Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
35 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 42 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Huntington Beach High School 5

Posted May 27, 2016
- a parent
I've been completely happy with our choice of this high school. There are so many opportunities for students to be involved and parents to be included.

Huntington Beach High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 27, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Rice, Mr. Danner, Mrs. Eulberg and Mr. Stick made my daughter enjoy the subjects while supplying real life applications.


Huntington Beach High School 4

Posted June 22, 2014
- a parent
This is a great school with an amazing nationally recognized arts program called APA. However I have been very disappointed with a couple of the academic teachers. My son struggled in pre-calculus and we made a huge effort to get him help, including spending hundreds of dollars on tutors and attempting to work with his teacher, but she was not willing to work with us or offer any additional help to my son. In spite of all our efforts and my son working extremely hard spending numerous hours of additional study time, he failed this class. His teacher could care less... no one should ever fail a class if they are giving 100 effort.

Huntington Beach High School 5

Posted June 22, 2014
- a parent
Good school; APA is OK but not in the same league as OCSA. Sports programs are good. Teachers are demanding but fair. One comment posted that she doesn't understand about how working hard results in a failing grade. That's the sound of a participation award mentality that is warping this generation. Kids shouldn't be allowed to think that they will always be successful as long as they try hard.

Huntington Beach High School 5

Posted January 31, 2014
- a community member
I love Huntington Beach High school. I think its better than many of the other schools in the HBUHSD. I had to do some research since my home school was Marina. (There was NO way I was going to go there!) And Huntington is definitely the right fit for me! I like APA, without it I don't think I would've made so many friends! I do think they need to hire some better math teachers. But they also offer some great electives, like guitar!


Huntington Beach High School 5

Posted January 18, 2013
- a parent
HBHS is an exceptional school with many dedicated educators that motivate students to work to their full potential. We are very pleased that our daughter is attending this great school! She has truly enjoyed all her teachers and looks forward to classes. Even though the AP classes can be overwhelming with homework, assignments, and reading, she continues to enjoy learning! The Campus atmosphere is also friendly and diverse. A gem of a high school!

Huntington Beach High School 1

Posted January 08, 2013
- a parent
This school does not protect children that are bullied. They talk a good game. My child was bullied for month's. They did a five minute investigation. The bullies Were not corrected.

Huntington Beach High School 4

Posted October 29, 2012
- a parent
Regarding the September 7, 2012 post: I disagree about HBHS not helping 'below average kids'. My son scores way below average, in the 6-11 percentile (bottom 10%) on standardized tests since 4th grade, with an 11% on the PSAT last year. He entered HBHS with a 6th grade reading level; he took the HBHS reading class for two years. He was embarrassed - now he reads at 11-12 grade level. He takes college placement courses - and struggles with a few B's, C's & one D. The school created a 4th year math class above algebra 2 and below pre-calc for students like him. It's a struggle for him - we expect his SAT scores to be 320-420 in each area - low. He is in the Academy of the Performing Arts (APA), specifically in the MMET program as a guitarist. Even that was a struggle - he did not get on main stage until his junior year [now he is one of the top guitarists and has a two night show this week]. We have provided tutors at home, we help out and so on. That's his ability level. We have a child in GATE who aces everything -- that's her level. [see my previous post below - he's the one retaking chem]


Huntington Beach High School 1

Posted September 07, 2012
- a parent
So far I have very little good to say about HBHS. I have had trouble getting help for a below average student since freshmen year and we are now a Junior. No one seems to care about the below average kids. Yes, they offer tons of great stuff for above average kids but nothing in the way of extra help for the others. I would only recommend this school if you have a child utilizing the arts program, honors or leadership programs. They finally got rid of a principal that needed to go. So I am hopeful that the new prinicpal will take some interest in the school.

Huntington Beach High School 5

Posted October 03, 2010
- a parent
We applied and were accepted to several private schools and chose HBHS because: The leadership, teachers, parents, student academics and environment at HBHS IS THE BEST.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Huntington Beach High School
1905 Main Street, Huntington Beach, CA  92648-2705
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. (714) 536-2514
Last modified Huntington Beach High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top