorous demands of kindergarten yet & this has been the perfect bridge between preschool & kindergarten. The curriculum is the same as kindergarten but is taught at a slower pace to allow for stress free learning. They do a lot of activities that help with fine motor skills & writing too as well as some really fun activities. The principal, Dr. H has been absolutely wonderful! I wasn't sure if this would be the correct placement for my son but after talking with Dr. H (the principal), all my concerns were eased. She is the most caring & involved principal & that spirit radiates throughout the school community. This is not our home school so my son will be somewhere else next year for kindergarten & we will miss Perry very much!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2012

My son attends this school, and he's in the 1st Grade. I have to say, this school is fantastic! Before my son attended Kindergarten here, he was pretty shy, but he has blossomed socially in the last couple of years. Both of the teachers that he has had have been incredible with him, and he honestly enjoys attending school. The principal is also awesome! She is really caring about the childrens' education. The only place where there is room for improvement is parent involvement. The parent involvement at this school is good, but it could be better. I'm not crazy about the PTA leader, as she will not delegate responsibility, preferring instead to take on everything herself while complaining that no one wants to help. I'm sure that many parents would be more involved if we didn't have to go through our PTA president to help out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2012

Perry is a fantastic school and if you get a chance to have your child attend - DO IT! My son is in 5th grade next year and has attended since kindergarten. He is Honor Roll and scores tops in state testing. Perry has jumped 28 points in state test scores in just two years! The teachers, staff, and Principal are wonderful and the PTA has been able to provide programs like Art and Music. I cannot say enough about how great this school is!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2012

My daughter has attendede Preschool here. We loved Miss Cindy and Miss Stacey, and now Mrs Grogan and Miss Nora are amazing teachers. Ive only heard the best things about Mrs Alavrez, and Im so thorned because we may have to move them to another school, but we really wanted our son to learn as much a s our daughter did in Preschool ... Excellent preschool and kindergarten. Dont know much about therest of the grades... but its a good start....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2011

This School is HORRIBLE! The 4 years that my son was there he was basically denied an education. The only great teacher he had there was in 2nd grade, after that it was all down hill. I went into conference & asked his 4th & 5th grade teacher how he was supposed to learn in such a messy classroom, he had no response. The majority of the time the kids were with aids ( that had no teaching credentials ) 80% of the time no homework was given. I sat down with the principal and teacher & explained my concerns & was told changes would be made, yet none were. My friend use to teach at this school & she transferred, telling me to try and get a transfer, because it's bad there all the way around! Sent with my iPhone
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2011

My grandchildren attend Perry School and we are very pleased with the teachers. Mrs. Alvaez, who teaches kindergarten at Perry is just amazing. She has a wonderful way of relating to all the children and motivating them to learn. She should be mentoring all the other kindergarten teachers in the district.


Posted October 20, 2009

My daughter attended Perry for Kindergarten and First grade. Ms. Alverez and Ms. Finster are amazing teachers that will be close to our hearts always. This school has very caring teachers. The school does not have a lot of money but, really care about the students. We had a very positive experience at the school and any issues that came up were handled very well by the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2009

Perry Elementary is a great school. There is active participation by faculty and staff also encourage parent involvement.The PTSA this year is awesome! The new principal is just as awesome! Thank you for your commitment to our children and their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2009

Perry is an amazing school with fantastic staff and wonderful children. The fact that the teachers talk with the children and not at them makes such a big difference. My child has found a wonderful new confidence since he has been at Perry. I want to say that Mrs.Forgiarini and Ms. K are amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2008

Perry is a large school with a small school feel. I love the education and care my son recieves and I am so grateful to the Perry staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2007

Perry is a great school! My children love it there. The teachers are the best, they take time to help and really care for their students. The new principal has doen an awesome job this year. The music program is the best, my children have learned to read music and play keyboards and love it. Academic programs are great, they put he students with other students with the same ability in the classrooms. I recommend Perry as a great school to enrol your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2007

Thoughtfull and attentive teaching staff. Music program for all students is a plus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2006

This school is a great school. Over all the teachers and the school itself is great. Do not let the California rating get you down from other schools in the area. I was worried at first but it is a good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2006

Good School. Great teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2005

The teachers are very supportive and great to work with. My child has loved being at perry and as parents we've had only good experiences. We would highly recommend perry school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2005

Academics are about as good as any. Great music and art program. Needs more parents involvement. Principal is lacking in personality and hospitality as well as office staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2005

I do not know much about this school but I do know that there is one teacher there who I think is a hands on loving, dedicated role model and that is Ms. Kobiyashi.(sorry if I did not spell it right) My stepson is in her class and I can see how much she cares about her students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2004

My daughter has been at Perry since Kindergarten and is graduating this year. She has had excellent teachers every single year! She has grown tremendously over the years with the help of the nurturing teachers. The communication between parents and teachers is very open at Perry Elementary. I appreciate that since my husband and I are both full time workers and are unable to see the teacher on a daily basis. Thanks Perry!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

812

Change from
2012 to 2013

+9

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

5 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

812

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+9

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

5 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
45%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
56%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students49%
Females55%
Males43%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino42%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)52%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Non-economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disability19%
Students with no reported disability56%
English learner16%
Fluent-English proficient and English only64%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate36%
Parent education - high school graduate28%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)68%
Parent education - college graduate73%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students73%
Females63%
Males82%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Non-economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disability31%
Students with no reported disability83%
English learner48%
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate55%
Parent education - high school graduate61%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduate93%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students47%
Females48%
Males46%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino38%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)58%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Non-economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability50%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only46%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)43%
Parent education - college graduate55%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students74%
Females75%
Males72%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino70%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Non-economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability83%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduate58%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students54%
Females56%
Males52%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino48%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged35%
Non-economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability54%
English learner18%
Fluent-English proficient and English only69%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students61%
Females69%
Males56%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino48%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged43%
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability66%
English learner42%
Fluent-English proficient and English only69%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students84%
Females82%
Males86%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino81%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability83%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate64%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)85%
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students78%
Females72%
Males83%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino68%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Non-economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability79%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate64%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)69%
Parent education - college graduate93%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students83%
Females79%
Males86%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino81%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Non-economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability81%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate64%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)85%
Parent education - college graduate92%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 43% 52%
White 41% 26%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 11%
Two or more races 7% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Black 1% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 45%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Monique Huibregste
Fax number
  • (714) 962-3347

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

19231 Harding Lane
Huntington Beach, CA 92646
Website: Click here
Phone: (714) 962-3348

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Lamb's Path
Huntington Beach, CA


Patti's Preschool, Inc.
Huntington Beach, CA


S. A. Moffett Elementary School
Huntington Beach, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT